Twenty-three national championships awarded at 2016 AMA Hillclimb Grand Championship

Nathan Prebe captures 2016 AMA Hillclimb Racer of the Year

PICKERINGTON, OH – August 3, 2016 – (Motor Sports Newswire) –  More than 300 amateur hillclimb entrants lined up at the 2016 AMA Hillclimb Grand Championship, hosted by the Pleasure Riders Motorcycle Club the weekend of July 29-31 at the Thunder Ridge facility in Neoga, Ill.

Eighteen-year-old Nathan Prebe of Frontenac, Minn., captured three AMA National Championships and took home the coveted AMA Hillclimb Racer of the Year Award for 2016.

160803 Nathan Prebe, 2016 AMA Hillclimb Racer of the Year

Nathan Prebe, 2016 AMA Hillclimb Racer of the Year
photo: Jen Muecke

Prebe won the 250cc, 450cc and Four-Stroke national championships. He also captured the King of the Hill Award — a one-run competition among the 10 fastest riders of the weekend at the end of the program on Sunday.

“Hillclimb racers from all corners made their way to Illinois to prove that they were the fastest and most tenacious racer in their class,” said AMA Track Racing Manager Ken Saillant. “Nathan dominated the competition this year, and the AMA congratulates him on earning the highly sought-after AMA Hillclimb Racer of the Year Award.”

160803 Lane Brookshaw, 2016 AMA Youth Hillclimb Racer of the Year

Lane Brookshaw, 2016 AMA Youth Hillclimb Racer of the Year
photo: Jen Muecke

Lane Brookshaw, 8, of Ellsworth, Wis., secured the 2016 AMA Youth Hillclimb Racer of the Year Award thanks to his performance over the weekend. He took home AMA National Championships in the Micro Mini and 65cc classes.

“It means a lot to me,” said Brookshaw who’s been racing for four years. “It was a surprise.”

He hopes to continue working on his points for AMA Districts 16 and 23.

Senior class champion Junior Jackson, 44, of Bettendorf, Iowa, clinched the AMA Vet/Senior Hillclimb Racer of the Year Award.

Jackson said he has been building engines for hillclimb competition for several years and doing suspension work, but just started racing himself in 2012.

160803 Junior Jackson, 2016 AMA Vet_Senior Hillclimb Racer of the Year

Junior Jackson, 2016 AMA Vet/Senior Hillclimb Racer of the Year
photo: Jen Muecke

“I guess when I was a kid and won amateur titles at Loretta’s in motocross [at the AMA Amateur National Motocross Championship], I didn’t think I’d win another title at 44,” Jackson said. “It’s neat to be able to win one at this age, and you probably appreciate it a little bit more. I’m looking forward to doing more hillclimbs.”

Other AMA National Champions from the event include:

  • Mini Junior: Clive Brookshaw
  • Mini Senior: Bodee O’Neil
  • Mini Girls: Lilah McGurer
  • Super Mini: Bodee O’Neil
  • 125cc: Gage Stear
  • 200cc: Luke Cipala
  • 600cc: Jacob Prebe
  • 750cc: Travis Schroedl
  • Open: Joel Falde
  • Super Senior: Michael Pulver
  • Women: Samantha Jerls
  • 400 Stock: Jacob Prebe
  • Open Stock: Joseph McGurer
  • Two-Stroke: Levi Peters
  • ATV 450: Zach Diercks
  • ATV Open: Brandon Novak
  • ATV Senior: Joel Diercks

For more information about this event, visit and

About the American Motorcyclist Association

Founded in 1924, the AMA is a not-for-profit member-based association whose mission is to promote the motorcycle lifestyle and protect the future of motorcycling. As the world’s largest motorcycling rights and event sanctioning organization, the AMA advocates for riders’ interests at all levels of government and sanctions thousands of competition and recreational events every year. The AMA also provides money-saving discounts on products and services for its members. Through the AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame in Pickerington, Ohio, the AMA honors the heroes and heritage of motorcycling. For more information, visit

Not a member? Join the AMA today.

Source: American Motorcyclist Association