Bobby Pierce Battles Jason Feger for Father's Day Win at Wilmot

Returns to victory lane as series hits first break

WILMOT, WI – June 20, 2016 – (Motor Sports Newswire) –  Bobby Pierce battled Jason Feger Sunday night at Wilmot Speedway to claim his second DIRTcar Summer Nationals win of the season and the Northern Kickoff payoff.

Pierce saluted his father, late model veteran and chassis builder, Bob Pierce, in victory lane during the special Father’s Day win.

160620 Pierce Wilmot DIRTcar Summer Nationals

“He probably works harder than any person in the pit area so it’s really cool to get it for him,” Pierce said. “Was giving me the sticks the whole race too and they were pretty close most of the time so it was pretty nerve-wracking.

Jason Feger started the feature on the pole and paced the field through the opening laps. As he began working his way through traffic, Pierce, the 19-year-old reigning Summer Nationals champion, who started the feature in third, found his opening. Using the high side of the track, Pierce used a narrow gap to battle around Feger.

Pierce held off Feger through the remaining laps as Mike Marlar scored another top-three finish.

The win gave Pierce an extra $2,500 payoff for winning the Northern Kickoff, the first of a new series of regional battles within the Summer Nationals tour.

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals returns to action on Tuesday at Jacksonville Speedway as it kicks off the Heartland Tour.

Follow the Summer Nationals and Summit Modified Nationals on Twitter or on Facebook. Stay up-to-date with the latest news from the series throughout the lead up and the summer on the series’ websites at and

DIRTcar Summer Nationals Statistical Report; Wilmot Speedway, Wilmot, Wis.

1. Bobby Pierce (Oakwood, IL) ($5,000), 2. Jason Feger (Bloomington, IL), 3. Mike Marlar (Winfield, TN), 4. Timothy Culp (Sheridan, AR), 5. Bob Gardner (East Peoria, IL), 6. Gordy Gundaker (St Charles, MO), 7. Rodney Melvin (Benton, IL), 8. Chris Carlson (Union Grounds, WI), 9. Don Hammer (Clinton, IL), 10. Taylor Scheffler (Waukesha, WI), 11. Eric Spangler (Lake City, MI), 12. Brent Larson (Lake Elmo, MN), 13. Turke Letizia (Milwaukee, WI), 14. James Letizia (Milwaukee, Wi), 15. Bill Rezutek (Big Bend, WI), 16. Matt Fabrizius (Genoa, IL), 17. Charlie Olson (Kingston, IL), 18. Mike Spatola (Manhattan, IL), 19. Jeff Hartzell (Genoa, IL), 20. Reno Markham (Kingston, IL), 21. Lyle Zanker (Rockford, IL), 22. TJ Markham (Sycamore, IL), 23. Paul Parker (Depere, WI).

2016 DIRTcar Summer Nationals Schedule


The DIRTcar Summer Nationals “Hell Tour” is brought to fans across the country by many important partners including: Arizona Sport Shirts (Official Apparel Company), Hoosier Racing Tires (Official Racing Tires), Racing Electronics (Official Communication), VP Racing Fuel (Official Racing Fuel); in addition to these fine Contingency Partners: Beyea Headers, Comp Cams, Edelbrock, Fox Shocks, JE Pistons, MSD, Impact Race Products, Quartermaster, Superflow Dynos, Summit Racing Equipment and Wrisco Aluminum; Promotional Partners include: Chevy Performance Parts, Indiana Decal, Intercomp and Petroff Towing.