Jared Mees Disqualified from Atlanta Short Track for using Chemically Altered Tire

Jared Mees Disqualified from Atlanta Short Track for using Chemically Altered Tire

DAYTONA BEACH, FL – April 27, 2018 – (Motor Sports Newswire) –  Following an American Flat Track post-event tire sampling from the Atlanta Short Track held April 8, 2018 at Dixie Speedway in Woodstock, Ga., AFT Twins competitor Jared Mees on the #1 machine has been disqualified for using a chemically altered tire.

Four tire samples from four different machines were taken after the Atlanta Main Event, and all were submitted to an independent lab for chemical analysis. Three of the samples were deemed to be in compliance with the benchmark sample provided by Dunlop. The sample from the #1 machine ridden by Jared Mees was not in compliance, however, and indicated the presence of several chemicals known to be used in motorsports to alter tire compounds.

According to the 2018 American Flat Track Rulebook, the rider of the #1 machine ridden by Jared Mees is in violation of Rulebook section 3.8.b (pg. 44): “Tires: No chemical applications are permitted.”

Pursuant to the 2018 American Flat Track Rulebook, Section A3.1 Equipment Offenses and Penalties (page 84), this is a Category 1 offense: “An equipment violation that could potentially enhance the performance of a motorcycle used in competition.”

Effective immediately, the rider of the #1 machine – Jared Mees – has been served with the following penalties in accordance with Section A3.3:

  • Disqualification from the Atlanta Short Track
  • Total loss of points from the event
  • Total loss of prize money from the event
  • Probation for 12 months

Revised results for the AFT Twins Main Event at the Atlanta Short Track are as follows:

  1. Kenny Coolbeth Jr.
  2. Jeffery Carver, Jr.
  3. Jarod Vanderkooi
  4. Henry Wiles
  5. Johnny Lewis
  6. Brad Baker
  7. Bryan Smith
  8. Jake Johnson
  9. Kayl Kolkman
  10. Briar Bauman
  11. Sammy Halbert
  12. Danny Eslick
  13. Brandon Robinson
  14. Chad Cose
  15. Jay Maloney
  16. Wyatt Anderson
  17. Robert Pearson

Revised point standings are as follows:

  1. Kenny Coolbeth Jr.  –  36 points
  2. Henry Wiles  –  32 points
  3. Brad Baker  –  27 points
  4. Jared Mees  –  25 points
  5. Jeffrey Carver Jr.  –  24 points
  6. Briar Bauman  –  24 points
  7. Jake Johnson  –  24 points
  8. Brian Smith  –  22 points
  9. JD Beach  –  20 points
  10. Jarod Vanderkooi  –  20 points
  11. Kayl Kolkman  –  16 points
  12. Sammy Halbert  –  16 points
  13. Johnny Lewis  –  15 points
  14. Brandon Robinson  –  13 points
  15. Davis Fisher  –  12 points
  16. Robert Pearson  –  11 points
  17. Danny Eslick  –  7 points
  18. Mikey Rush  –  5 points
  19. Chad Cose  –  5 points
  20. Jay Maloney  –  4 points
  21. Wyatt Anderson  –  3 points
  22. Bronson Bauman  –  2 points

About Indian Motorcycle

Indian Motorcycle is America’s First Motorcycle Company®. Founded in 1901, Indian Motorcycle has won the hearts of motorcyclists around the world and earned distinction as one of America’s most legendary and iconic brands through unrivaled racing dominance, engineering prowess and countless innovations and industry firsts. Today that heritage and passion is reignited under new brand stewardship. To learn more, please visit www.indianmotorcycle.com.

Source: American Flat Track

American Flat Track logo


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.