34th Annual Ohio Sprint Speedweek presented by Cometic Gasket Ignites June 17 at Attica

$3,000 point fund will add hype to All Star tradition

INDIANAPOLIS, IN – June 8, 2016 – (Motor Sports Newswire) –  In less than ten days, the Arctic Cat All Star Circuit of Champions will begin an annual tradition that transforms the state of Ohio into an open wheel Mecca. Joined by many of the country’s top-talented sprint car teams, the Arctic Cat All Star Circuit of Champions will crisscross the Buckeye State for nine days, entering eight events at eight different dirt ovals, all chasing the chance to be the week’s top performer and be crowned overall champion. The 34th edition of Ohio Sprint Speedweek presented by Cometic Gasket will ignite June 17.


For a second straight year, Cometic Gasket will join the Arctic Cat All Star Circuit of Champions organization as the presenting sponsor of Ohio Sprint Speedweek. Their support and dedication has allowed Ohio Sprint Speedweek to flourish, fueling the experience for not only the drivers and race teams, but also the fans.

“Ohio Sprint Speedweek presented by Cometic Gasket is an incredible showcase of some of the best Sprint Car Racing the country has to offer,” said Bob Gorman, Founder and CEO of Cometic Gasket. “Cometic has deep roots in the automotive performance industry and 410 winged sprint cars have always been an important part of our business. As an Ohio company with a proud racing heritage, Cometic is thrilled to sponsor Ohio Sprint Speedweek for the second year in a row and support the drivers, teams and officials who work so hard to put on great show for race fans all over Ohio.”

Ohio Sprint Speedweek presented by Cometic Gasket will come to life on Friday night, June 17, at Attica Raceway Park in Attica. The Attica visit will be the third of the season by the Arctic Cat All Star Circuit of Champions, as well as the first of three straight Ohio Sprint Speedweek programs in the northwest sector of Ohio. Action will continue on Saturday night, June 18, at Waynesfield Raceway Park in Waynesfield, followed by a Sunday night visit to the Millstream Speedway in Findlay on June 19.

Wayne County Speedway in Orrville will host the fourth round of Ohio Sprint Speedweek on Monday evening, June 20. Like Attica Raceway Park, the Orrville visit will be the third of the season by the Arctic Cat All Star Circuit of Champions, kicking-off a pair of Ohio Sprint Speedweek programs on the eastern edge of the Buckeye State. Sharon Speedway in Hartford will host their share of Ohio Sprint Speedweek on Tuesday night, June 21.

Atomic Speedway in Chillicothe will welcome Ohio Sprint Speedweek competitors on Wednesday evening, June 22. The visit to southern Ohio will be followed by an off date on Thursday, June 23. If needed, the off date will be used as a “rain date” for any of the Ohio Sprint Speedweek events cancelled earlier in the week.

Arctic Cat All Star Circuit of Champions competitors will experience complete opposites during their last two days of the Ohio Sprint Speedweek campaign. The high-banked quarter-mile at Limaland Motorsports Park in Lima will host competition on Friday night, June 24, followed by the $10,000-to-win, Ohio Sprint Speedweek finale on Saturday, June 25, on the legendary half-mile at Eldora Speedway in Rossburg. If needed, Sunday, June 26, will be used as a rain date for the Eldora Speedway finale.

In addition, a $3,000 point fund will be awarded at the conclusion of Ohio Sprint Speedweek presented by Cometic Gasket, spread amongst the top-ten finishers in Ohio Sprint Speedweek points.

“This is the week we’ve all been waiting for,” explained Tony Stewart, owner of the Arctic Cat All Star Circuit of Champions. “This is perhaps the most exciting tradition in all of sprint car racing. It’s a grueling week comprised of intense travel and fierce competition that our racers live for each and every June. We are all very excited to get started.”

Ohio Sprint Speedweek Previous Champions:

2015 – Greg Wilson
2014 – Dale Blaney
2013 – Tim Shaffer
2012 – Stevie Smith
2011 – Tim Shaffer
2010 – David Gravel
2009 – Stevie Smith
2008 – Randy Hannagan
2007 – Shane Stewart
2006 – Dale Blaney
2005 – Kelly Kinser
2004 – Dale Blaney
2003 – Dale Blaney
2002 – Chad Kemenah
2001 – Dean Jacobs
2000 – Kenny Jacobs
1999 – Joey Saldana
1998 – Frankie Kerr
1997 – Joey Saldana
1996 – Frankie Kerr
1995 – Dale Blaney
1994 – Frankie Kerr
1993 – Frankie Kerr
1992 – Kevin Huntley
1991 – Sammy Swindell
1990 – Sammy Swindell
1989 – Dave Blaney
1988 – Jimmy Sills
1987 – Keith Kauffman
1986 – Bobby Allen
1985 – Jack Hewitt
1984 – Steve Kinser
1983 – Bobby Davis, Jr.

About Cometic Gasket

Cometic Gasket, Inc., is a leading worldwide supplier of gaskets and engine sealing solutions for the Automotive Performance, Powersports, Original Equipment and Remanufactured Engine Industries.  Housed in a 70,000 square-foot, state-of-the-art R&D and manufacturing center in Concord Township, Ohio, Cometic Gasket has maintained its deep roots in the powersports industry while expanding to service the Domestic Automotive, Sport Compact, V-twin, Marine, Diesel, Agricultural, Industrial and Stationary Power markets. Today, Cometic Gasket offers over 85,000 SKUs, shipping gaskets and engine sealing solutions across the globe.

Additional Arctic Cat All Star Series Info

Those seeking additional information regarding the Arctic Cat All Star Circuit of Champions should visit their official online home at www.allstarsprint.com. Series updates and breaking news will be posted regularly on the official Twitter account of the Arctic Cat All Star Circuit of Champions: https://twitter.com/ASCoC. Find full text results from each and every event, as well as an up-to-date schedule, online at www.allstarsprint.com/schedule/.

About the Arctic Cat All Star Circuit of Champions

All Star Enterprises, LLC, wholly owned by Tony Stewart, d/b/a the All Star Circuit of Champions, is a winged sprint car series. The All-Star Circuit of Champions Sprint Car Series is one of the oldest traveling 410 sprint car organizations and is a staple of grassroots, open-wheel racing.  Formed in 1970 by Bud Miller, the series has largely been considered the first ‘outlaw’ Sprint Car organization of the modern era. After a 10 year stint as owner of the All Stars, Miller passed control of the series to Bert Emick in 1980; a reign that would continue through 2002. Guy Webb then purchased the series from Emick in the summer of 2002 and served as the series President for the next 12 years.  Motorsports entrepreneur Tony Stewart agreed to terms with Guy Webb to become the sole owner of the original winged sprint car tour in January of 2015.

About Arctic Cat

The Arctic Cat brand is among the most widely recognized and respected in the recreational vehicle industry. The company designs, engineers, manufactures and markets all-terrain vehicles (ATVs), side-by-sides and snowmobiles, in addition to related parts, garments and accessories under the Arctic Cat® and Motorfist® brand names. Arctic Cat Inc.’s world headquarters is located in Minneapolis, Minnesota. Its common stock is traded on the NASDAQ Global Select Market under the ticker symbol “ACAT.” More information about Arctic Cat and its products is available at www.ArcticCat.com.