American Motorcyclist Association announces 2019 Ice Race National Champions

Action photo from 2019 AMA Ice Race National Championship (credit- Jen Muecke)

Class winners awarded AMA No. 1 plates at endurance racing event

PICKERINGTON, OH – February 8, 2019 – (Motor Sports Newswire) –  Three race teams, two youth riders and one solo rider were crowned AMA national champions at the 2019 AMA Ice Race National Championship on Jan. 20 at Kettle Moraine Lake in Campbellsport, Wis.

The event, part of the Steel Shoe Fund’s annual fundraiser, featured an endurance race on a grand prix-style circuit.

In the adult classes, J.R. Schnabel rode the entire three-hour endurance race on his West Bend Harley-Davidson to a victory in the Ironman Solo Class. The Schweighardt Concrete team of Ben Schweighardt, Cole Godfry and Ed Smulders won Lightweight Amateur Teams Class title. The Retriever Racing team of Pat Ryder and Terry Hahn won the Middleweight Amateur Teams Class crown. And the Harada team of Craig Pickett and Westley Westesson won the Heavyweight Amateur Teams Class title.

In the youth classes, Dominic Huey won the 85cc Solo Class, and Jack Brucks captured the 65cc Solo Class title.

“It was another year of phenomenal ice racing action,” AMA Track Racing Manager Ken Saillant said. “The conditions were ideal for ice racing, and the Steel Shoe Fund did an excellent job promoting and running the event.”

The event used a three-hour endurance format that featured multiple classes racing at the same time. A 30-minute race was run on a shorter course for youth competition classes.

The Steel Shoe Fund was established in 1997 to assist injured flat track motorcycle racers, pay medical bills and address their immediate needs.

2019 AMA Ice Race National Championship Results

Ironman Solo Class

1. J.R. Schnabel
2. Jacob Jesko
3. Jason Larson

Lightweight Amateur Teams Class

1. Ben Schweighardt / Cole Godfrey / Ed Smulders
2. Braxton Callies / Luke Padrutt / Jennifer LaTour / Ryan Callies
3. Elias Saigh / Jennifer Froh

Middleweight Amateur Teams Class

1. Pat Ryder / Terry Hahn
2. Scott Fittshur / Benny Carlson
3. Ethan Rosine / Emmett Sund

Heavyweight Amateur Teams Class

1. Craig Pickett / Westly Westesson
2. Jacob Weidmeyer / Tylor Skodras
3. Kyle Heller / Michael Haynes / Kaley Johnson

85cc Solo Class (Youth)

1. Dominic Huey
2. Blake Bradish
3. Colby Bondeson

65cc Solo Class (Youth)

1. Jack Brucks
2. Drake Callies
3. Rocket Altman

About the American Motorcyclist Association

Founded in 1924, the AMA is a not-for-profit member-based association whose mission is to promote the motorcycle lifestyle and protect the future of motorcycling. As the world’s largest motorcycling rights and event sanctioning organization, the AMA advocates for riders’ interests at all levels of government and sanctions thousands of competition and recreational events every year. The AMA also provides money-saving discounts on products and services for its members. Through the AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame in Pickerington, Ohio, the AMA honors the heroes and heritage of motorcycling. For more information, visit

Not a member? Join the AMA today.

Source: American Motorcyclist Association

AMA Press Release