2019 Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Set for Dramatic Conclusion at Portsmouth Raceway Park

BATAVIA, OH – October 16, 2019 – (Motor Sports NewsWire) – Since the beginning of February, a total of 358 of the finest late model dirt track racers have taken their shot at throwing it sideways throughout the Central and Eastern time zones, visiting a total of 19 different states over the past nine months during the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series. The 54-race schedule is a true test of endurance, with thousands of laps logged to determine which driver will emerge as the 2019 champion. On October 18-19, the highly anticipated 39th Annual Rhino Ag Dirt Track World Championship Presented by OPTIMA Batteries, will bring the season to a thrilling conclusion from Portsmouth Raceway Park in Portsmouth, Ohio.

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series [1]

While winning is important, consistency is king over the course of such a long season. It’s that ability to continuously run at the front of the field that has ultimately allowed reigning Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Champion Jonathan Davenport to be in a prime position to successfully defend his title. Spearheaded by a series-leading 12 wins in 2019, the Georgia native has made himself a fixture at the front of the field at virtually every race thus far, including his most recent win at the very same track where the season-finale will be held, at Portsmouth Raceway Park.

Since capturing his first win of the season during the fifth race on the championship calendar, Davenport has gone on a tear driving his Double L Motorsports car, with an incredible summer stretch in which he earned the lion’s share of his victories. He’s doubled the number of wins earned by any other driver in the series, and as a result, has opened up a comfortable 470-point lead with just one race to go.

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series [2]

While Davenport has put himself in the headlines more often than not this season, arguably the most impressive storyline surrounds the exceptional parity the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series has enjoyed over the course of the 2019 campaign. A total of 19 different drivers have grabbed the checkered flag this season, which includes 10 different multi-race winners. One of the bright spots that has emerged from that depth of competition is rookie Tyler Erb. In his first season of action, the Texas native has piloted his Best Performance Motorsports car to six wins, highlighted by a blistering start to the year in which he emerged victorious in three of the first four races. Erb currently sits fifth in the championship standings, and appears poised to take home the coveted Eibach Rookie of the Year honors.

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series [3.1]

While both Davenport and Erb are positioned to claim 2019’s biggest accolades, considerable attention must still be given to the drivers that have made the championship battle intriguing all season long. Veteran Tim McCreadie currently holds down second place in the series standings, and will be Davenport’s primary rival when they arrive in Ohio. While he’s still in search of his first Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series title, the New York native has gained considerable experience as the driver giving chase, thanks to a runner-up finish in 2017 and a third-place finish in 2016. The Coffey-McCreadie Enterprises driver has one win to his credit this season, and has been one of the most consistent drivers over the course of 2019.

Behind him, former champion Josh Richards is also determined to keep the pressure on as the 2019 season comes to a close. With a trio of race wins, the West Virginia native holds down third in the standings and faces a 595-point deficit to Richards, while also sitting 125 points back of Richards for second. The Clint Bowyer Racing driver is chasing his third championship podium result in four years.

With its action-packed slate of races, the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series has thrilled hundreds of thousands of racing fans throughout 2019, but none of it would be possible without the support of the series sponsors, which have served arguably the most important role in the championship. Significant support has come from GEICO and General Tire, who have been invaluable partners to the series, while K&N Filters, OPTIMA Batteries, Rhino Ag, STEEL-IT, and Super Clean have all played an integral role in making each event a success. Additionally, GoPro and SRI Performance have been tremendous assets to the nation’s premier dirt late model sanctioning organization. Collectively, the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series would not be able to achieve the level of success it does without the support of these sponsors, and the contributions from each of these companies has helped provide one of the most competitive and memorable seasons for the series to date.

A big thank you to all of our 2019 Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series sponsors

•    5150 Race Trailers

•    Allstar Performance

•    Andy Durham Racing Engines

•    Arizona Sport Shirts

•    Black Diamond Chassis

•    Boyd Bilt Fabrication


•    COMP Cams

•    DirtonDirt.com

•    Dirty Girl Racewear

•    Dunn-Benson Ford

•    Earnhardt Technologies Group

•    Eibach Springs

•    Fast Shafts

•    FK Rod Ends

•    GEICO

•    General Tire

•    GoPro

•    Heath Lawson Photography

•    Homatro

•    Hoosier Tire

•    Hot Rod Processing

•    Keyser Manufacturing

•    K&N Filters

•    Longhorn Chassis

•    Lucas Oil Products

•    Lucas Oil Racing TV

•    MasterSbilt Race Cars

•    MAVTV Motorsports Network

•    Midwest Sheet Metal

•    Miller Welders

•    MSD Performance

•    Öhlins Shocks

•    OPTIMA Batteries

•    Outerwears

•    Performance Bodies

•    PFC Brakes

•    Pro Power Racing Engines

•    Protect the Harvest

•    Rhino Ag

•    Rocket Chassis

•    Rugged Radios

•    Schoenfeld Headers

•    Simpson Race Products

•    Slicker Graphics

•    SRI Performance


•    Sunoco Race Fuels

•    Super Clean

•    Sweet-Bloomquist Race Cars

•    Swift Springs

•    Wrisco Aluminum

•    Xceldyne Valvetrain

For information about the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series please visit www.LucasDirt.com and be sure to follow all of the series’ social media channels for exclusive content and additional information on the latest news:

Facebook: @lucasdirt
Instagram: @lucasdirt
Twitter: @lucasdirt

About Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series

Founded in 2005, the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series is the nation’s premier dirt late model sanctioning organization. In 2019, the LOLMDS will sanction 65 events in 22 states. The series is owned by the parent company Lucas Oil Products Inc. and receives national exposure through a TV package filmed, produced and edited by Lucas Oil Production Studios. LOLMDS events will be broadcast on four TV Networks including CBS, NBC Sports, CBS Sports Network and the MAVTV Motorsports Network. For more information about the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series visit the official website at: www.LucasDirt.com.

Source: Late Model Dirt Series

Late Model Dirt Series banner [678]