Billy Janniro wins eighth AMA Speedway National Championship

Billy Janniro - AMA Speedway National Championship

Ties Greg Hancock’s eight AMA National Titles

PICKERINGTON, OH – September 20, 2017 – (Motor Sports Newswire) –  Billy Janniro, of Winters, Calif., captured his eighth AMA National Championship during the final round of the AMA Speedway National Championship Series at Fast Fridays Motorcycle Speedway in Auburn, Calif., on Sept. 16.

“Billy is a talented racer and fierce competitor who has cemented his place in AMA speedway racing by tying Greg Hancock’s record of eight AMA National titles,” said AMA Track Racing Manager Ken Saillant. “The AMA is pleased to award him his eighth AMA National Championship, and we look forward to him returning to defend his championship again next year.”

With this championship, Janniro broke a tie with Mike Bast, who won seven AMA Speedway National Championships in the 1970s.

2017 AMA Speedway National Championship Results

  1. Billy Janniro – 72
  2. Max Ruml – 65
  3. Broc Nicol – 52
  4. Gino Manzares – 50
  5. Luke Becker – 45
  6. Dillon Ruml – 41
  7. Aaron Fox – 33
  8. Austin Novratil – 30
  9. Gage Geist – 24
  10. Eddie Castro – 23

About the American Motorcyclist Association

Founded in 1924, the AMA is a not-for-profit member-based association whose mission is to promote the motorcycle lifestyle and protect the future of motorcycling. As the world’s largest motorcycling rights and event sanctioning organization, the AMA advocates for riders’ interests at all levels of government and sanctions thousands of competition and recreational events every year. The AMA also provides money-saving discounts on products and services for its members. Through the AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame in Pickerington, Ohio, the AMA honors the heroes and heritage of motorcycling. For more information, visit

Not a member? Join the AMA today.

Source: American Motorcyclist Association

AMA Press Release