Toyota Extends Sponsorship as Official Car of NHRA

GLENDORA, CA – March 27, 2017 – (Motor Sports Newswire) –  NHRA officials announced today that Toyota has extended its agreement to be the official car of NHRA.

“Toyota is such an integral part of the NHRA Mello Drag Racing Series at all levels,” said Brad Gerber, NHRA vice president of sales & chief development officer. “NHRA is very excited to have Toyota’s continued support going forward. We hope to further solidify and grow the already successful partnership NHRA has with Toyota.”

In addition to being the Official Car of NHRA, Toyota supports seven race teams including Antron Brown from Don Schumacher racing, Alexis DeJoria, Doug Kalitta, Troy Coughlin Jr. and J.R. Todd who race for Kalitta Motorsports, Cruz Pedregon of Cruz Pedregon Racing and Del Worsham who races for Worsham-Fink Racing.

Toyota-supported NHRA teams have won a total of 142 events. Last year, Brown won his second consecutive, third total Top Fuel world championship. Shawn Langdon won the Top Fuel crown in 2013, Del Worsham won in 2011, Larry Dixon in 2010 and Cruz Pedregon won the Funny Car championship in 2008.

“Just like our fans, we enjoy feeling the effect of 10,000 horsepower hurtling down the track,” said Paul Doleshal, Toyota national motorsports marketing and asset manager. “Extending our official partnership with NHRA allows us to be a part of a racing community that shares our passion for motorsports. Whether it’s experiencing our PitPass display in the midway, towing our Top Fuel and Funny Cars to the grid or the support Toyota Racing Development (TRD) provides to our teams, we value our partnership with the NHRA community.”

As the official car of NHRA, Toyota will have a season-long presence at NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series events and on television broadcasts. Toyota will receive trackside signage, jumbotron spots, and bannering rights. At selected events, Toyota will have an expanded presence as part of NHRA’s Nitro Alley, where fans experience a variety of interactive displays during the race weekend.

About National Hot Rod Association

Headquartered in Glendora, Calif., NHRA is the primary sanctioning body for the sport of drag racing in the United States. NHRA presents 24 national events featuring the NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series, NHRA Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series and NHRA J&A Service Pro Mod Drag Racing Series. NHRA provides competition opportunities for drivers of all levels in the NHRA Summit Racing Series and the NHRA Drags: Street Legal Style presented by AAA. NHRA also offers NHRA Jr. Street program for teens and the Summit Racing Jr. Drag Racing League for youth ages 5 to 17. In addition, NHRA owns and operates five racing facilities: Atlanta Dragway in Georgia; Gainesville Raceway in Florida; National Trail Raceway in Ohio; Lucas Oil Raceway at Indianapolis; and Auto Club Raceway at Pomona in Southern California. For more information, log on to, or visit the official NHRA pages on Facebook, YouTube and Twitter.

Source: National Hot Rod Association