Top Fuel Harley to Compete at Select NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series Events in 2017


GLENDORA, CA – January 26, 2017 – (Motor Sports Newswire) –  NHRA officials announced today that the popular Top Fuel Harley motorcycle category will compete at eight events on the 2017 NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series schedule. The first race of the season will take place at the season opening Circle K NHRA Winternationals at Auto Club Raceway at Pomona in Pomona, Calif. Feb. 9-12.

The series will also race at the NHRA Arizona Nationals, the Denso Spark Plugs NHRA Nationals, NHRA SpringNationals, Menards NHRA Heartland Nationals presented by Minties, NHRA New England Nationals, NHRA Thunder Valley Nationals, and the NHRA Northwest Nationals.

“The nitro powered Top Fuel Harley category is wildly popular with fans of two-wheel racing action,” said Josh Peterson, vice president of racing-administration. “These machines travel down the track at amazing speeds and are incredible to witness. They will be a welcome addition to the racing weekend.”


Feb 9 – 12 Circle K NHRA Winternationals Pomona, CA
Feb 24 – 26 NHRA Arizona Nationals Phoenix, AZ
Mar 31 – Apr 2 Denso Spark Plugs NHRA Nationals Las Vegas, NV
Apr 21 – 23 NHRA SpringNationals Houston, TX
May 19 – 21 NHRA Menards NHRA Heartland Nationals Topeka, KS
Jun 2 – 4 NHRA New England Nationals Epping, NH
Jun 16 – 18 NHRA Thunder Valley Nationals Bristol, TN
Aug 4 – 6 NHRA Northwest Nationals Seattle, WA

About National Hot Rod Association

Headquartered in Glendora, Calif., NHRA is the primary sanctioning body for the sport of drag racing in the United States. NHRA presents 24 national events featuring the NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series, NHRA Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series and NHRA J&A Service Pro Mod Drag Racing Series. NHRA provides competition opportunities for drivers of all levels in the NHRA Summit Racing Series and the NHRA Drags: Street Legal Style presented by AAA. NHRA also offers NHRA Jr. Street program for teens and the Summit Racing Jr. Drag Racing League for youth ages 5 to 17. In addition, NHRA owns and operates five racing facilities: Atlanta Dragway in Georgia; Gainesville Raceway in Florida; National Trail Raceway in Ohio; Lucas Oil Raceway at Indianapolis; and Auto Club Raceway at Pomona in Southern California. For more information, log on to, or visit the official NHRA pages on Facebook, YouTube and Twitter.

Source: National Hot Rod Association