Jason Scruggs Picks Up First career FuelTech NHRA Pro Mod Series Victory

Jason Scruggs picks up first career FuelTech NHRA Pro Mod Series victory [678]

NORWALK, OH – June 26, 2023 – (Motor Sports NewsWire) – Pro Mod standout Jason Scruggs picked up his first career victory in the FuelTech NHRA Pro Mod Drag Racing Series presented by Type A Motorsports on Sunday, driving past former world champion Jose Gonzalez in the final round at Summit Motorsports Park as part of this weekend’s Summit Racing Equipment NHRA Nationals.

The event, which was powered by Mike Janis Superchargers, was the sixth of 10 races during the 2023 season in the FuelTech NHRA Pro Mod Drag Racing Series presented by Type A Motorsports. It was also the final race in the regular season for the category before the Road to the Championship takes place over the final four events of the year.

The weekend, and especially Sunday, belonged to Scruggs, as he picked up the first-time victory with a run of 5.760-seconds at 250.32 mph in his Chevrolet Camaro against Gonzalez, who ran 5.807 at 248.93 in the championship round. It was a memorable moment for Scruggs, a veteran who has enjoyed tremendous Pro Mod success over the years. He advanced to his first final round in NHRA action in 2020 and came through on Sunday to earn his first Wally.

“We’ve won world championships all over the place and we’ve been doing this a long time, we just had not won anything in the NHRA,” Scruggs said. “We had gotten so close it was heartbreaking. But this is awesome and I’m just so happy right now. All these guys that help me, I just appreciate all of them. I’ve got good parts, so it makes me look good when we can race good stuff. This is awesome and a dream come true for us.”

Scruggs advanced to the final round with victories over Billy Banaka, Sidnei Frigo and Mike Castellana. Gonzalez earned his 13th career final round berth – and second this season – with round wins against Dwayne Wolfe and Jason Lee.

Justin Bond, who has three wins this season, will take the points lead into the Road to the Championship.

The FuelTech NHRA Pro Mod Drag Racing Series presented by Type A Motorsports returns to action Aug. 17-20 as part of the Lucas Oil NHRA Nationals at Brainerd International Raceway in Brainerd, Minn.

About Mike Janis Superchargers

If more horsepower is what you want, Mike Janis Superchargers / Jan-Cen Racing Engines has it. For over 65 years, Mike Janis & Jan-Cen has built high-performance street / hot rod motors, circle track motors, dirt track motors, drag racing engines on all levels, tractor pulling, and marine that have dominated the competition. Hop over to www.shopjancen.com for more information and join the Janis Family today!

About NHRA

Headquartered in San Dimas, Calif., NHRA is the primary sanctioning body for the sport of drag racing in the United States. NHRA presents 21 national events featuring the NHRA Camping World Drag Racing Series, NHRA Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series, FuelTech NHRA Pro Mod Drag Racing Series presented by Type A Motorsports, Flexjet NHRA Factory Stock Showdown™ and Top Fuel Harley Series. NHRA provides competition opportunities for drivers of all levels in the NHRA Summit Racing Series and NHRA Street Legal™. NHRA also offers the NHRA Jr. Street® program for teens and the Summit Racing Jr. Drag Racing League® for youth ages 5 to 17. With 120 Member Tracks, NHRA allows racers to compete at a variety of locations nationally and internationally. NHRA’s Youth and Education Services® (YES) Program reaches over 30,000 students annually to ignite their interest in automotive and racing related careers. NHRA’s streaming service, NHRA.tv®, allows fans to view all NHRA national events as well as exclusive features of the sport. In addition, NHRA owns and operates three racing facilities: Gainesville Raceway in Florida; Lucas Oil Indianapolis Raceway Park; and In-N-Out Burger Pomona Dragstrip in Southern California. For more information, log on to www.NHRA.com, or visit the official NHRA pages on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, TikTok and YouTube.

Source: National Hot Rod Association

FT PRO MOD NHRA SERIES-Alternate_23 (1)