NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series Event Agreement Extended with Houston’s Royal Purple Raceway

GLENDORA, CA – July 25, 2016 – (Motor Sports Newswire) –  Officials from the NHRA and Royal Purple Raceway near Houston announced today that they have reached a multi-year contract extension for the NHRA SpringNationals.

In the agreement, the track will continue to host NHRA national events well into the future.

The 30th annual NHRA SpringNationals, round five of the 2017 NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series, will be held April 21-23 at the popular dragstrip located in Baytown, Texas.

“We’re proud to have the opportunity to continue to provide the loyal fans of the Southeast Texas region and greater Houston area with exciting side-by-side competition for many years to come,” said Peter Clifford, NHRA president. “We are confident Royal Purple Raceway will continue to build upon its great legacy as one of the world’s fastest dragstrips.”

The fan-friendly Houston track has been the home to numerous record-setting performances over the years due to its sea level altitude and excellent racing surface.

“As we enter into our 30th anniversary of hosting NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series action we are excited to extend our partnership with NHRA,” said Seth Angel, vice president and general manager of Royal Purple Raceway. “We are thrilled to be able to continue to showcase the awesome 330 mile per hour power of Top Fuel dragsters and Funny Cars to the great motorsports fans in Houston and Southeast Texas.”

About National Hot Rod Association

Headquartered in Glendora, Calif., NHRA is the primary sanctioning body for the sport of drag racing in the United States. NHRA presents 23 national events featuring the NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series, NHRA Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series and NHRA J&A Service Pro Mod Drag Racing Series. NHRA provides competition opportunities for drivers of all levels in the NHRA Summit Racing Series and the NHRA Drags: Street Legal Style presented by AAA. NHRA also offers NHRA Jr. Street for teens and the Summit Racing Jr. Drag Racing League for youth ages 5 to 17. In addition, NHRA owns and operates five racing facilities: Atlanta Dragway in Georgia; Auto-Plus Raceway at Gainesville in Florida; National Trail Raceway in Ohio; Lucas Oil Raceway at Indianapolis; and Auto Club Raceway at Pomona in Southern California. For more information, log on to NHRA.com, or visit the official NHRA pages on Facebook, YouTube and Twitter.

Source: National Hot Rod Association