Rain Postpones Final Rounds of Lucas Oil NHRA Summernationals at Indianapolis

Rain Postpones Final Rounds of Lucas Oil NHRA Summernationals at Indianapolis (678)

INDIANAPOLIS, IN – July 20, 2020 – (Motor Sports NewsWire) – The final rounds of the Lucas Oil NHRA Summernationals at Indianapolis at Lucas Oil Raceway have been delayed due to inclement weather.

After a lengthy rain delay before the finals in Top Fuel and Funny Car, NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series officials announced the fourth race of the 2020 season will be completed during the Denso Spark Plugs NHRA U.S. Nationals, which takes place Sept. 3-6 at Lucas Oil Raceway.

In Top Fuel, a first-time winner will be crowned as T.J. Zizzo and rookie Justin Ashley both advanced to the final round for the first time in their careers. After qualifying eighth in his 11,000-horsepower Rust-Oleum dragster, Zizzo reach the final with victories against Terry Totten, Todd Paton and Terry McMillen. Ashley continued to impress during his standout rookie season, advancing to his first final round in his Strustmasters.com/Menards dragster with victories against Shawn Langdon, points leader Doug Kalitta and Leah Pruett. Zizzo or Ashley will also become the 109th different Top Fuel winner in NHRA history.

Funny Car points leader Jack Beckman will meet Don Schumacher Racing teammate Matt Hagan in the final round. Beckman, who qualified sixth in his 11,000-horsepower Infinite Hero Foundation Dodge Charger SRT Hellcat, knocked off Chad Green, Tim Wilkerson and teammate Tommy Johnson Jr. to reach his 66th career final round and third in 2020. He will be seeking his second win this year. Hagan, who won the race last weekend at Indy, advanced to his 62nd final round in his Mopar Dodge Charger SRT Hellcat Redeye thanks to victories against teammate Ron Capps, J.R. Todd and No. 1 qualifier. Hagan is after his 35th career win. The matchup also ensures a seventh straight victory in the class for DSR, dating back to last season.

The final round of the E3 Spark Plugs NHRA Pro Mod Drag Racing Series will also be completed at the U.S. Nationals and will award a first-time winner in the class. Jason Scruggs and Chad Green both advanced to the final round of the first race of the 2020 season in the class, with Scruggs securing his first final round in NHRA Pro Mod competition. He knocked off Bo Butner, Mike Castellana and Clint Satterfield to reach the finals in his blown Scruggs Farm Camaro. Green advanced to his third final round in his nitrous-powered Bond-Coat Corvette with wins against Todd Tutterow, Brandon Snider and Kris Thorne.

The NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series continues Aug. 6-9 with the NHRA Indy Nationals at Lucas Oil Raceway at Indianapolis.

BROWNSBURG, IN — Final round-by-round results from the Inaugural Lucas Oil NHRA Summernationals at Indianapolis at Lucas Oil Raceway at Indianapolis, the fourth of 17 events in the NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series. Final rounds to be completed at the U.S. Nationals, September 4-6, 2020.


ROUND ONE — T.J. Zizzo, 3.840, 323.19 def. Terry Totten, 3.949, 299.46; Terry McMillen, 3.765, 320.66 def. Tony Schumacher, 4.447, 195.25; Todd Paton, 4.011, 285.65 def. Clay Millican, 4.139, 251.72; Leah Pruett, 3.820, 316.97 def. Lex Joon, 4.104, 242.71; Antron Brown, 3.851, 310.05 def. Pat Dakin, 3.880, 317.05; Doug Kalitta, 3.808, 319.45 def. Doug Foley, 3.968, 298.80; Billy Torrence, 3.789, 321.96 def. Steve Torrence, 3.768, 327.03; Justin Ashley, 3.829, 321.27 def. Shawn Langdon, 3.891, 305.91;

QUARTERFINALS — McMillen, 3.796, 321.96 def. Brown, 3.927, 308.35; Zizzo, 3.821, 321.04 def. Paton, 12.632, 68.06; Ashley, 3.811, 314.02 def. Kalitta, 3.830, 314.46; Pruett, 3.818, 314.46 def. B. Torrence, 3.793, 320.36;

SEMIFINALS — Ashley, 4.049, 237.09 def. Pruett, 4.530, 171.62; Zizzo, 3.837, 319.67 def. McMillen, 3.891, 310.13;

