Strong Stable of Contending Pro Stock Racers vie for Final Starting Position for K&N Horsepower Challenge

GLENDORA, CA – March 20, 2018 – (Motor Sports Newswire) – The K&N Horsepower Challenge all-star Pro Stock event will feature eight of the best racers in the factory hot-rod category and seven racers have secured their position in the starting field. The eighth and final position will be filled via a fan vote.

Voting is open now and will end on Sunday, April 1 at noon Eastern. Fans can go to to vote for their favorite driver.

The K&N Horsepower Challenge will be held Saturday, April 7, during the DENSO Spark Plugs NHRA Four-Wide Nationals at The Strip at Las Vegas Motor Speedway.

Drivers that have clinched a spot into the K&N Horsepower Challenge include Bo Butner, Greg Anderson, Jason Line, Drew Skillman, Tanner Gray, Jeg Coughlin Jr., and Erica Enders.

The following Pro Stock drivers are currently eligible for the fan vote: Chris McGaha, Vincent Nobile, Alan Prusiensky, Alex Laughlin, Deric Kramer, Matt Hartford, Kenny Delco, Shane Gray, Val Smeland, Shane Tucker, John Gaydosh Jr., Brian Self, Mark Hogan, Larry Morgan, Steve Graham, David River, Richie Stevens Jr., Tom Huggins, Wally Stroupe, Johnny Gray, and Joey Grose.

The winner of the fan vote will go up against the other seven entries in a three-round shootout in Las Vegas. The champion of the K&N Horsepower Challenge race will win a $50,000 grand prize. The runner-up will receive $10,000 with $3,000 to the two semifinalists and $2,500 to the four first-round finishers. If a driver doubles-up by winning the specialty event and the national event, that driver will win a $25,000 bonus.

Greg Anderson continued his dominance in the event when he raced to his second consecutive, and his sixth overall victory in the event. Anderson defeated Allen Johnson, Butner and Shane Gray in the finals for the win and a $50,000 payday.

About NHRA

Headquartered in Glendora, Calif., NHRA is the primary sanctioning body for the sport of drag racing in the United States. NHRA presents 24 national events featuring the NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series, NHRA Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series, and E3 Spark Plugs NHRA Pro Mod Drag Racing Series presented by J&A Service. NHRA provides competition opportunities for drivers of all levels in the NHRA Summit Racing Series and the NHRA Drags: Street Legal Style presented by AAA. NHRA also offers NHRA Jr. Street program for teens and the Summit Racing Jr. Drag Racing League for youth ages 5 to 17. In addition, NHRA owns and operates four racing facilities: Atlanta Dragway in Georgia; Gainesville Raceway in Florida; Lucas Oil Raceway at Indianapolis; and Auto Club Raceway at Pomona in Southern California. For more information, log on to, or visit the official NHRA pages on Facebook, YouTube and Twitter.

Source: National Hot Rod Association

NHRA logo