Western New York Off-Road Association sanctions series with the American Motorcyclist Association

WNYOA Championship Series to hand out
AMA No. 1 plate for next three years

PICKERINGTON, OH – April 10, 2017 – (Motor Sports Newswire) –  Racers in the Northeast will have a chance to compete in the Western New York Off-Road Association Championship Series, a new American Motorcyclist Association Featured Series, beginning April 30.

The series winner will earn a highly coveted AMA No. 1 plate.

The WNYOA Championship Series includes 14 rounds of motorcycle, ATV and youth hare scrambles racing hosted at 13 premiere venues throughout New York state. The series is sanctioned by the AMA for the next three years.

Photo provided by Western New York Off-Road Association

“We are very excited to be working with the Western New York Off-Road Association to give racers in the Northeast a new AMA Featured Series,” said AMA Off-Road Racing Manager Erek Kudla. “WNYOA consistently draws a large attendance and is continually working to make its events bigger and better every season. That’s what putting on a quality, club- and promoter-driven series is all about.”

As the host of one of the largest and most well attended hare scrambles series in the Northeast, WNYOA has always focused on the importance of promoting clubs in an effort to provide the most fun-filled, family-centered, off-road events possible, Kudla said.

“After 20 years of off-road racing in upstate New York, the entire WNYOA family is very excited about our next step of becoming an AMA Featured Series,” said WNYOA President Scottie Rich. “By having an AMA No. 1 plate up for grabs, 2017 is sure to see some of our best racing ever.”

Two rounds of the series will be co-sanctioned with the Grand National Cross Country series, an AMA National Championship, with two more rounds co-sanctioned with the AMA East Hare Scrambles Championship Series.

For more information about the series visit www.wnyoa.net or www.americanmotorcyclist.com.

  • April 30: Newfield, N.Y.: Dream Riders
  • May 14: Odessa, N.Y.: Seneca Highlands
  • May 21: Newark Valley, N.Y.: Valley Dirt Riders
  • May 28: Richford, N.Y.: Broome-Tioga
  • June 10-11: Odessa, N.Y.: Tomahawk GNCC (Co-sanctioned GNCC)
  • June 18: Colesville, N.Y.: Full Action Cycles (Co-sanctioned AMA East Hare Scrambles)
  • July 9: Newark Valley, N.Y.: Conover Racing
  • July 30: Homer, N.Y.: Knobby Acres
  • Aug. 6: Candor, N.Y.: Scooters
  • Aug. 20: Newark Valley, N.Y.: Victory Mountain Dirt Riders
  • Aug. 26-27: Speedsville, N.Y.: Cross County Customs (Co-sanctioned AMA East Hare Scrambles)
  • Sept. 9-10: New Berlin, N.Y.: Unadilla GNCC (Co-sanctioned GNCC)
  • Sept. 17: Moravia, N.Y.: Twisted Fence
  • Oct. 1: Harpursville, N.Y.: The Finale

About the American Motorcyclist Association

Founded in 1924, the AMA is a not-for-profit member-based association whose mission is to promote the motorcycle lifestyle and protect the future of motorcycling. As the world’s largest motorcycling rights and event sanctioning organization, the AMA advocates for riders’ interests at all levels of government and sanctions thousands of competition and recreational events every year. The AMA also provides money-saving discounts on products and services for its members. Through the AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame in Pickerington, Ohio, the AMA honors the heroes and heritage of motorcycling. For more information, visit www.americanmotorcyclist.com.

Not a member? Join the AMA today.

Source: American Motorcyclist Association