American Motorcyclist Association crowns champions at AMA Hillclimb Grand Championship

AMA Hillclimb Grand Championship

23 AMA National No. 1 plates awarded

PICKERINGTON, OH – August 9, 2017 – (Motor Sports Newswire) –  Amateur hillclimb racers from across America competed for one of 23 AMA National Championships at the 2017 AMA Hillclimb Grand Championship, hosted by the Indian Head Motorcycle Club, in Red Wing, Minn., on Aug. 5-6.

AMA Amateur Hillclimb Racer of the Year, Bodee O'Neil
Bodee O’Neil

“Hillclimb racers made their way to Wisconsin from all over the country to prove their talent and skill in one of the most thrilling disciplines of motorcycle racing,” AMA Track Racing Manager Ken Saillant said. “We would like to congratulate all those who participated in the event and, especially, those who were able to take home an AMA National Championship.”

Bodee O’Neil of Hager City, Wis., was honored as AMA Amateur Hillclimb Racer of the Year after winning an AMA No. 1 plate in the 125cc, 200cc and 250cc classes. His best run of the event was in the 250cc class, taking just 6.247 seconds to reach the top of the hill.

AMA Youth Hillclimb Racer of the Year, Carson Roschen
Carson Roschen

The title of AMA Youth Hillclimb Racer of the Year went to Carson Roschen from Goodhue, Minn. Rochschen took two AMA National Championships, in the Mini Senior and Super Mini classes.

After winning the King of the Hill competition with a time of 5.588 seconds, Kirk Mueller, of La Valle, Wis., was named AMA Vet/Senior Hillclimb Racer of the Year.

AMA Vet Senior Hillclimb Racer of the Year, Kirk Mueller
Kirk Mueller

“We would like to thank the Indian Motorcycle Club for putting on a great event,” Saillant said. “The success of the AMA Hillclimb Grand Championship would not be possible without their help, as well as the many AMA Track Racing Commission members and volunteers who also contributed.”

The American Motorcyclist Association would like to congratulate all the newly crowned AMA National Champions.

Micro Mini – Charlie Engnes, Bledenville, Wis.
65cc – Conner Shafer, Caldwell, Ohio
Mini Junior – Conner Shafer, Caldwell, Ohio
Mini Senior – Carson Roschen, Goodhue, Minn.
Super Mini – Carson Roschen, Goodhue, Minn.
Mini Girls – Kaly Mueller, La Valle, Wis.
125cc – Bodee O’Neil, Hager City, Wis.
200cc – Bodee O’Neil, Hager City, Wis.
250cc – Bodee O’Neil, Hager City, Wis.
450cc – Taylor O’Neil, Hager City, Wis.
600cc – Zachary Degross, Ellsworth, Wis.
750cc – Travis Schroedl, Fairfax, Minn.
Open – Kirk Mueller, La Valle, Wis.
Senior – Joel Falde, Ellsworth, Wis.
Super Senior – Mike Wood, Bay City, Wis.
Women – Casey Virkus, Ellsworth, Wis.
400 Stock – Jacob Prebe, Millville, Minn.
Open Stock – Max Skeans, Ashland, Ky.
2-Stroke – Jason Brookshaw, Ellsworth, Wis.
4-Stroke – Nathan Prebe, Frontenac, Minn.
ATV 450 – Jason Vanberg, Red Wing, Minn.
ATV Open – Scott Slater, Charleston, W.V.
ATV Senior – Jimmy Thaxton, Charleston, W.V.

About the American Motorcyclist Association

Founded in 1924, the AMA is a not-for-profit member-based association whose mission is to promote the motorcycle lifestyle and protect the future of motorcycling. As the world’s largest motorcycling rights and event sanctioning organization, the AMA advocates for riders’ interests at all levels of government and sanctions thousands of competition and recreational events every year. The AMA also provides money-saving discounts on products and services for its members. Through the AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame in Pickerington, Ohio, the AMA honors the heroes and heritage of motorcycling. For more information, visit

Not a member? Join the AMA today.

Source: American Motorcyclist Association

AMA Press Release