Barcia and Bloss Capture Season-Best Finishes for Pirelli at RedBud

BUCHANAN, MI – July 3, 2016 – (Motor Sports Newswire) –  Today, the sixth round of the 2016 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship kicked off at the historic RedBud Motocross Park as race fans lined the fences in celebration of Fourth of July weekend. Spectators and racers were treated to below normal temperatures that helped keep moisture in the track throughout the afternoon.  Pirelli riders favored the SCOPRION™ MX32™ soft to mid terrain front and rear tires as their weapon of choice.


Leading the way for Pirelli riders was none other than 2015 450MX Class RedBud race-winner Justin Barcia aboard his Autotrader/Monster Energy/Yamaha. As the gate dropped for Moto 1, the No.51 found himself fighting for the number one position as the 40-rider field rounded the first corner and he eventually crossed the opening lap in second. “Bam Bam” battled for the runner-up position during the early stages of the race and eventually moved into third on Lap 7. He would earn his first moto podium of the season with a hard-fought third. A start just inside of the top-10 in Moto 2 cost him valuable time, but he charged to a strong fourth place en route to a season-best fourth overall (3-4).


When racing at the pinnacle of the sport, comfort can play a critical role in the outcome of a racers performance and rookie sensation Benny Bloss proved just that. The young rider from Missouri circulated the opening lap of Moto 1 just inside of the top-20, but that would not last long as he made quick work and finished an impressive 11th. Moto 2 once again saw the BTO Sports/WPS/KTM rider get off to a mid-pack star and ride like a seasoned pro as he sliced his way through traffic. He would cross the checkered flag in 10th, giving him a career-best 10th overall (11-10).


Finishing just behind Bloss, BTO Sports teammate Andrew Short carried the momentum he has been building each race as the gate dropped in RedBud. “Shorty” started just outside of the top-10 in Moto 1 before using his veteran experience to claw his way into ninth at the finish. He charged to 12th in Moto 2, which gave him 11th overall (9-12). Despite bad starts in both 450MX races, Justin Brayton charged the entire 30-minutes plus two laps and finished 12th overall (12-13).

After an inspiring ride just one week ago at Muddy Creek Raceway in Tennessee, Weston Peick was forced to retire early from 450MX Moto 1 while running inside of the top-10. He rebounded in the second moto to claim 11th for 15th overall (33-11). JGRMX teammate Phil Nicoletti spent most of Moto 1 fighting for position near the top five, but like Peick, he suffered from misfortune and dropped out of the race. The New Yorker finished 15th in Moto 2, placing him 18th overall (32-15).


The Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship will return to action next weekend on Saturday, July 9 for the seventh round at the sand box in Southwick, Massachusetts for the first time since 2013.

450MX Class Results

1.     Ken Roczen, Germany, Suzuki (1-1)
2.     Eli Tomac, Cortez, Colo., Kawasaki (2-2)
3.     Broc Tickle, Holly, Mich., Suzuki (4-3)
4.     Justin Barcia, Madison, Fla., Yamaha (3-4)
5.     Marvin Musquin, France, KTM (5-6)
6.     Blake Baggett, Grand Terrace, Calif., Suzuki (7-5)
7.      Christophe Pourcel, Dade City, Fla., Husqvarna (6-7)
8.     Matt Bisceglia, Tualatin, Ore., Suzuki (8-8)
9.     Justin Bogle, Cushing, Okla., Honda (10-9)
10.  Benny Bloss, Oak Grove, MO., KTM (11-10)
– – – –
11. Andrew Short, Colorado Springs, Colo., KTM (9-12)
12. Justin Brayton, Fort Dodge, IA., KTM (12-13)
15. Weston Peick, Menifee, Calif., Yamaha (33-11)
18. Phil Nicoletti, Cohocton, NY., Yamaha (32-15)

450MX Class Championship Standings

1.     Ken Roczen, Germany, Suzuki – 293
2.     Eli Tomac, Cortez, Colo., Kawasaki – 240
3.     Marvin Musquin, France, KTM – 167
4.     Cole Seely, Newbury Park, Calif., Honda – 151
5.     Broc Tickle, Holly, Mich., Suzuki – 147
6.     Justin Barcia, Madison, Fla., Yamaha – 146
7.     Christophe Pourcel, Dade City, Fla., Husqvarna – 136
8.     Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., KTM – 131
9.     Justin Bogle, Cushing, Okla., Honda – 118
10.  Jason Anderson, Rio Rancho, N.M., Husqvarna – 113