WPS/FLY Racing Thunder Valley National Specialty Awards

WPS:FLY Racing Thunder Valley National Specialty Awards (678)

Deltran Battery Tender RC Hard Charger Award & FMF Privateer Power Award

MORGANTOWN, WV – October 7, 2020 – (Motor Sports NewsWire) – The penultimate round of the 2020 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship saw the world’s most prestigious off-road motorcycle racing series make its annual visit to the mile-high altitude of Colorado’s Thunder Valley Motocross Park, which sits at the highest elevation of any professional motocross track in the world. The WPS/FLY Racing Thunder Valley National was brimming with excitement as highly competitive and dramatic battles for victory emerged in both the 450 Class and 250 Class. When all was said and done, Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Eli Tomac captured an impressive 450 Class win in front of the home crowd, while Monster Energy/Star/Yamaha Racing’s Justin Cooper prevailed with his first win of the season in the 250 Class.

In addition to celebrating the winners and podium finishers at every round of the 2020 season, each week the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship also brings attention to other riders who should be recognized for their efforts. Following every round a pair of specialty awards are handed out to riders who dig deep and overcome the odds to achieve success.

The Deltran Battery RC Hard Charger Award recognizes the 450 Class rider that embodies the relentless, never-give-up attitude that personified the career of the G.O.A.T. Ricky Carmichael, the most successful rider in the history of American motocross. The award is given to the rider that passes the most competitors in a single 450 Class moto at every round, earning the most significant improvement from his starting spot to his finishing result. Each recipient of the RC Hard Charger Award is awarded with a custom-designed trophy.

The FMF Privateer Power Award shines the spotlight on the underdog rider that overcomes the odds in pursuit of his racing dream, exceeding expectations by putting forth an incredible performance that often surpasses that of the factory-backed riders that surround him. The ability to do more with less is something that every privateer aspires to achieve, and each week this award applauds a rider who was successful in accomplishing that feat. Each recipient of the Privateer Power Award is awarded with a custom-designed trophy.

Deltran Battery Tender RC Hard Charger Award

With a career that dates back to 2011, Swedish journeyman Fredrik Noren appears to have found a home at JGRMX/Yoshimura/Suzuki Racing. Unfortunately, the 2020 season hasn’t gone as well as Noren or the team would have hoped. For as many solid moto performances as he’s had this season, it seems as though there’s been equally as many heartbreaking misfortunes for the veteran rider. When he’s able to avoid hard luck, Noren is right in the thick of the battle for the top 10, where we’re accustomed to seeing him. At Thunder Valley it appeared as though bad luck was going to ruin another promising day. After finishing in 11th in Moto 1, Noren got the worse end of banging bars coming out the starting gate in Moto 2. After Adam Cianciarulo and Chase Sexton bumped one another Sexton pushed over into Noren, who subsequently was pinched in by riders on both sides. Sexton continued to move into Noren’s line as he looked to regain control of his bike and inadvertently took out Noren’s front tire, causing the Suzuki to stop suddenly and flip, which sent Noren hard into the ground. Fortunately, the Swede escaped injury in the scary incident and managed to rejoin the race, albeit in 39th place. Never one to quit, Noren dug deep and made a charge through the field for the remainder of the moto, where he passed 26 riders to capture a hard-fought 13th-place finish. The resilient effort helped land Noren 11th overall (11-13) and by virtue of his gritty ride in the final moto he also earned this week’s RC Hard Charger Award.

RC Hard Charger Award - #31 Fredrik Noren

#31 Fredrik Noren / Lidköping, Sweden / Suzuki
+26 positions in 450 Moto 2 (39th to 13th) 

FMF Privateer Power Award

For the second time during the 2020 season, Missouri rider Benny Bloss is the recipient of the FMF Privateer Power Award following an impressive performance at Thunder Valley. It was the best outing of the season for the KT Tape/Truck Central/Donnells Husqvarna rider, who outperformed many of his fellow factory supported counterparts to earn his first top-10 finish of the year in eighth following 14-7 moto scores, earning the best overall finish for any privateer thus far in 2020. Despite having to endure through the ups and downs of running his own effort this season, Bloss and his team appear to be hitting their stride at the most opportune time, and his head-turning result in the altitude of Thunder Valley warranted additional recognition. The former 450 Class Rookie of the Year will look to end the season on a high note at the 2020 finale from Fox Raceway.

FMF Privateer Power Award - #50 Benny Bloss

#50 Benny Bloss / Oak Grove, Missouri / Husqvarna
450 Class: 8th Overall (14-7)

Now available for download for both Apple and Android devices is the official Pro Motocross App. Fans of American motocross can have access to the world’s most prestigious off-road motorcycle racing series right at their fingertips on their mobile devices. Developed by AMA Pro Racing, the Pro Motocross App provides users with the most important information surrounding the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship, from series news to schedule and ticket information, as well as broadcast schedule details and live timing & scoring. Download it now via the App Store or Google Play.

For information about the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship, please visit:

How to Watch Pro Motocross

The Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship is televised on NBC, NBC Sports Network(NBCSN), and MAVTV, and is exclusively streamed live on the NBC Sports Gold subscription service. Every round features live coverage of the first motos of the 450 Class and 250 Class on MAVTV Motorsports Network, while second moto coverage from every round can be seen on NBC Sports Network (NBCSN). Additionally, exclusive network broadcast coverage of select events will be showcased on NBC. Live and on-demand coverage, including an exclusive live stream of qualifying, can be seen on NBC Sports Gold via the “Pro Motocross Pass” for a one-time purchase of $54.99.

Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship

The Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship, sanctioned by AMA Pro Racing, features the world’s fastest outdoor motocross racers, competing aboard homologated bikes from one of six competing manufacturers on a collection of the roughest, toughest tracks on the planet. Racing takes place each Saturday afternoon, with competition divided into two classes: one for 250cc machines, and one for 450cc machines. MX Sports Pro Racing, the industry leader in off-road powersports event production, manages the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship. The title sponsor is Lucas Oil, a leading producer of premium oils, greases, and problem solving additives, all made in America. More information can be found at www.ProMotocross.com.

Source: MX Sports Pro Racing, Inc.

2020 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship banner