FINALS — Ashley vs. Zizzio


ROUND ONE — Tim Wilkerson, Ford Mustang, 3.946, 320.28 def. Dale Creasy Jr., Dodge Charger, 4.708, 177.04; Matt Hagan, Charger, 3.931, 321.58 def. Ron Capps, Charger, 3.967, 324.59; Bob Tasca III, Mustang, 4.019, 317.27 def. Alex Miladinovich, Toyota Camry, 6.286, 110.10; Tommy Johnson Jr., Charger, 4.123, 278.06 def. Bob Bode, Mustang, Foul – Outer Boundary; J.R. Todd, Camry, 4.030, 314.68 def. Jim Campbell, Charger, 5.325, 142.82; Jack Beckman, Charger, 4.032, 310.77 def. Chad Green, Mustang, 4.323, 293.86; Cruz Pedregon, Charger, 4.072, 299.46 def. Terry Haddock, Mustang, 4.189, 301.54; Paul Lee, Charger, 3.997, 322.58 def. Alexis DeJoria, Camry, 4.381, 210.08;

QUARTERFINALS — Beckman, 3.991, 317.72 def. Wilkerson, 4.009, 316.82; Johnson Jr., 3.979, 317.57 def. Pedregon, 5.902, 118.04; Hagan, 3.949, 323.81 def. Todd, 4.028, 317.19; Tasca III, 4.037, 316.08 def. Lee, 4.038, 320.97;

SEMIFINALS — Hagan, 3.946, 324.36 def. Tasca III, 4.010, 320.13; Beckman, 3.969, 321.65 def. Johnson Jr., 4.027, 309.56;

FINALS — Hagan vs. Beckman


ROUND ONE — Brandon Snider, Chevy Corvette, 5.850, 243.06 def. Steve Jackson, Chevy Camaro, 5.852, 245.67; Clint Satterfield, Camaro, 5.854, 243.90 def. Steve Matusek, Ford Mustang, 6.094, 193.40; Justin Jones, Corvette, 5.923, 244.78 def. Khalid alBalooshi, Camaro, 5.855, 247.70; Mike Castellana, Camaro, 5.889, 242.63 def. Jeffery Barker, Camaro, 7.142, 142.63; Chad Green, Corvette, 5.823, 249.76 def. Todd Tutterow, Camaro, 5.957, 240.51; Jason Scruggs, Camaro, 5.835, 246.80 def. Bo Butner, Camaro, 5.903, 246.84; Kris Thorne, Camaro, 5.837, 255.15 def. Jonathan Gray, Camaro, 5.865, 248.75; Jeff Jones, Corvette, 5.864, 245.40 def. Mike Janis, Camaro, 10.609, 84.22;

QUARTERFINALS — Satterfield, 5.838, 239.53 def. Je. Jones, 8.206, 124.02; Thorne, 5.859, 244.16 def. Ju. Jones, Broke; Green, 5.833, 249.35 def. Snider, 5.853, 242.02; Scruggs, 5.836, 246.66 def. Castellana, 5.870, 243.19;

SEMIFINALS — Scruggs, 5.829, 246.48 def. Satterfield, Broke – No Show; Green, 5.807, 250.13 def. Thorne, 5.913, 251.95;

FINALS — Scruggs vs. Green

About NHRA

Headquartered in Glendora, Calif., NHRA is the primary sanctioning body for the sport of drag racing in the United States. NHRA presents 24 national events featuring the NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series, NHRA Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series, and E3 Spark Plugs NHRA Pro Mod Drag Racing Series presented by J&A Service. NHRA provides competition opportunities for drivers of all levels in the NHRA Summit Racing Series and the NHRA Drags: Street Legal Style presented by AAA. NHRA also offers NHRA Jr. Street program for teens and the Summit Racing Jr. Drag Racing League for youth ages 5 to 17. In addition, NHRA owns and operates four racing facilities: Atlanta Dragway in Georgia; Gainesville Raceway in Florida; Lucas Oil Raceway at Indianapolis; and Auto Club Raceway at Pomona in Southern California. For more information, log on to NHRA.com, or visit the official NHRA pages on Facebook, YouTube and Twitter.

Source: National Hot Rod Association

NHRA logo