Thirty-six national champions crowned at 2019 Rocky Mountain ATV/MC AMA Amateur National Motocross Championship presented by Lucas Oil

Amateur National Motocross Championship

Jalek Swoll named Nicky Hayden AMA Motocross Horizon Award winner

PICKERINGTON, OH – August 7, 2019 – (Motor Sports NewsWire) – The American Motorcyclist Association congratulates the 33 motocross racers who claimed 36 class championships and the four AMA racing award winners at the 2019 Rocky Mountain ATV/MC AMA Amateur National Motocross Championship.

The nation’s official amateur motocross championship took place July 29-Aug. 3 at Loretta’s Lynn’s Dude Ranch in Hurricane Mills, Tenn., for the 37th consecutive year. It featured more than 1,500 entries competing on a track that is used solely for the event.

Among the AMA Racing Award winners is 2019 Nicky Hayden AMA Motocross Horizon Award winner Jalek Swoll. The award recognizes the rider best prepared for the professional ranks, based on their attitude, enthusiasm and past performances as an amateur. Swoll, from Belleview, Fla., is the 2018 AMA Amateur Motocross Racer of the Year and won the Open Pro Sport Class title at the 2019 edition of the event.

Other riders who won AMA Racing Awards at the event are 2019 AMA Youth Motocross Racer of the Year Maximus Vohland of Granite Bay, Calif., 2019 AMA Vet/Senior Motocross Racer of the Year Mike Brown from Bristol, Tenn., and 2019 AMA Amateur Motocross Racer of the Year Jarrett Frye of Mechanicsville, Md.

“It was very difficult to choose the winners of the AMA Racing Awards with so many outstanding performances at this year’s event,” AMA Motocross Manager Alex Hunter said. “Jalek Swoll, Maximus Vohland, Mike Brown and Jarrett Frye put in incredible rides at the most challenging amateur motocross racing event in the nation and are deserving winners of their awards.

“I also congratulate all of our 2019 class champions,” Hunter said. “They triumphed over the toughest competition they could have faced and are all worthy of their AMA No. 1 plates.”

The winners of each competition class are recognized as AMA national champions and are awarded AMA National No. 1 plates. They will be honored as part of 2019 AMA Legends & Champions Weekend in Columbus, Ohio, Dec. 6-7. Banquet tickets will be available soon at

“Each year, the success of the AMA Amateur National Motocross Championship is made possible by the support and partnership the AMA receives from MX Sports,” AMA Racing Director Kevin Crowther said. “The team at MX Sports does an outstanding job as the organizer of this great event.”

Crowther also thanked all of the AMA staff and volunteers who played a critical part in the overall success of the event.

2019 AMA Amateur National Motocross Champions

  • Open Pro Sport: Jalek Swoll, Belleview, Fla.
  • 250 Pro Sport: Hardy Munoz, Culloden, Ga.
  • 250 B: Stilez Robertson, Bakersfield, Calif.
  • 250 B Limited: Mason Gonzales, Fort Walton Beach, Fla.
  • 250 C: Dylan Cunha, Modesto, Calif.
  • 250 C Limited: Derek Leatherman, New Oxford, Pa.
  • 250 C Jr. (12-17) Limited: Cameron Harrison, China Spring, Texas
  • 450 B: Matthew LeBlanc, Breaux Bridge, La.
  • 450 B Limited: Hunter Yoder, Menifee, Calif.
  • 450 C: Tyler Foster, Culloden, Ga.
  • 125 C: Hunter Nitsch, Skaneateles, N.Y.
  • College (18-24): McClellan Hile, Atascadero, Calif.
  • Junior (25+): Michael Brown, Bristol, Tenn.
  • Vet (30+): Nicholas Hayes, Chester, Va.
  • Senior (40+): Michael Brown, Bristol, Tenn.
  • Senior (45+): John Bowlin, Abingdon, Md.
  • Masters (50+): John Grewe, Rockford, Mich.
  • Women: Jazzmyn Canfield, Cape Coral, Fla.
  • Schoolboy 2 (12-17) B/C: Jarrett Frye, Mechanicsville, Md.
  • 51cc (4-6) Special Limited: Kade Nightingale, Mounds, Okla.
  • 51cc (4-6) Shaft Drive Limited: Braxton Baldock, Liberty, Ky.
  • 51cc (4-6) Limited: Bode Bradford, Midland, Texas
  • 51cc (7-8) Limited: Ryder Ellis, North Fork, Calif.
  • 65cc (7-9) Limited: Caden Dudney, Athens, Texas
  • 65cc (7-9): Landon Gibson, Peachtree City, Ga.
  • 65cc (10-11) Limited: Landen Gordon, Atascadero, Calif.
  • 65cc (10-11): Luke Fauser, Midland, Pa.
  • 85cc (10-12) Limited: Daxton Bennick, Morgantown, N.C.
  • 85cc (10-12): Haiden Deegan, Temecula, Calif.
  • Mini Sr. 1 (12-14): Nicholas Romano, Bayside, N.Y.
  • Mini Sr. 2 (13-15): Nicholas Romano, Bayside, N.Y.
  • Supermini 1 (12-15): Maximus Vohland, Granite Bay, Calif.
  • Supermini 2 (13-16): Maximus Vohland, Granite Bay, Calif.
  • 125cc (12-17) B/C: Gage Linville, Lake Park, Ga.
  • Schoolboy 1 (12-17) B/C: Jeremy Ryan, Morgan Hill, Calif.
  • Girls (11-16): Mikayla Nielsen, Riverside, Calif.

About the American Motorcyclist Association

Founded in 1924, the AMA is a not-for-profit member-based association whose mission is to promote the motorcycle lifestyle and protect the future of motorcycling. As the world’s largest motorcycling rights and event sanctioning organization, the AMA advocates for riders’ interests at all levels of government and sanctions thousands of competition and recreational events every year. The AMA also provides money-saving discounts on products and services for its members. Through the AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame in Pickerington, Ohio, the AMA honors the heroes and heritage of motorcycling. For more information, visit

Not a member? Join the AMA today.

Source: American Motorcyclist Association