Peick Leads the Pirelli Charge in the Motor City

DETROIT, MI – March 21, 2016 – (Motor Sports Newswire) – The 11th round of the 2016 Monster Energy AMA Supercross, an FIM World Championship, was held Saturday night at Ford Field. Despite racers facing the lowest temperatures of the season, the domed stadium provided the necessary shelter for excellent action-packed racing in optimal conditions. A unique soil, featuring loose pebbles with a hard base underneath, presented riders with challenges throughout the evening.


BTO Sports/WPS/KTM’s Justin Brayton found himself near the front of the field as 450SX Heat 1 rounded the first corner. He circulated the opening lap in third position and had the leaders in sight. As the checkered flag waved, the No.10 transferred directly to the Main Event via his third place finish.

JGRMX teammates Weston Peick and Phil Nicoletti started first and second, respectively, on the opening lap of 450SX Semi 2. Peick would open up a comfortable lead and cruise to victory aboard his Autotrader/Monster Energy/Yamaha. Nicoletti charged hard to finish third, qualifying both riders for the Main Event.

Nick Schmidt rode strong aboard his TPJ Racing powered Suzuki to claim the fifth and final transfer position in 450SX Semi 1. It marked his tenth consecutive trip to the 450SX Main Event.


MAD Racing/Dirt Candy Graphics/Suzuki rider Matt Bisceglia began the opening lap of 250SX Heat 1 in eighth position. The Texas native clicked off consistent laps, eventually passing his way into sixth on Lap 4. He would hold onto the sixth position for a direct transfer to the Main Event.

In the 450SX Main Event, Peick started just outside of the top-10, but he would not stay there for long as he mounted a charge through the talented field of riders. The Californian made the pass for seventh position on Lap 15, which is where he would finish at the checkered flag. Nicoletti battled through his nagging injuries to a season-best 14th place.

After beginning the race just outside of the top-20, the privateer racer Schmidt dug deep to record his second 16th place finish in as many weeks, matching his season-best result


A rider known for his strong starting abilities, Brayton emerged from the first turn with a third place start. He engaged in a battle for third early in the race and fought hard for the final podium position. However, misfortune struck while running fourth on Lap 13 and debris on the track punctured his rear tire, ultimately causing him to lose several positions. He finished the race in 18th.

Last weekend’s podium finisher, Bisceglia, experienced bad luck to start the 250SX Main Event after a first lap racing incident put him dead last in the 22-rider field. He quickly went to work as he made passes and fought hard for position. On Lap 6, he turned his fastest lap time of the race to break inside of the top-15. He would cross the checkered flag in 12th place and currently sits in eighth place in the championship points.


The 12th round of Monster Energy Supercross takes place in two weeks on Saturday, April 2nd from Levi Stadium in Santa Clara, California

450SX Class Results

1.   Jason Anderson, Rio Rancho, N.M., Husqvarna
2.   Marvin Musquin, Corona, Calif., KTM
3.   Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., KTM
4.   Chad Reed, Dade City, Fla., Yamaha
5.   Eli Tomac, Cortez, Colo., Kawasaki
6.   Ken Roczen, Clermont, Fla., Suzuki
7.   Weston Peick, Wildomar, Calif., Yamaha
8.   Trey Canard, Edmond, Okla., Honda
9.   Mike Alessi, Hilliard, Fla., Honda
10.  Justin Bogle, Cushing, Okla., Honda
– – –
14. Phil Nicoletti, Bethel, N.Y., Yamaha
16. Nick Schmidt, Lake Elsinore, Calif., Suzuki
18. Justin Brayton, Mint Hill, N.C., KTM

450SX Class Championship Standings

1.   Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., KTM – 253
2.   Ken Roczen, Clermont, Fla., Suzuki – 214
3.   Jason Anderson, Rio Rancho, N.M., Husqvarna – 200
4.   Eli Tomac, Cortez, Colo., Kawasaki – 186
5.   Marvin Musquin, Corona, Calif., KTM – 178
6.   Cole Seely, Sherman Oaks, Calif., Honda – 173
7.   Chad Reed, Dade City, Fla., Yamaha – 160
8.   Justin Brayton, Mint Hill, N.C., KTM – 128
9.   Davi Millsaps, Murrieta, Calif., KTM – 105
10. Trey Canard, Edmond, Okla., Honda – 104

Eastern Regional 250SX Class Results

1.   Malcolm Stewart, Haines City, Fla., Honda
2.   Aaron Plessinger, Hamilton, Ohio, Yamaha
3.   Shane McElrath, Canton, N.C., KTM
4.   Tyler Bowers, Corona, Calif., Kawasaki
5.   Martin Davalos, Clermont, Fla., Husqvarna
6.   Gannon Audette, Tallahassee, Fla., Kawasaki
7.   RJ Hampshire, Brooksville, Fla., Honda
8.   Paul Coates, Zephyrhills, Fla., Honda
9.   Cedric Soubeyras, Venasque, France, Kawasaki
10.  Jesse Wentland, Elk River, Minn., Honda
– – –
12.  Matt Bisceglia, Weatherford, Texas, Suzuki

Eastern Regional 250SX Class Championship Standings

1.   Malcolm Stewart, Haines City, Fla., Honda – 80
2.   Jeremy Martin, Millville, Minn., Yamaha – 73
3.   Aaron Plessinger, Hamilton, Ohio, Yamaha – 67
4.   Justin Hill, Yoncalla, Ore., KTM – 63
5.   Martin Davalos, Clermont, Fla., Husqvarna – 61
6.   Tyler Bowers, Corona, Calif., Kawasaki – 53
7.   RJ Hampshire, Brooksville, Fla., Honda – 44
8.   Matt Bisceglia, Weatherford, Texas, Suzuki – 41
9.   Jesse Wentland, Elk River, Minn., Honda – 41
10. Gannon Audette, Tallahassee, Fla., Kawasaki – 41