Vote for your Favorite Pro Stock Driver in the K&N Horsepower Challenge People’s Choice

GLENDORA, CA – March 3, 2016 – (Motor Sports Newswire) –  Once again in 2016, NHRA’s loyal fans will be able to vote their favorite Pro Stock driver into the NHRA K&N Horsepower Challenge, a special bonus event for the factory hot rod class.

The K&N Horsepower Challenge will be held Saturday, April 2, during the DENSO Spark Plugs NHRA Nationals at The Strip at Las Vegas Motor Speedway. The lucrative event is open to eight drivers, seven of which will be determined by points earned at NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series events. The eighth spot will be decided by the fan vote.

“The K&N Horsepower Challenge is one of the most exciting all-star bonus events of the year,” said Graham Light, NHRA senior vice president of racing operations. “It features the best Pro Stock drivers in the world and it also gives fans the opportunity to be directly involved with the competition on the track by voting for the eighth finalist.”

Erica Enders is the two-time defending champion of the K&N Horsepower Challenge. In 2014, Enders defeated fan-vote winner and No. 8 seed Dave Connolly in a thrilling final round to claim her first all-star race victory, while in last year’s final she beat No. 5 seed Vincent Nobile to win the specialty event again. Both years she went on to double up by winning the national event as well.

Fans can cast their vote at when voting opens Thursday, Feb. 3. The polls will remain open until Sunday, March 27, at 11:59 p.m. PT. The winner of the fan vote will go up against the other seven entries in a three-round shootout in Las Vegas. The champion of the K&N Horsepower Challenge race will win a $50,000 grand prize. The runner-up will receive $10,000 with $3,000 to the two semifinalists and $2,500 to the four first-round finishers. If a driver doubles-up by winning the specialty event and the national event, that driver will win a $25,000 bonus.

Drivers that have already clinched a spot into the K&N Horsepower Challenge include Greg Anderson, Erica Enders, Chris McGaha, Jason Line, Shane Gray, Drew Skillman and Allen Johnson. The following Pro Stock drivers are currently eligible for the fan vote: Vincent Nobile, Bo Butner, V. Gaines, Larry Morgan, Deric Kramer, Alex Laughlin, Matt Hartford, Jeg Coughlin Jr., Aaron Strong, Jeffrey Isbell, Joey Grose, Kenny Delco and Alan Prusiensky. Pro Stock points standings can be found at

Drivers began accumulating points from qualifying points starting at the 2015 DENSO Spark Plugs NHRA Nationals in Las Vegas and will continue to earn points through the 2016 Amalie Motor Oil NHRA Gatornationals, March 17-20.

The K&N Horsepower Challenge Sweepstakes also gives fans an exciting opportunity to win. Eight fans that enter the K&N Horsepower Challenge Sweepstakes will be selected to win a trip for two to the K&N Horsepower Challenge. Each winner will be paired up with one of the eight Pro Stock finalists and the fan paired with the 2016 K&N Horsepower Challenge champion will win a 2016 K&N Horsepower Challenge Edition Toyota Tacoma. The K&N Horsepower Challenge Edition Tacoma features an intake system, a cat-back exhaust system, off-road bead lock style wheels and custom graphics. K&N will also be giving away some great prizes instantly. Fans can enter the Sweepstakes at

The 2016 NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series season kicked off Feb. 11-14 at Auto Club Raceway at Pomona with the 56th annual Circle K NHRA Winternationals. The series then went to Phoenix for the CARQUEST Auto Parts NHRA Nationals and will stop in Gainesville, Fla., March 17-20, for the Amalie Motor Oil NHRA Gatornationals before heading to Las Vegas. For tickets to an NHRA event, please call 800-884-NHRA (6472) or log on to

About National Hot Rod Association

Headquartered in Glendora, Calif., NHRA is the primary sanctioning body for the sport of drag racing in the United States. NHRA presents 23 national events featuring the NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series, NHRA Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series and NHRA J&A Service Pro Mod Drag Racing Series. NHRA provides competition opportunities for drivers of all levels in the NHRA Summit Racing Series and the NHRA Drags: Street Legal Style presented by AAA. NHRA also offers NHRA Jr. Street for teens and the Summit Racing Jr. Drag Racing League for youth ages 5 to 17. In addition, NHRA owns and operates five racing facilities: Atlanta Dragway in Georgia; Auto-Plus Raceway at Gainesville in Florida; National Trail Raceway in Ohio; Lucas Oil Raceway at Indianapolis; and Auto Club Raceway at Pomona in Southern California. For more information, log on to, or visit the official NHRA pages on Facebook, YouTube and Twitter.