J. Force, Schumacher, Line and Krawiec Lead Qualifying Friday at Amalie Motor Oil NHRA Gatornationals

GAINESVILLE, FL – March 17, 2017 – (Motor Sports Newswire) –  John Force raced to the Funny Car qualifying lead Friday evening at the 48th annual Amalie Motor Oil NHRA Gatornationals at Gainesville Raceway.

Tony Schumacher (Top Fuel), Jason Line (Pro Stock) and Eddie Krawiec (Pro Stock Motorcycle) are also provisional qualifying leaders at the third of 24 events on the 2017 NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series schedule.

Force, a sixteen-time world champion, ran a track elapsed time record of 3.832 seconds at 333.25 mph in his PEAK Chevy Camaro in the second qualifying session.

“It feels good. The old hot trod went down the race track well,” Force said. “We made a lot of changes recently. Robert Hight and I decided to switch teams. It all just made sense. My heart felt good and I knew it was good beacuse I started hearing the music and when you lose the music you’re dead and you don’t even know it. You gotta find the music. That’s the hardest thing to do and that makes everything right.”

Force’s teammate Robert Hight sits second with a 3.844 at 331.61 in his Auto Club Chevy Camaro, Matt Hagan, already a two-time winner this season, ran a 3.854 at 328.70 in his Mopar Express Lane Dodge Charger R/T for third and Force’s daughter, Courtney, is fourth with a 3.860 at a track speed record of 333.25 in the Advance Auto Parts Chevy Camaro.

Schumacher, a nine-time Top Fuel world champion, leads qualifying after his track elapsed time record run of 3.682 at 328.22 in the U.S. Army dragster during the second session.

“I think that was a good quality run,” Schumacher said. “It’ll stay in the top couple if nothing else. I’m proud of my team they did a great job to do what it took to get down the race track and at least for Friday night hold that No. 1 spot.”

Doug Kalitta and the Mac Tools dragster are second with a 3.698 run at 328.78 and defending and three-time world champion Antron Brown is third with a 3.716 at 325.22 in his Matco Tools dragster. Defending event winner, Brittany Force and the Monster Energy dragster sit in fourth.

Defending world champion Jason Line holds the Pro Stock top spot after running a 6.476 at 213.87 in his Summit Racing Equipment Chevy Camaro in the second session.

“The class as a whole has picked up a fair amount of power over the off-season,” Line said. “We’re certainly much faster than we were last year at this time. It felt like we could go that fast, maybe a little bit faster. Nonetheless, saying it is one thing but doing it is another so we did it. It was a good day.”

Line bumped teammate Bo Butner who ran a 6.477 at 213.60 in his Jim Butner’s Auto Chevy Camaro and now sits in second. Two-time world champ Erica Enders is in third with a 6.490 at 214.01 in her Elite Motorsports Chevy Camaro.

In Pro Stock Motorcycle, three-time world champion Eddie Krawiec currently sits in the No. 1 qualifier position with a 6.791 pass at 198.17 on his Screamin’ Eagle Vance & Hines Harley-Davidson.

“To come off the trailer and to set the pace like that it kind of sets your trend for the weekend,” Krawiec said. “We knew we had fast Harleys we just had to continue to work on the setup. Our main focus was come here, unload off the truck, get a solid run, get qualified, get in the show and then start working.”

Hector Arana Sr. sits in second position with a 6.813 pass at 197.02 on his Lucas Oil Buell and LE Tonglet on his Nitro Fish Racing Suzuki is in third. Defending world champion Jerry Savoie sits fifth.

Qualifying at the 48th annual Amalie Motor Oil NHRA Gatornationals continues at noon and 2:30 p.m. on Saturday at Gainesville Raceway.

GAINESVILLE, FL — Friday’s results after the first two of four rounds of qualifying for the 48th annual Amalie Motor Oil NHRA Gatornationals at Gainesville Raceway, third of 24 events in the NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series.  Qualifying will continue Saturday for Sunday’s final eliminations.

Top Fuel — 1. Tony Schumacher, 3.682 seconds, 328.22 mph; 2. Doug Kalitta, 3.698, 328.78; 3. Antron Brown, 3.716, 325.22; 4. Brittany Force, 3.719, 326.79; 5. Steve Torrence, 3.726, 327.51; 6. Troy Coughlin Jr., 3.747, 327.03; 7. Clay Millican, 3.765, 327.11; 8. Terry McMillen, 3.789, 321.50; 9. Scott Palmer, 3.841, 283.97; 10. Shawn Reed, 3.890, 303.03; 11. Pat Dakin, 4.405, 179.16; 12. Larry Dixon, 4.606, 163.18; 13. Leah Pritchett, 4.686, 142.09; 14. Ike Maier, 6.491, 185.95; 15. Chris Karamesines, 8.475, 86.79.

