Drivers from Small Tire Redemption Series to Participate in Eight-Car Exhibition at 30th Annual NHRA Springnationals

BAYTOWN, TX – March 30, 2017 – (Motor Sports Newswire) –  NHRA officials announced today that drivers from Redemption, the popular Texas racing series, will participate in a special eight-car exhibition race on Friday, April 21 as part of the 30th annual NHRA SpringNationals at Royal Purple Raceway.

Eight of the fastest small tire cars will run in the special event that will take place during Friday’s SpringNationals qualifying. Drivers will get one time trial when qualifying begins at 8 a.m. on Friday, with the first round of eliminations slated for 1:30 p.m. The semifinals will take place before the first round of professional qualifying for NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series drivers, and the final round for the small tire standouts will take place before the second round of professional qualifying on Friday night.

The winner of the eight-car exhibition will also receive a special acrylic Wally produced by NHRA. Redemption is Texas’ original small tire series and features some of the fastest small tire cars and racing in the world.

The 30th annual NHRA SpringNationals is the fifth of 24 events during the 2017 NHRA season. The NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series unleashes its 10,000-horsepower nitro-burning machines during two qualifying rounds on Friday at 4:30 and 7 p.m. and the final two qualifying rounds on Saturday, April 22 at 1:30 and 4 p.m. Final eliminations are scheduled for 11 a.m. on Sunday, April 23.

To purchase event tickets for the NHRA SpringNationals, call (281)-383-7223 or visit Kids 13 and under are free with a paid adult spectator side ticket. To honor the Salute to First Responders, military and first responders can save 20 percent on spectator admission tickets at the gate. For more information about the NHRA visit For more information on Redemption visit

About National Hot Rod Association

Headquartered in Glendora, Calif., NHRA is the primary sanctioning body for the sport of drag racing in the United States. NHRA presents 24 national events featuring the NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series, NHRA Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series and NHRA J&A Service Pro Mod Drag Racing Series. NHRA provides competition opportunities for drivers of all levels in the NHRA Summit Racing Series and the NHRA Drags: Street Legal Style presented by AAA. NHRA also offers NHRA Jr. Street program for teens and the Summit Racing Jr. Drag Racing League for youth ages 5 to 17. In addition, NHRA owns and operates five racing facilities: Atlanta Dragway in Georgia; Gainesville Raceway in Florida; National Trail Raceway in Ohio; Lucas Oil Raceway at Indianapolis; and Auto Club Raceway at Pomona in Southern California. For more information, log on to, or visit the official NHRA pages on Facebook, YouTube and Twitter.

Source: National Hot Rod Association