SAM Tech NHRA Factory Stock Showdown expands to seven events in 2018

GLENDORA, CA – September 30, 2017 – (Motor Sports Newswire) –  NHRA officials announced today that the SAM Tech NHRA Factory Stock Showdown will be expanded to compete at seven events on the 2018 NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series schedule. For the first time, the category will race at the NHRA Thunder Valley Nationals in Bristol, Tenn. and AAA Texas NHRA Fall Nationals at Dallas.

The category will again race at the Amalie Motor Oil NHRA Gatornationals, NHRA Four-Wide Nationals, Summit Racing Equipment NHRA Nationals, Chevrolet Performance U.S. Nationals, and the AAA Insurance NHRA Midwest Nationals. Drivers will once again be competing for a year-end NHRA Wally based on the best six of seven events.

There will also be changes to the category including an expanded field of 16 cars taking part each weekend. Also the SAM Tech NHRA Factory Stock Showdown will be contested as its own eliminator.

“It is only fitting that in the seventh year of the program we will see the SAM Tech NHRA Factory Showdown grow to seven events during the year,” said Josh Peterson, NHRA vice president, racing administration. “The competition within the category continues to increase each year and to win an event can be one of the highlights during the course of the season for a Factory Stock competitor.”

“The drivers, manufacturers, and fans loved the five race schedule,” said Brian Massingill, director of student motorsports for the School of Automotive Machinists & Technology. “Going to seven races in 2018 will allow the class to continue to grow and a 16 car field is going to bring in even more fans and racers. We are thrilled to be part of such an exciting category.”


Mar. 15 – 18 Amalie Motor Oil NHRA Gatornationals Gainesville, FL
Apr. 27 – 29 NHRA Four-Wide Nationals Charlotte, NC
June 15 – 17 NHRA Thunder Valley Nationals Bristol, TN
June 21 – 24 Summit Racing Equipment NHRA Nationals Norwalk, OH
Aug. 29 – Sept 3 Chevrolet Performance U.S. Nationals Indianapolis, IN
Sept. 21 – 23 AAA Insurance NHRA Midwest Nationals St. Louis, MO
Oct. 4 – 7 Texas NHRA Fall Nationals Dallas, TX

About National Hot Rod Association

Headquartered in Glendora, Calif., NHRA is the primary sanctioning body for the sport of drag racing in the United States. NHRA presents 24 national events featuring the NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series, NHRA Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series and NHRA J&A Service Pro Mod Drag Racing Series. National Hot Rod Association provides competition opportunities for drivers of all levels in the NHRA Summit Racing Series and the NHRA Drags: Street Legal Style presented by AAA. NHRA also offers NHRA Jr. Street program for teens and the Summit Racing Jr. Drag Racing League for youth ages 5 to 17. In addition, NHRA owns and operates five racing facilities: Atlanta Dragway in Georgia; Gainesville Raceway in Florida; National Trail Raceway in Ohio; Lucas Oil Raceway at Indianapolis; and Auto Club Raceway at Pomona in Southern California. For more information, log on to, or visit the official NHRA pages on Facebook, YouTube and Twitter.

Source: National Hot Rod Association