Funny Car — 1. John Force, Chevy Camaro, 3.832, 333.25; 2. Robert Hight, Camaro, 3.844, 331.77; 3. Matt Hagan, Dodge Charger, 3.854, 328.70; 4. Courtney Force, Camaro, 3.860, 333.25; 5. Tommy Johnson Jr., Charger, 3.865, 329.83; 6. Ron Capps, Charger, 3.865, 329.58; 7. J.R. Todd, Toyota Camry, 3.871, 332.51; 8. Jack Beckman, Charger, 3.883, 321.27; 9. Tim Wilkerson, Ford Mustang, 3.920, 309.06; 10. Jonnie Lindberg, Camry, 3.927, 325.37; 11. Alexis DeJoria, Camry, 3.963, 324.75; 12. Cruz Pedregon, Camry, 4.053, 313.88; 13. Jim Campbell, Charger, 4.152, 295.72; 14. Dave Richards, Mustang, 4.152, 255.10; 15. Del Worsham, Camry, 4.544, 191.57; 16. Bob Tasca III, Mustang, 12.657, 75.79.

Pro Stock — 1. Jason Line, Chevy Camaro, 6.476, 213.87; 2. Bo Butner, Camaro, 6.477, 214.28; 3. Erica Enders, Camaro, 6.490, 214.01; 4. Jeg Coughlin, Camaro, 6.491, 214.31; 5. Greg Anderson, Camaro, 6.491, 214.59; 6. Shane Gray, Camaro, 6.493, 214.11; 7. Chris McGaha, Camaro, 6.517, 212.96; 8. Drew Skillman, Camaro, 6.526, 213.20; 9. Tanner Gray, Camaro, 6.531, 213.37; 10. Kenny Delco, Camaro, 6.562, 211.56; 11. Matt Hartford, Camaro, 6.584, 211.59; 12. Alan Prusiensky, Dodge Dart, 6.609, 211.03; 13. Allen Johnson, Dart, 9.838, 93.04; 14. Vincent Nobile, Camaro, 18.742, 42.69; 15. John Gaydosh Jr, Chevrolet Camaro, broke.

Pro Stock Motorcycle — 1. Eddie Krawiec, Harley-Davidson, 6.791, 198.17; 2. Hector Arana, Buell, 6.813, 197.02; 3. LE Tonglet, Suzuki, 6.819, 196.59; 4. Hector Arana Jr, Buell, 6.828, 195.42; 5. Jerry Savoie, Suzuki, 6.830, 197.65; 6. Andrew Hines, Harley-Davidson, 6.855, 196.96; 7. Angie Smith, Buell, 6.868, 194.74; 8. Scotty Pollacheck, Suzuki, 6.890, 189.71; 9. Matt Smith, Victory, 6.911, 191.19; 10. Cory Reed, Victory, 6.921, 190.51; 11. Shawn Gann, Buell, 6.941, 191.21; 12. Joey Gladstone, Suzuki, 6.950, 195.56; 13. Karen Stoffer, Suzuki, 7.001, 189.52; 14. David Hope, Buell, 7.003, 188.57; 15. Steve Johnson, Suzuki, 7.015, 192.96; 16. Chip Ellis, Buell, 7.020, 187.94.  Not Qualified: 17. Scott Bottorff, 7.072, 189.68; 18. Mike Berry, 7.168, 168.66; 19. Melissa Surber, 7.178, 188.89; 20. James Surber, 7.307, 179.83; 21. Andie Rawlings, 8.273, 135.65; 22. John Hall, 8.496, 115.11; 23. Angelle Sampey, 9.619, 79.61; 24. Brian Pretzel, broke.

About National Hot Rod Association

Headquartered in Glendora, Calif., NHRA is the primary sanctioning body for the sport of drag racing in the United States. NHRA presents 24 national events featuring the NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series, NHRA Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series and NHRA J&A Service Pro Mod Drag Racing Series. NHRA provides competition opportunities for drivers of all levels in the NHRA Summit Racing Series and the NHRA Drags: Street Legal Style presented by AAA. NHRA also offers NHRA Jr. Street program for teens and the Summit Racing Jr. Drag Racing League for youth ages 5 to 17. In addition, NHRA owns and operates five racing facilities: Atlanta Dragway in Georgia; Gainesville Raceway in Florida; National Trail Raceway in Ohio; Lucas Oil Raceway at Indianapolis; and Auto Club Raceway at Pomona in Southern California. For more information, log on to NHRA.com, or visit the official NHRA pages on Facebook, YouTube and Twitter.

Source: National Hot Rod Association