Sebring International raceway Named New NHRA Member Track

GLENDORA, CA – February 20, 2020 – (Motor Sports NewsWire) –  NHRA announced today that Sebring International Raceway will become a new member track. Sebring will join Division 2, the Southwest division of NHRA member tracks.

Sebring International Raceway, located in Sebring, Florida, is one of the oldest continuously operating racetracks in the United States, having held its first race in 1950. The track partially sits on Hendricks Army Airfield, which was used as a training base for B-17 pilots during World War ll.

“We have worked hard to create a fun and friendly environment that allows competitors to feel like family when visiting Sebring International Raceway,” said Elizabeth Worley, Marketing Coordinator and Drag Racing Series Manager at Sebring International Raceway. “We strongly believe that having the backing of NHRA will allow us to continue to grow the program we have built. We look forward to the future of drag racing and competition at our track.

The track currently hosts Big Tire and Small Tire race events that take place on the front stretch of the famed track, best known for the Twelve Hours of Sebring. All future drag racing events will now be sanctioned by NHRA, the primary sanctioning body for drag racing in the United States.

“We are thrilled to welcome another track into the NHRA member track family,” said Rich Schaefer, Division 2 Director. “Sebring International Raceway has such a rich motorsports history and they could not be a more perfect addition to the Division 2 track lineup.”

The 2020 Air & Electric Services Sebring Drag Racing schedule will include 12 events, most of which will take place on Thursday nights. There will also be two high-prize-money weekends, the Sebring Battle at the Bridge and the Sebring Summer Showdown.

The complete 2020 schedule will be announced in the near future, with the first night of the season scheduled to kick off on April 16.

About Sebring International Raceway

Sebring International Raceway is North America’s oldest permanent road racing facility, established in 1950. The circuit originated from a WWII B-17 combat crew training base known as Hendricks Field. Nestled among the orange groves and cattle ranches of Central Florida, Sebring International Raceway has hosted the Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring since 1952, now part of the prestigious IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship. Sebring was the site of the first FIA World Championship Sports Car Race in 1953, and in 2012 hosted the inaugural race of the FIA WEC, which returned in 2019 to run the day before the Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring Presented by Advance Auto Parts and will again for at least two more years in 2020-21. Sebring is also known as one of the most versatile testing facilities in the motorsports industry, offering a variety of circuit configurations for club and corporate events, private testing and racing schools. For more information on Sebring, visit

About NHRA

Headquartered in Glendora, Calif., NHRA is the primary sanctioning body for the sport of drag racing in the United States. NHRA presents 24 national events featuring the NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series, NHRA Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series, and E3 Spark Plugs NHRA Pro Mod Drag Racing Series presented by J&A Service. NHRA provides competition opportunities for drivers of all levels in the NHRA Summit Racing Series and the NHRA Drags: Street Legal Style presented by AAA. NHRA also offers NHRA Jr. Street program for teens and the Summit Racing Jr. Drag Racing League for youth ages 5 to 17. In addition, NHRA owns and operates four racing facilities: Atlanta Dragway in Georgia; Gainesville Raceway in Florida; Lucas Oil Raceway at Indianapolis; and Auto Club Raceway at Pomona in Southern California. For more information, log on to, or visit the official NHRA pages on Facebook, YouTube and Twitter.

Source: National Hot Rod Association

200220 NHRA DIVISION 2 - Southeast logo