American Motorcyclist Association congratulates class champions, award winners from 2018 AMA Hillclimb Grand Championship

2018 AMA Hillclimb Racer of the Year Brock Riffe (credit- Brie Morrissey)

Winners to be honored during AMA Legends & Champions Weekend, Dec. 7-9

PICKERINGTON, OH – August 3, 2018 – (Motor Sports Newswire) –  The American Motorcyclist Association congratulates the 21 amateur hillclimb racers who took home a total of 25 AMA class championships at the 2018 AMA Hillclimb Grand Championship held July 27-29 in Monson, Mass.

Brock Riffe was named 2018 AMA Hillclimb Racer of the Year; Lane Brookshaw earned AMA Youth Hillclimb Racer of the Year honors; and Mike Wood won the AMA Vet/Senior Hillclimb Racer of the Year title.

The fastest time of the weekend belonged to Joel Naples of Lebanon, Maine. On Saturday, he made it to the top of the 420-foot “Monson Monster” in 10.589 seconds and did not need a second run, taking home the 450cc Class championship.

The AMA Hillclimb Grand Championship, the premier amateur hillclimb event in the United States, was held at the Quaboag Riders Motorcycle Club. It was the club’s fifth time hosting the event since 1993.

“It was a great weekend of intense competition,” AMA Track Racing Manager Ken Saillant said. “Brock Riffe, Lane Brookshaw and Mike Wood had stellar weekends and are deserving winners of their respective awards. I offer my congratulations to all of the class champions and thank the Quaboag Riders Motorcycle Club members for all of their hard work that made the event a success.”

The winners of each competition class are recognized as AMA national champions and are awarded AMA National No. 1 plates. They will be honored as part of the AMA Legends & Champions Weekend in Columbus, Ohio Dec. 7-9. The AMA Championship Banquet will be Saturday, Dec. 8, at the Hilton Columbus/Polaris in Columbus, Ohio. Room reservations can be made at Banquet tickets will be available soon at

For Riffe, of Ashland, Ky., it was his first time winning the AMA Hillclimb Racer of the Year award. He holds the 2010 Youth Hillclimb Racer of the Year honor and won class championships in the 250cc and 400cc Stock classes.

“This win means everything to me,” Riffe said. “I was going to be happy with top fives and top 10s. I didn’t think I was going to take home two national titles and the AMA Hillclimb Racer of the Year award.”

Brookshaw, of Ellsworth, Wis., earned his second AMA Youth Hillclimb Racer of the Year award in the last three years. He won the Mini Jr. Class and 65cc Class titles.

“It was a challenging weekend,” Brookshaw said. “The first jump was kind of hard and the walls were hard to climb up.”

For AMA Vet/Senior Hillclimb Racer of the Year award winner Wood, it was his first time winning the title. The Bay City, Wis., resident won the Senior Class and Super Senior Class championships.

“It was a great weekend,” Wood said. “The club grounds here are awesome and the people who put this event on are really top notch.”

2018 AMA Hillclimb Grand Championship Class Champions

Micro Mini: Charlie Enges, Beldenville, Wis., 19.912 seconds
65cc: Lane Brookshaw, Ellsworth, Wis., 18.531 seconds
Mini Jr.: Lane Brookshaw, Ellsworth, Wis., 16.280 seconds
Mini Sr.: Conner Shafer, Caldwell, Ohio, 15.805 seconds
Mini Girls: Abigayle Linde, Charlton, Mass., 21.165 seonds
Super Mini: AJ Engnes, Beldenville, Wis., 14.065 seconds
125cc: Bodee O’Neil, Hager City, Wis., 12.932 seconds
200cc: Max Skeans, Ashland, Ky., 11.647 seconds
250cc: Brock Riffe, Ashland, Ky., 11.193 seconds
450cc: Joel Naples, Lebanon, Maine, 10.589 seconds
600cc: Ryan Connelly, Ludlow, Mass., 10.734 seconds
Open: James Green, Millbury, Mass., 11.651 seconds
Women: Samantha Welch, South Glastonbury, Conn., 14.386 seconds
Senior: Mike Wood, Bay City, Wis., 11.675 seconds
Super Senior: Mike Wood, Bay City, Wis., 12.111 seconds
400 Stock: Brock Riffe, Ashland, Ky., 12.969 seconds
Open Stock: Chris Chartier Jr., North Grosvenordale, Conn., 11.947 seconds
750: Kyle Thomas, Wayland, Mich., 12.427 seconds
4 Stroke: Levi Peters, Neoga, Ill., 10.959 seconds
2 Stroke: Zachary Degross, Ellsworth, Wis., 11.144 seconds
Vintage: Joel Lombra, East Longmeadow, Mass., 16.309 seconds
ATV 450: Josh Shafer, Caldwell, Ohio, 14.546 seconds
ATV Senior: Jamie Margelot, East Nassau, N.Y., 12.754 seconds
Open ATV: Jamie Margelot, East Nassau, N.Y., 13.392 seconds
Verticross: Josh Dougherty, Monson, Mass. (Verticross is head-to-head competition, with the win going to the rider who goes farther or who gets to the top of the hill first.)

About the American Motorcyclist Association

Founded in 1924, the AMA is a not-for-profit member-based association whose mission is to promote the motorcycle lifestyle and protect the future of motorcycling. As the world’s largest motorcycling rights and event sanctioning organization, the AMA advocates for riders’ interests at all levels of government and sanctions thousands of competition and recreational events every year. The AMA also provides money-saving discounts on products and services for its members. Through the AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame in Pickerington, Ohio, the AMA honors the heroes and heritage of motorcycling. For more information, visit

Not a member? Join the AMA today.

Source: American Motorcyclist Association

AMA Press Release