This Week Ahead: Fuller Leads the Way

Four Teams – Three Races – Fifteen Points

WEEDSPORT, NY – July 3, 2016 – (Motor Sports Newswire) – The Super DIRTcar Series Big-Block Modifieds continue to roll into the busy month of July as the series tackles three races in the upcoming week.

Today, Sunday, July 3, the big blocks roll into Utica-Rome Speedway and then head east to take on Albany-Saratoga Speedway on Wednesday, July 6 for the previously rescheduled Brett Hearn’s ‘The Big Show 8’ before heading north to take on Mohawk Raceway on Thursday, July 7.

The still-young 2016 series has witnessed a hard fought battle as all four of the series full-points races have yet to have a repeat winner.

Tight Points Rivalry

Heading into the three-day race week there are four teams that are within fifteen points of each other battling for the top spot. The current point leader, Tim Fuller, who has one Super DIRTcar Series win under his belt, heads to Utica-Rome with a seven-point lead over Matt Sheppard, eleven over Stewart Friesen, and fifteen over Billy Decker.

Fuller and Friesen have yet to win a series race at Utica-Rome, Albany-Saratoga, and Mohawk Raceway. Sheppard has three series wins at Mohawk Raceway, his last win there was in 2014. Decker has two series wins at Utica-Rome, one of which was in 2015, one at Albany-Saratoga, and one at Mohawk Raceway, which was in 2015.

Utica-Rome, Albany-Saratoga, and Mohawk International Raceway

The Super DIRTcar Series will be taking on three tracks in the next five days.

Utica-Rome is the first track on the list for this upcoming week. Billy Decker picked up the win at the track in 2015. Decker currently sits fourth in the championship standings and has one series win on the year.

After Utica-Rome the series will be traveling to Albany-Saratoga for the postponed Brett Hearn’s Big Show 8 with Kenny Wallace on Wednesday. The eighth annual event makes its fifth appearance at Albany-Saratoga.

Then, on Thursday, Mohawk International Raceway will be the last stop of the week for the Super DIRTcar Series. Sheppard and Jimmy Phelps are both tied with three series wins at Mohawk. It was Billy Decker who took the checkered flag first there in 2015.

Coming Up Next

The season is now in full swing with a very busy July ahead. After this upcoming week the series will be at Five Mile Point and Grandview Speedway. The series then heads to Eldora Speedway to join the NASCAR truck series.

For more race information on the Super DIRTcar Series, visit


UTICA-ROME SPEEDWAY is a ½ mile, semi banked, clay oval. For more information and to learn how to purchase tickets, visit

ALBANY-SARATOGA SPEEDWAY is a 4/10 mile semi-banked clay oval. For more information and to learn how to purchase tickets, visit

MOHWAK INTERANTIONAL RACEWAY is a 3/8 mile dirt oval track. For more information and to learn how to purchase tickets, visit


The following Super DIRTcar Series drivers maintain websites:

Frank Cozze:
Keith Flach:
Brett Hearn:
Mike Mahaney:
Max McLaughlin:
Jimmy Phelps:
Erick Rudolph:
Matt Sheppard:

For more driver information, visit:

SEASON WINNERS: Billy Decker – 1 (Fulton Speedway on April 30); Matt Sheppard – 1 (Williams Grove Speedway on June 22); Stewart Friesen – 1 (Cornwall Motorsports Park on June 26); Tim Fuller – 1 (Canandaigua Speedway on June 30)

LIVE ONLINE UPDATES: Tune in to listen live for FREE to all the action at Utica-Rome, Albany-Saratoga and Mohawk International on the Radio Network.

GET SOCIAL: Follow the Super DIRTcar Series on Twitter and like it on Facebook. Check out the latest videos on YouTube. The official hashtag is #BigBlock.

2016 Super DIRTcar Championship Standings



There have been 4 Super DIRTcar Series features this season.

