American Motorcyclist Association names 2018 MotoAmerica class champions

2018 MotoAmerica Motul Superbike Class Champion Cameron Beaubier

Five riders win AMA No.1 plates on four brands of motorcycle

PICKERINGTON, OH – October 3, 2018 – (Motor Sports Newswire) –  The American Motorcyclist Association recognizes and congratulates the five 2018 MotoAmerica class champions.

In the Motul Superbike Class, Cameron Beaubier prevailed over reigning Superbike Champion Toni Elias to win his third Superbike title. Beaubier won the AMA Superbike Championship in 2015 and 2016 and has won all three of his Superbike titles aboard Yamahas.

J.D. Beach won his second career MotoAmerica Supersport Class title aboard a Yamaha. Alex Dumas won the inaugural MotoAmerica Liqui Moly Junior Cup title aboard a KTM. The first-ever MotoAmerica Twins Cup title was won by Chris Parrish aboard a Ghetto Customs Suzuki. And the new Stock 1000 Class title was won by Andrew Lee on a Kawasaki.

“The AMA congratulates all five riders who won MotoAmerica class championships this year,” AMA Track Racing Manager Ken Saillant said. “Cameron, J.D., Alex, Chris and Andrew all had stellar seasons and are worthy champions.”

MotoAmerica is the home of the AMA Superbike Championship, as well as the FIM North America Road Racing Championship.

Four of the five riders, including Beaubier, clinched their championships at the penultimate round at New Jersey Motorsports Park, Sept. 7-9. Parrish clinched his Twins Cup title at the last round of the 2018 season at Barber Motorsports Park, Sept. 21-23.

“We got beat up pretty good last year,” Beaubier said. “I’ve never got pushed so hard in my life. To be able to turn it around and just keep fighting and to come out with the title again, it just feels so good. I’d say [this championship] ranks No. 1 to me.”

2018 MotoAmerica series results:

Motul Superbike

1. Cameron Beaubier, Monster Energy/Yamalube/Yamaha Factory Racing
2. Toni Elias, Yoshimura Suzuki Factory Racing
3. Josh Herrin, Attack Performance/Herrin Compound Racing


1. J.D. Beach, Monster Energy/Yamaha Extended Service/Graves/Yamaha
2. Hayden Gillim, Rickdiculous Racing
3. Valentin Debise, M4 ECSTAR Suzuki

Liqui Moly Junior Cup

1. Alex Dumas, KTM Orange Brigade/JP43 Training
2. Cory Ventura, MP13 Racing
3. Jay Newton, MonkeyMoto/AGVSPORT

Stock 1000

1. Andrew Lee, RiderzLaw Racing
2. Travis Wyman, Weir Everywhere Racing
3. Chad Lewin, Team Lewin Estates

Twins Cup

1. Chris Parrish, Ghetto Customs
2. Jason Madama, Syndicate/APMotoarts
3. Kris Turner, Turner’s Cycle Racing

About the American Motorcyclist Association

Founded in 1924, the AMA is a not-for-profit member-based association whose mission is to promote the motorcycle lifestyle and protect the future of motorcycling. As the world’s largest motorcycling rights and event sanctioning organization, the AMA advocates for riders’ interests at all levels of government and sanctions thousands of competition and recreational events every year. The AMA also provides money-saving discounts on products and services for its members. Through the AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame in Pickerington, Ohio, the AMA honors the heroes and heritage of motorcycling. For more information, visit

Not a member? Join the AMA today.

Source: American Motorcyclist Association

AMA Press Release