NHRA Releases 24-Race Mello Yello Drag Racing Series Schedule for 2020 Season

NHRA 2020 schedule

GLENDORA, CA – May 14, 2019 – (Motor Sports Newswire) –  NHRA officials announced the 24-race 2020 NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series schedule, which will again feature intense racing action at tracks across the country. Millions of fans will experience sensory overload at its best with side-by-side racing action where victories may be determined by mere thousandths of a second. Competition schedules for individual categories will be released this summer.

Throughout the season, NHRA will celebrate the 50th anniversary of Pro Stock Car. Fans will experience special treats and features along the tour to commemorate this important category and honor its history.

A special highlight on the 2020 tour will be the 60th annual Lucas Oil NHRA Winternationals, which will kick off the 2020 season at Auto Club Raceway in Pomona, Calif. February 6-9. One of the most iconic events in the series, the Winternationals draws fans from all around the world to experience the power of NHRA Championship Drag Racing at its best during the season opener.

The 40th annual NHRA Southern Nationals in Atlanta will take place May 15-17. Fans won’t want to miss joining the stars of NHRA as we celebrate 40 years of heart-pounding racing action. Other milestone events include the 20th annual NHRA Thunder Valley Nationals June 19-21 in Bristol, Tenn., the 35th annual AAA Texas NHRA FallNationals at fan-favorite Texas Motorplex October 15-18 and the 20th annual Dodge NHRA Nationals October 29-November 1 at The Strip at Las Vegas Motor Speedway.

All locations on the series schedule are confirmed for the 2020 season and several stops are changing dates. The Virginia NHRA Nationals in Richmond, Va. move to the end of the month, taking place May 29-31. The Route 66 NHRA Nationals in Chicago will commence July 9-12 to lead in to the iconic Western Swing. Fans of the NHRA New England Nationals will get a chance to see the series as competition heats up at the end of summer, August 21-23. Two events in the Mello Yello Countdown To The Championship are changing places with the NHRA Carolina Nationals in Charlotte, N.C. September 25-27, followed by the AAA Insurance NHRA Midwest Nationals October 2-4.

As always, the 2020 season will conclude with the Auto Club NHRA Finals, November 12-15 at Auto Club Raceway in Pomona.

All 24 events in this exciting series will be aired exclusively on FOX Sports with select events on FOX broadcast network. With over 575 hours of programming, fans can tune into action from Friday and Saturday qualifying rounds as well as Sunday finals.


NHRA Mello Yello Series Regular Season

Feb. 6 – 9 Lucas Oil NHRA Winternationals Pomona, CA
Feb. 21 – 23 Magic Dry Organic Absorbent NHRA Arizona Nationals Phoenix, AZ
March 12 – 15 AMALIE Motor Oil NHRA Gatornationals Gainsville, FL
April 3 – 5 DENSO Spark Plugs NHRA Four-Wide Nationals Las Vegas, NV
April 17 – 19 Mopar Express Lane NHRA SpringNationals Houston, TX
April 24 – 26 NGK Spark lugs NHRA Four-Wide Nationals Charlotte, NC
May 14 – 17 NHRA Southern Nationals Atlanta, GA
May 39 – 31 Virginia NHRA Nationals Richmond, VA
June 12 – 14 Menards NHRA Heartland Nationals Topeka, KS
June 19 – 21 NHRA Thunder Valley Nationals Bristol, TN
June 25 – 28 Summit Racing Equipment NHRA Nationals Norwalk, OH
July 9 – 12 Route 66 NHRA Nationnals Chicago, IL
July 17 – 19 Dodge Mile-High NHRA Nationals Denver, CO
July 24 – 26 NHRA Sonoma Nationals Sonoma, CA
July 31 – Aug. 2 Magic Dry Organic Absorbent NHRA Northwest Nationals Seattle, WA
Aug. 13 – 16 Lucas Oil NHRA Nationals Brainerd, MN
Aug. 21 – 23 NHRA New England Nationals Epping, NH
Sept. 2 – 7 NHRA U.S. Nationals Indianapolis, IN

NHRA Mello Yello Countdown To The Championship

Sept. 17 – 20 Mopar Express lane NHRA Nationals Reading, PA
Sept. 25 – 27 NHRA Carolina Nationals Charlotte, NC
Oct. 2 – 4 AAA Insurance NHRA Midwest Nationals St. Louis, MO
Oct. 15 – 18 AAA Texas NHRA FallNationals Dallas, TX
Oct. 29 – Nov. 1 Dodge NHRA Nationals Las Vegas, NV
Nov. 12 – 15 Auto Club NHRA Finals Pomona, CA

About NHRA

Headquartered in Glendora, Calif., NHRA is the primary sanctioning body for the sport of drag racing in the United States. NHRA presents 24 national events featuring the NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series, NHRA Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series, and E3 Spark Plugs NHRA Pro Mod Drag Racing Series presented by J&A Service. NHRA provides competition opportunities for drivers of all levels in the NHRA Summit Racing Series and the NHRA Drags: Street Legal Style presented by AAA. NHRA also offers NHRA Jr. Street program for teens and the Summit Racing Jr. Drag Racing League for youth ages 5 to 17. In addition, NHRA owns and operates four racing facilities: Atlanta Dragway in Georgia; Gainesville Raceway in Florida; Lucas Oil Raceway at Indianapolis; and Auto Club Raceway at Pomona in Southern California. For more information, log on to NHRA.com, or visit the official NHRA pages on Facebook, YouTube and Twitter.

Source: National Hot Rod Association