Winners (4 Drivers)
Rank Driver, Hometown – Wins

1. – BILLY DECKER, Watertown, N.Y. – 1
– MATT SHEPPARD, Waterloo, N.Y. – 1
– STEWART FRIESEN, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ont. – 1
– TIM FULLER, Watertown, N.Y. – 1

Pole Positions (3 Drivers)
Rank Driver, Hometown – Poles

1. – TIM FULLER, Watertown, N.Y. – 2
2. – MAX MCLAUGHLIN, Concord, N.C. – 1
– GARY TOMKINS, Clifton Springs, N.Y. – 1

Time Trial leaders (4 Drivers)
Rank Driver, Hometown – Quick Times

1. – BRETT HEARN, Sussex, N.J. – 1
– TOM SEARS, JR., Clay, N.Y. – 1
– LARRY WIGHT, Phoenix, N.Y. – 1
– MATT SHEPPARD, Waterloo, N.Y. – 1

Podium Finishes (7 Different Drivers)
Rank Driver, Hometown – Finishes in the Top-Three

1. – TIM FULLER, Watertown, N.Y. – 3
– MATT SHEPPARD, Waterloo, N.Y. – 3
3. – BILLY DECKER, Waterloo, N.Y. – 2
4. – DAVE BLANEY, Hartford, Ohio – 1
– JIMMY PHELPS, Baldwinsville, N.Y.- 1
– STEWART FRIESEN, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ont. – 1
– DANNY JOHNSON, Phelps, N.Y. – 1

Heat Race Winners (13 Different Drivers)
Rank Driver, Hometown – Win

1. – MATT SHEPPARD, Waterlook, N.Y. – 3
– LARRY WIGHT, Phoenix, N.Y. – 3
3 – BRETT HEARN, Sussex, N.J. – 2
4 – FRANK COZZE, Wind Gap, Pa. – 1
– STEWART FRIESEN, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ont. – 1
– TIM FULLER, Watertown, N.Y. – 1
– JIMMY PHELPS, Baldwinsville, N.Y. – 1
– TOM SEARS JR., Clay, N.Y. – 1
– MAX MCLAUGHLIN, Concord, N.C. – 1
– CHRIS RAABE, Napanee, Ont. -1
– PETER BRITTEN, Brisbane, Australia – 1
– DANNY JOHNSON, Phelps, N.Y. – 1
– PAT WARD, Genoa, N.Y. -1

Last Chance Showdown Winners (7 Different Drivers)
Rank Driver, Hometown – Wins

1. – ROB BELLINGER, Cicero, N.Y. – 1
– JUSTIN HAERS, Phelps, N.Y.- 1
– DUANE HOWARD, Oley, Pa. – 1
– BRIAN MCDONALD, Cornwall, Ont. – 1
– PAT WARD, Genoa, N.Y – 1
– CHRIS HILE, Syracuse, N.Y. – 1
– ALAN JOHNSON, Middlesex, N.Y. -1

2016 Super DIRTcar Series Schedule & Winners
No. / Day, Date / Track / Location / Winner (Number of Wins in 2016)

1. Saturday, April 30 / Fulton Speedway / Fulton, N.Y. / Billy Decker (1)
2. Wednesday, June 22/ Williams Grove Speedway/ Mechanicsburg, Pa./ Matt Sheppard (1)
3. Sunday, June 26 / Cornwall Speedway / Ontario, Canada / Stewart Friesen (1)
4. Thursday, Jun 30 / Canandaigua Speedway / Canandaigua, NY / Tim Fuller (1)

The Super DIRTcar Series and DIRTcar Racing in the Northeast is brought to fans by many important sponsors and partners, including: Hoosier Racing Tire (Official Tire), VP Racing Fuels (Official Racing Fuel), Chevy Performance Parts and NAPA Auto Parts; in addition to contingency sponsors, including: ASI Race Wear, Bicknell Racing Products, Bilstein Shocks, Cometic Gasket, Comp Cams, Edelbrock, Fox Shocks, Henry’s Exhaust Systems, Intercomp, JE Pistons, JRI Shocks, KSE Racing Products, Mike’s Racing Heads, Motorsports Safety Systems, MSD, Pole Position Raceway, Superflow Dynos and Wrisco Aluminum; along with manufacturer sponsors, including: Beyea Headers, Racing Electronics and TNT Rescue.

super_dirtcar series logo