2016 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship Honors 50 Years of Motocross in America

Opening Round of the Championship Set for Hangtown Classic on May 21

MORGANTOWN, WV – May 9, 2016 – (Motor Sports Newswire) –  Just two weeks remain until the gate drops on the 2016 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship, sanctioned by AMA Pro Racing, as the legendary GoPro Hangtown Motocross Classic will serve as the setting for the opening round of the 12-race season on Saturday, May 21. This highly anticipated season, in which Red Bull KTM’s Ryan Dungey and Yamalube/Star Racing Yamaha’s Jeremy Martin look to defend their respective 450 Class and 250 Class titles, will be commemorated by the celebration of 50 years of American motocross.

Tickets to all 12 rounds of the 2016 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship are on sale now at the official series website, www.ProMotocross.com.

50-Years-of-Pro-MotocrossThe Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship’s celebration of 50 years of American motocross will be symbolized by a traveling “50” sculpture. This one-of-a-kind monument is filled with artwork from the numerous championship programs of the Nationals, ticket stubs, Hi-Flyer trading cards, and other mementos that pay homage to the sport’s illustrious history. Fans attending any round of the championship this summer will have an opportunity to check out the sculpture in person at the sponsor village of the paddock.

Back in 1966, a visionary promoter by the name of Edison Dye recognized the growing popularity of motocross overseas and subsequently helped facilitate a bold move that would go on to change the course of history for the sport in America. Dye helped bring Husqvarna rider Torsten Hallman to the United States, making him the first professional European rider to compete in America. The Swedish rider’s influence was felt almost immediately and soon enough more and more Europeans followed Hallman’s footsteps overseas, with many of them ultimately becoming incredibly influential legends of the sport’s early era. AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame members like Joel Robert and Roger DeCoster propelled the sport’s popularity and professionalism in America thanks to their exceptional talent and captivating personalities.

In the 50 years since Dye’s groundbreaking initiative and Hallman’s pioneering journey to the U.S., the sport of motocross has evolved into the spectacle that it is today, as one of the most compelling and physically demanding athletic competitions on the planet. The United States is now the premier destination for motocross, with its most celebrated championships. The various disciplines and racing series that encompass the world of motocross can now be seen live on televisions, tablets, and cell phones across the globe, with hundreds of thousands of fans all over the world captivated by the action unfolding on the racetrack. Motocross has ultimately always held on to its renegade, rule-bending roots, and as a result it maintains a thrilling and daring perception that keeps fans yearning for more while continuing to elevate on a global level, with world-class athletes from all over the world coming to America for a chance at chasing their dreams.

In 1971, Bruce Brown’s iconic documentary On Any Sunday helped put a spotlight on America’s best kept secret in sports, and just one year later the Ohio-based American Motorcyclist Association (AMA) introduced a stand-alone national championship series, now known today at the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship. Now in its 44th season, the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship is the world’s most prestigious motocross racing series, featuring the most iconic racetracks and events on the planet. In fact, both the Hangtown Motocross Classic and the Unadilla National were a part of the inaugural season of the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship in 1972 and remain foundational stops of the summer schedule more than four decades later, continuing to build on the legacy that first began in 1966.


The 50 years sculpture will be present at all 12 rounds
of the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship.
Photo: Courtesy of MX Sports Pro Racing

In 2009, MX Sports Pro Racing secured the promotional and operational rights of the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship, and that same season they introduced perennial championship trophies for both the 450 Class and 250 Class – the Edison Dye Cup (450 Class) and Gary Jones Cup (250 Class) – which were created to honor the entrepreneurial vision of Edison Dye that brought the sport to America as well as the first ever national champion crowned in a formal U.S. motocross championship.

Since assuming the managerial responsibilities of the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship, MX Sports Pro Racing has proudly taken on the role of being purveyors of the championship’s history. As a result, the annual Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship Media Guide has provided a dedicated resource to record the history of the championship since it began in 1972. Within these pages one can find virtually every major statistical category and history of winners for all 43 seasons of the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship. Additionally, rider bios for both the 450 Class and 250 Class are included along with a snapshot of the tracks hosting the 12 rounds of the 2016 championship.

2016 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship Schedule

May 21

May 28

June 4

June 18

June 25

July 2

July 9

July 16

July 23

Aug 13

Aug 20

Aug 27

Hangtown Motocross Classic

Glen Helen National

Thunder Valley National

High Point National

Tennessee National

RedBud National

Southwick National

Spring Creek National

Washougal National

Unadilla National

Budds Creek National

Ironman National

Prairie City SVRA

Glen Helen Raceway

Thunder Valley MX Park

High Point Raceway

Muddy Creek Raceway

RedBud MX

Southwick MX Park

Spring Creek MX Park

Washougal MX Park

Unadilla MX

Budds Creek MX Park

Ironman Raceway

Sacramento, CA

San Bernardino, CA

Lakewood, CO

Mt Morris, PA

Blountville, TN

Buchanan, MI

Southwick, MA

Millville, MN

Washougal, WA

New Berlin, NY

Mechanicville, MD

Crawfordsville, IN

For information about the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship, please visit ProMotocross.com and LIKE the Pro Motocross Facebook page and follow @ProMotocross on Twitter and Instagram for exclusive content and additional information on the latest Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship news.

Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship

The Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship, sanctioned by AMA Pro Racing, features the world’s fastest outdoor motocross racers, racing aboard the best bikes each factory offers, on the roughest, toughest tracks in the world. The 12-rounds series begins at Hangtown in May and ends at Indiana’s Ironman Raceway in August. It includes stops at the premier motocross racing facilities in America, with events in California, Colorado, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Michigan, Massachusetts, Maryland, Minnesota, Washington, New York and Indiana. The pro riders race on Saturday afternoon, with competition divided into two classes: one for 250cc machines, and one for 450cc machines. The Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship is managed by MX Sports Pro Racing, the industry leader in off-road power sports event production. The series is televised on NBC, NBCSN and MAVTV and streamed live on NBC Sports Live Extra.  Series partners include Lucas Oil (series title sponsor), Red Bull, GoPro, WPS, Fly Racing, GEICO Motorcycle, Kawasaki, Motorcycle Superstore, FRAM, KTM, Oakley, FMF, Deltran Battery Tender, Pirelli, Suzuki, Husqvarna, Pivot Works, Vertex, ProGrip, EBC Brakes, KMC Wheels, MotionPro, VP Racing Fuels, Acerbis and Racer X.  More information can be found at www.ProMotocross.com.