American Motorcyclist Association announces recipients of 2020 AMA Board of Directors Awards

AMA logo

Sel Narayana selected for AMA Dud Perkins Lifetime Achievement Award

PICKERINGTON, OH – April 16, 2020 – (Motor Sports NewsWire) –  The American Motorcyclist Association Board of Directors has selected three recipients for its 2020 national awards. The awards recognize outstanding contributions in the world of motorcycling and acknowledge support of the AMA mission to promote the motorcycle lifestyle and protect the future of motorcycling.

The 2020 AMA Board of Directors awards include:

  • AMA Dud Perkins Lifetime Achievement Award — Selvaraj Narayana, Executive Director, KTM North America, Murrieta, Calif.
  • AMA Bessie Stringfield Award — Wendy Crockett, Rapid City, S.D.
  • AMA Hazel Kolb Brighter Image Award — National Youth Project Using Minibikes, Torrance, Calif.

“Each year, AMA Board members have the opportunity and privilege of recognizing individual motorcyclists, groups, and organizations who have contributed to motorcycling in a variety of ways that improve, promote and protect the sport we all love,” said AMA Board Chair Russ Ehnes. “Some award recipients are well known, while others work diligently away from the spotlight to help motorcyclists continue to ride or to introduce people to motorcycling in ways that improve their lives. Recognizing these motorcycling heroes is the highlight of our year as Board members.”

AMA Dud Perkins Lifetime Achievement Award
The 2020 AMA Dud Perkins Lifetime Achievement Award is presented to Selvaraj Narayana, executive director of KTM North America Inc. His involvement in motorcycle competition began five decades ago, and his successful career at KTM has included leadership roles in virtually every aspect of the company’s international business: parts and accessories, apparel, dealer development, sales and service.

Narayana also has served on the Motorcycle Industry Council Board of Directors and the Motorcycle Safety Foundation Board of Trustees. He received the MIC Chairman’s Award 2008.

“It is a great honor to receive such a prestigious award,” Narayana said. “This means lot to me. I joined the AMA in 1969. It was my longtime dream to be involved in the motorcycle industry. My dream came true, and it’s been my goal to serve the industry with passion.

“Thanks to the AMA for creating such a great organization,” he said. “I am proud to be a Lifetime Member.”

AMA Bessie Stringfield Award
Worldwide motorcycle ambassador Wendy Crockett is the recipient of the 2020 AMA Bessie Stringfield Award. The award memorializes the accomplishments of AMA Motorcycle Hall of Famer Bessie Stringfield and recognizes efforts to introduce motorcycling to new or underserved markets.

Crockett is a longtime AMA member and factory-trained technician who has traveled the Americas extensively on two wheels, from to Mexico to Newfoundland, and Key West to the Arctic Circle. She specializes in long-distance and endurance riding as part of the AMA LongRider program, the Iron Butt Association and the Motorcycle Endurance Rider Association.

“I am deeply humbled and honored to be included among some of the most influential motorcyclists of the past decade, not to mention the iconic trailblazer Bessie Stringfield herself,” Crockett said. “I am extremely lucky to be in a position to share my passion with a broad spectrum of riders and future riders, and I hope to continue inspiring people to get out and enjoy life on two wheels.”

AMA Hazel Kolb Brighter Image Award
The 2020 AMA Hazel Kolb Brighter Image Award, which honors the memory of ambassador and AMA Motorcycle Hall of Famer Hazel Kolb, is presented to the National Youth Project Using Minibikes. The NYPUM program was created in 1969 by the YMCA as a way to engage at-risk and disadvantaged youth. American Honda has supported the program since its inception, providing funding and donating more than 20,000 minibikes.

“On behalf of everyone affiliated with NYPUM, we are very honored to receive the 2020 AMA Hazel Kolb Brighter Image Award,” said NYPUM President Steve Morikawa. “In its 50-year history, NYPUM has transformed the lives of nearly 300,000 young people and encouraged them to set a positive example in their communities. Thank you, AMA, for recognizing the great impact motorcycling can have on society through meaningful programs like NYPUM.”

Vice President of the Motorcycle Division at American Honda Chuck Boderman added: “Our Honda associates and dealers are grateful to the AMA for its advocacy on behalf of the motorcycling community and its recognition of NYPUM with this important award. Honda believed in NYPUM’s mission when the program launched 50 years ago, and it’s been our privilege to be involved ever since. It’s inspiring to see NYPUM have such a positive impact on so many young lives.”

For more information about the AMA Board of Directors Awards Program, to see past recipients and learn how to submit individual’s names for future consideration, please visit

About the American Motorcyclist Association

Founded in 1924, the AMA is a not-for-profit member-based association whose mission is to promote the motorcycle lifestyle and protect the future of motorcycling. As the world’s largest motorcycling rights and event sanctioning organization, the AMA advocates for riders’ interests at all levels of government and sanctions thousands of competition and recreational events every year. The AMA also provides money-saving discounts on products and services for its members. Through the AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame in Pickerington, Ohio, the AMA honors the heroes and heritage of motorcycling. For more information, visit

Not a member? Join the AMA today.

Source: American Motorcyclist Association

AMA Logo 2019