AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame welcomes American Honda as a platinum sponsor of 2016 induction ceremony

Ceremony on Oct. 13 in Orlando to induct eight Hall of Famers

PICKERINGTON, OH – October 5, 2016 – (Motor Sports Newswire) –  The American Motorcyclist Association is pleased to welcome American Honda’s support for the AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame’s 2016 induction ceremony, which will be held Thursday, Oct. 13, during the American International Motorcycle Expo at the Orange County Convention Center in Orlando, Fla.A

“Numerous AMA Motorcycle Hall of Famers, from engine tuners to ambassadors to champions, made their marks with Honda motorcycles,” said AMA Chief Operations Officer Jeff Massey. “The Class of 2016 expands those ranks even more, perhaps most notably with the induction of multi-time AMA road racing champion Miguel Duhamel, one of the greatest motorcycle racers to ever compete in AMA Superbike.”

Reservations for the induction ceremony can be made now at Tickets to the ceremony, which includes a formal sit-down dinner, are $130 per person. AMA Life Members pay $120, and AMA Motorcycle Hall of Famers can attend for no charge.

“Honda has supported the induction ceremony since its move to the American International Motorcycle Expo, so it’s particularly gratifying for us to welcome such an important member of the Honda family into the Class of 2016,” said American Honda Manager of Motorcycle Marketing Communications Lee Edmunds. “During his time racing with American Honda, Miguel collected seven AMA crowns and five Daytona 200 victories, all while admirably representing the brand off the bike as well. We can’t imagine a more deserving recipient of this award.”

The Class of 2016 includes eight new members of the Hall of Fame. In addition to Duhamel, they are motorcycle designer and engineer Charles Franklin, racer and tuner Chris Haines, engine builder Dennis Mahan, race frame builder Jeff Cole, desert racer Jack Johnson, motorcycling pioneer Gloria Tramontin-Struck and dirt track racer Ronnie Jones.

In addition, Dick Burleson will be recognized as an AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame Legend. Selected from existing Hall of Famers, Legends’ accomplishments transcend their categories in impactful ways. In addition to Burleson, AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame Legends include Mark Blackwell, “Willie G.” Davidson, Roger DeCoster, Torsten Hallman, Bob Hannah, Mert Lawwill, Wayne Rainey, Kenny Roberts and Malcolm Smith.

For the third consecutive year, the induction ceremony is held in conjunction with the American International Motorcycle Expo, an event that brings together consumers, dealers, manufacturers and the world press in one location for global product launches, demo rides, motorcycling seminars and more.

The AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame is funded through efforts of the American Motorcycle Heritage Foundation, a 501(c)(3) organization. Sponsoring the event supports the inductees, honors their achievements, recognizes the influence of their accomplishments and celebrates motorcycling’s history in America. Contact Steve Gotoski at (951) 491-1910 or to learn about sponsorship opportunities.

About the American Motorcyclist Association

Founded in 1924, the AMA is a not-for-profit member-based association whose mission is to promote the motorcycle lifestyle and protect the future of motorcycling. As the world’s largest motorcycling rights and event sanctioning organization, the AMA advocates for riders’ interests at all levels of government and sanctions thousands of competition and recreational events every year. The AMA also provides money-saving discounts on products and services for its members. Through the AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame in Pickerington, Ohio, the AMA honors the heroes and heritage of motorcycling. For more information, visit

Not a member? Join the AMA today.

Source: American Motorcyclist Association