AMA Congratulates 36 Champions at AMA Amateur National Motocross Championship

210810 2021 Nicky Hayden AMA Motorcycle Horizon Award Winner Levi Kitchen (678)

Levi Kitchen honored with Nicky Hayden AMA Motocross Horizon Award

PICKERINGTON, OH – August 10, 2021 – (Motor Sports NewsWire) –  The Monster Energy AMA Amateur National Motocross Championship held Aug. 2-7, saw hundreds of the country’s top motocross racers descend on the Loretta Lynn Ranch in Hurricane Mills, Tenn., for the most-prestigious amateur race in the world. When the dust cleared, 33 riders claimed AMA No. 1 plates in 36 classes.

Among them was Yamaha rider Levi Kitchen, who earned AMA championships in 250 Pro Sport and Open Pro Sport, one of the most competitive classes at this year’s event. Kitchen, from Washougal, Wash., won the Nicky Hayden AMA Motocross Horizon Award, which is presented annually to the amateur motocross racer with the most promising professional career. In 2020, Kitchen won the AMA Amateur Motocross Rider of the Year award.

“We thank the riders, families and event promoter MX Sports for organizing another exceptional AMA Amateur National Motocross Championship,” said AMA Deputy Director of Racing Mike Burkeen. “The Loretta Lynn track in August is always a challenge. The track crew, the race officials and everyone else involved in the production of this year’s event really stepped up and delivered this year.”

Kitchen was just one of many stars to emerge during the event, capturing three moto wins en route to his two titles.

“Winning this award has been one of my goals since I watched RJ Hampshire win it in 2014,” said Kitchen, who will launch his professional career at the AMA Pro Motocross Championship next weekend in the 250 class at Unadilla, riding for Star Yamaha.

Another standout rider was Drew Adams, the 2021 AMA Youth Motocross Rider of the Year. Adams won all three motos of the 85cc (10-12) class and backed that up with an overall win in Mini Sr. 1 (12-14).

The 2021 AMA Amateur Motocross Rider of the Year was Nicholas Romano, who won three motos in 250 B. A last lap fall in Schoolboy 2 (12-17) B/C kept Romano from winning that title as well.

Broc Peterson was the 2021 AMA Vet Motocross Rider of the Year. With 1-1-2 moto finishes, Broc brought the Vet (30+) title back to his hometown of Delta, Ohio.

Below are the 36 AMA National Championships won at the event:

  • Open Pro Sport: Levi Kitchen, Washougal, Wash., Yamaha (3-1-1)
  • 250 Pro Sport: Levi Kitchen, Washougal, Wash., Yamaha (3-1-2)
  • 450 B: Chase Prince, Petersburg, Tenn., Honda (3-1-1)
  • 450 B Limited: Julien Beaumer, Lake Havasu, Ariz., Husqvarna (1-3-2)
  • 450 C: Brennan Schofield, Canada, Yamaha (3-2-5)
  • 250 B: Nick Romano, Bayside, N.Y., Yamaha (1-1-1)
  • 250 B Limited: Matti Jorgensen Jr., Pompano, Fla., KTM (2-3-1)
  • 250 C: Brandon Bollino, Essex, Ill., Yamaha (2-2-1)
  • 250 C Limited: Nico Long, Scottsdale, Ariz., KTM (1-1-2)
  • 250 C Jr. (12-17) Limited: Gabe Holland, Winterville, Ga., KTM (1-1-2)
  • Schoolboy 1 (12-17) B/C: Evan Ferry, Largo, Fla., Husqvarna (1-2-2)
  • Schoolboy 2 (12-17) B/C: Caden Braswell, Shalimar, Fla., KTM (5-2-1)
  • 125 C: Keegan Rowley, Channahon, Ill., KTM (3-1-1)
  • Women: Sophia Phelps, St. George, Utah, Kawasaki (2-1-1)
  • Supermini 1 (12-15): Haiden Deegan, Temecula, Calif., KTM (1-1-1)
  • Supermini 2 (13-16): Krystian Janik, Oak Lawn, Ill., Kawasaki (4-2-2)
  • 65cc (7-9): Elliott Bowsher, Cornelius, Ohio, GASGAS (2-1-1)
  • 65cc (10-11): Vincent Wey, Murrieta, Calif., Husqvarna (3-1-1)
  • 85cc (10-12): Drew Adams, Chattanooga, Tenn., Kawasaki (1-1-1)
  • Girls (11-16): Kyleigh Stallings, Austin, Texas, Husqvarna (1-1-1)
  • 125cc (12-17) B/C: Evan Ferry, Largo, Fla., Husqvarna (2-1-1)
  • College (18-24): Justin Cokinos, Hanover, Mass., GASGAS (1-2-2)
  • Junior (25+): Heath Harrison, Salisbury, N.C., Honda (1-2-2)
  • Vet (30+): Broc Peterson, Delta, Ohio, (1-1-2)
  • Senior (40+): Edward Walston, Pinetops, N.C., KTM (2-3-1)
  • Senior (45+): Mike Brown, Bristol, Tenn., Husqvarna (1-1-1)
  • Masters (50+): Keith Johnson, Carver, Mass., Kawasaki (2-1-1)
  • Mini-E (4-6) Jr.: Talon Hinson, Clovis, Calif., KTM (1-2-2)
  • 51cc (4-6) Shaft Dr. LTD: Carter Schutte, Chesterfield, S.C., Yamaha (1-1-1)
  • 51cc (4-6) Limited: Kannon Zabojnik, Rowlett, Texas, Cobra (1-1-3)
  • 51cc (7-8) Limited: Sawyer Gieck, Alpine, Wyo., Cobra (2-1-1)
  • 65cc (7-9) Limited: Tayce Morgan, Lehi, Utah, GASGAS (1-2-5)
  • 65cc (10-11) Limited: Carson Wood, Zephyrhills, Fla., GASGAS (2-1-1)
  • 85cc (10-12) Limited: Caden Dudney, Athens, Texas, KTM (2-2-1)
  • Mini Sr. 1 (12-14): Drew Adams, Chattanooga, Tenn., Kawasaki (3-2-2)
  • Mini Sr. 2 (13-15): Thomas Wood, Cairo, Ga., KTM (1-2-1)

Complete results from the 2021 AMA Amateur National Motocross Championship can be found at provided continuous video coverage of the event. For highlight videos from each day, see:

The AMA Amateur National Motocross Championship represents one of the longest-running motorsports championships in the country. The AMA launched the national championship program in 1975. That year, a series of regional races qualified 135 riders in three classes — 125cc, 250cc and Open — for the championship round in Baldwin, Kan. The program evolved over the next few years to include additional classes, with championship finales run in varying locations across the country.

In 1982, the AMA partnered with MX Sports and the event moved to its current location at the Loretta Lynn Ranch in Hurricane Mills, Tenn. There, the AMA Amateur National Motocross Championship has crowned the country’s top amateur motocross riders ever since.

About the American Motorcyclist Association

Founded in 1924, the AMA is a not-for-profit member-based association whose mission is to promote the motorcycle lifestyle and protect the future of motorcycling. As the world’s largest motorcycling rights and event sanctioning organization, the AMA advocates for riders’ interests at all levels of government and sanctions thousands of competition and recreational events every year. The AMA also provides money-saving discounts on products and services for its members. Through the AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame in Pickerington, Ohio, the AMA honors the heroes and heritage of motorcycling. For more information, visit

Not a member? Join the AMA today:

Source: American Motorcyclist Association

AMA Logo 2019