American Motorcyclist Association crowns national champions at 2017 AMA Dirt Track Grand Championship

Twelve amateur and youth racers in 20 classes recognized as AMA National Champions

PICKERINGTON, OH – July 6, 2017 – (Motor Sports Newswire) –  Twenty AMA National No. 1 plates were awarded July 4 at the AMA Dirt Track Grand Championship at Du Quoin (Ill.) State Fairgrounds to 12 riders who earned AMA National Champion status.

Some racers earned national championships in more than one class.

Youth and amateur racers competed in a variety of classes in Half Mile, Youth TT, Amateur TT and Indoor Short Track events.

“As always, the talent at the AMA Dirt Track Grand Championship is top notch,” said AMA Track Racing Manager Ken Saillant. “Congratulations to the 12 racers who battled their way to the front and were able to take home the honor of being an AMA National Champion.”

Hunter Brooks of Escalon, Calif., was the recipient of the Nicky Hayden AMA Dirt Track Horizon Award, which recognizes the rider best prepared for the professional ranks, based on their attitude, enthusiasm and past performances as an amateur. The award recently was re-named in honor of 2002 AMA Superbike Champion and 2006 FIM MotoGP World Champion Nicky Hayden, who passed away in May. Hayden was the inaugural winner of the AMA Horizon Award in 1997.

Trevor Tidwell of Washington, Ill., received the 2017 Dirt Track Grand Championship Fast Brain Award for his hard work on the racetrack and in the classroom.

Veteran Senior Racer of the Year is Dallas Mayer of Carbondale, Ill.

Tyler Scott, Emmaus Pa., is the Youth Racer of the Year. He won three AMA National Championships in 2017.

For more information on the AMA Dirt Track National Championship, visit

The AMA would like to congratulate the following AMA National Champions:

  • 50cc DTX Sr. (7-8) – Bradon Pfanders
  • 50cc DTX PW Shaft – Brody Hanson
  • 50cc DTX PW (4-8) – Elijah Banish
  • 65cc DTX (7-11) – Chase Anderson
  • 65cc Modified (7-11) – Tyler Scott
  • 85cc DTX (7-11) – Tyler Scott
  • 85cc DTX (12-15) – Kody Kopp
  • 85cc Modified (7-11) – Tyler Scott
  • 85cc Modified (12-15) – Kody Kopp
  • 250cc DTX – Travis Petton
  • 250cc Modified – Grant Holmes
  • 201cc-250cc – Grant Holmes
  • 251cc-500cc DTX – Hunter Brooks
  • 450cc Modified – Dallas M. Daniels
  • 450cc Open Singles – Dallas M. Daniels
  • 450cc Open Mod (Single and Twin) – Dallas M. Daniels
  • Veteran 30+ – Michael Mayer
  • Senior 40+ – Dallas Mayer
  • Super Senior 50+ – Dallas Mayer
  • Womens (12+) – Sara Saathoff

About the American Motorcyclist Association

Founded in 1924, the AMA is a not-for-profit member-based association whose mission is to promote the motorcycle lifestyle and protect the future of motorcycling. As the world’s largest motorcycling rights and event sanctioning organization, the AMA advocates for riders’ interests at all levels of government and sanctions thousands of competition and recreational events every year. The AMA also provides money-saving discounts on products and services for its members. Through the AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame in Pickerington, Ohio, the AMA honors the heroes and heritage of motorcycling. For more information, visit

Not a member? Join the AMA today.

Source: American Motorcyclist Association

AMA Press Release