Peick Leads Pirelli Riders in the Bay Area at Santa Clara Supercross

SANTA CLARA, CA – April 3, 2016 – (Motor Sports Newswire) – The 12th round of the 2016 Monster Energy AMA Supercross, an FIM World Championship, was held Saturday night at Levi’s Stadium. Temperatures hovered in the lower 70’s throughout the afternoon, providing blue-sunny skies and near perfect conditions for 40,192 bay area fans. Racers were in for a challenging track, which featured one of the longest whoop sections this season and soil that held plenty of moisture into the evening.


Autotrader/Monster Energy/Yamaha’s Weston Peick started 450SX Class Semi 1 in fourth place, but he would fight hard to move into third place on Lap 3. He finished in third for a transfer position to the Main Event.

Veteran BTO Sports/WPS/KTM rider Justin Brayton jumped out of the gate to a second place start in 450SX Class Semi 2. He applied heavy pressure to the race leader, but eventually settled for second, while fellow Pirelli rider Justin Barcia crossed the line in fifth place aboard his Autotrader/Monster Energy/Yamaha. Each rider secured a position in the Main Event.

TPJ Racing rider Nick Schmidt was impressive throughout the day, which followed with him grabbing the 450SX LCQ lead on Lap 3 before pulling away to take the win. The No.79 earned a transfer spot into the evenings main show.


Motorcycle Superstore Suzuki’s Kyle Cunningham made his return to the Western Regional 250SX Class, which saw him circulate the opening lap just outside of the top-10 in Heat 2. He continued to work his way through traffic, passing for eighth place and transferring to the Main Event.

Peick rounded the opening lap of the 450SX Class Main Event inside of the top-10, just a few positions ahead of JGRMX teammate Barcia. The start witnessed several riders involved in a first turn collision, which included, both, Brayton and Schmidt starting near the tail end of the field.

In the early stages of the race, Peick engaged in an intense battle for position, but fought hard to secure his third consecutive top-10 finish in eighth place. After beginning the race in dead last, Brayton charged through the talented field of riders to secure 13th place at the finish. He currently sits eighth place in the championship.


Barcia, who raced for the first time since the second round in San Diego, continues to race himself back into shape and finished in 16th. Despite falling victim to an early race incident, the privateer Schmidt pushed all the way until the final lap to cross the line in 20th.

In the 250SX Class Main Event, Cunningham found himself near the front of the pack as the 22-rider field rounded the first turn, crossing the opening lap in fourth place. The Texan stayed tough throughout the 15-lap main event, battling well inside of the top-10. A mistake while running seventh place on the final lap forced him to lose several positions and he eventually crossed the checkered flag in 12th. He remains ninth in the championship standings.


The 13th round of Monster Energy Supercross takes place on Saturday, April 9th from Lucas Oil Stadium in Indianapolis, Indiana.

450SX Class Results

1. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., KTM
2. Ken Roczen, Clermont, Fla., Suzuki
3. Jason Anderson, Rio Rancho, N.M., Husqvarna
4. Chad Reed, Dade City, Fla., Yamaha
5. Trey Canard, Edmond, Okla., Honda
6. Justin Bogle, Cushing, Okla., Honda
7. Eli Tomac, Cortez, Colo., Kawasaki
8. Weston Peick, Wildomar, Calif., Yamaha
9. Jake Weimer, Wildomar, Calif., Suzuki
10. Blake Baggett, Grand Terrace, Calif., Suzuki
– – –
13. Justin Brayton, Mint Hill, N.C., KTM
16. Justin Barcia, Greenville, Fla., Yamaha
20. Nick Schmidt, Lake Elsinore, Calif., Suzuki

450SX Class Championship Standings

1. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., KTM – 278
2.  Ken Roczen, Clermont, Fla., Suzuki – 236
3.  Jason Anderson, Rio Rancho, N.M., Husqvarna – 220
4.  Eli Tomac, Cortez, Colo., Kawasaki – 200
5.  Marvin Musquin, Corona, Calif., KTM – 182
6. Chad Reed, Dade City, Fla., Yamaha – 178
7. Cole Seely, Sherman Oaks, Calif., Honda – 173
8. Justin Brayton, Mint Hill, N.C., KTM – 136
9. Trey Canard, Edmond, Okla., Honda – 120
10. Davi Millsaps, Murrieta, Calif., KTM – 105

Western Regional 250SX Class Results

1. Cooper Webb, Newport, N.C., Yamaha
2. Zach Osborne, Wildomar, Calif., Husqvarna
3. Joey Savatgy, Thomasville, Ga., Kawasaki
4. Christian Craig, Corona, Calif., Honda
5. Mitchell Oldenburg, Alvord, Texas, KTM
6. Colt Nichols, Muskogee, Okla., Yamaha
7. Jordon Smith, Belmont, N.C., Honda
8. Kyle Peters, Greensboro, N.C., Honda
9. Alex Martin, Millville, Minn., Yamaha
10. Michael Leib, Wildomar, Calif., Yamaha
– – –
12. Kyle Cunningham, Willow Park, Texas, Suzuki

Western Regional 250SX Class Championship Standings

1. Cooper Webb, Newport, N.C., Yamaha – 170
2.  Joey Savatgy, Thomasville, Ga., Kawasaki – 154
3.  Christian Craig, Corona, Calif., Honda – 147
4.  Zach Osborne, Wildomar, Calif., Husqvarna – 132
5.  Colt Nichols, Muskogee, Okla., Yamaha – 132
6.  Mitchell Oldenburg, Alvord, Texas, KTM – 113
7.  Jimmy Decotis, Peabody, Mass., Honda – 109
8.  Kyle Peters, Greensboro, N.C., Honda – 100
9.  Kyle Cunningham, Willow Park, Texas, Suzuki – 78
10. Jordon Smith, Belmont, N.C., Honda – 77