Pirelli Riders Compete at Military Appreciation Night in San Diego

SAN DIEGO, CA – February 15, 2016 – (Motor Sports Newswire) – The sixth round of the 2016 Monster Energy AMA Supercross, an FIM World Championship, held its second and final stop of the season inside Petco Park on Saturday night. In a city that is known for its dominant military presence, teams and riders were adorned in colors that paid tribute to the men and women in service for “Military Appreciation Night.”


BTO Sports/WPS/KTM’s Davi Millsaps put in a strong ride in 450SX Heat 2, which saw him grab the lead on lap five. After taking over first place, he battled all the way to the checkered flag to claim his third heat race win of the season. BTO Sports’ Justin Brayton led the first four laps in his heat race, but a mistake forced him to lose several positions. He would come back to finish in second place in 450SX Semi 2 and advance to the Main Event.

The likeable veteran Andrew Short returned to action in San Diego aboard his BTO Sports/WPS/KTM for his first start of the 2016 season. He instantly found himself battling with the front-runners in 450SX Semi 1. As the checkered flag waved, he finished in fourth place to put all three BTO riders in the Main Event.


Autotrader/Monster Energy/Yamaha’s Weston Peick was quick out of the gate to claim a second place start in 450SX Semi 1. On the third lap he would take over the lead before opening up a small cushion en route to victory. JGRMX rider Phil Nicoletti battled his way toward the front in 450SX Semi 1, eventually finishing in fifth place to qualify for the Main Event.

TPJ Racing’s Nick Schmidt found himself mired in the pack during the opening laps of the 450SX LCQ. He immediately went to work, as he wasted no time weaving his way through traffic. On the last lap, he made a pass in the final turn to steal fourth place for the final transfer spot.


Kyle Cunningham’s Motorcycle Superstore Suzuki was decorated with U.S. Navy replica graphics and was one of the most talked about bikes in the pits. In 250SX Heat 1 he rounded the first turn toward the front of the field before a costly mistake on the opening lap set him back several positions. He kept charging, crossing the finish line in sixth place and transferring directly to the Main Event.

Peick led all Pirelli-supported riders throughout the entire 450SX Main Event. Despite a rough couple of races, he put in a solid ride for his season-best finish in ninth place. Brayton passed his way into the 10th position during the opening laps of the race, which is where he would finish as he followed Peick across the line. He would bump up into eighth place in the championship point’s standings.


After winning his heat race earlier in the night, Millsaps was buried mid-pack to start the 450SX Main Event. A mistake on lap-10 cost him valuable time as he quickly remounted his KTM. He would make a last lap pass to finish in 11th place. Short put in a strong effort to finish in 14th position as he works his way back to full race pace.

Nicoletti was victim to an early race bobble that put him toward the back of the pack, eventually being credited with 18th position. Schmidt rounded out the top-20 and was the top finishing true privateer in the 450SX Class.

Cunningham was involved in a first turn pileup at the start of the 250SX Main Event, which put him at the tail end of the 22-rider rider field. He put his head down, charging the entire race for an impressive come from behind ride. At the finish he would be credited with 11th place, which moved him to ninth place in the championship standings.

The series will east to Arlington, Texas for the seventh round of Monster Energy Supercross at AT&T Stadium on Saturday, February 20, 2016.

450SX Class Results

  1. Ryan Dungey (KTM)
  2. Cole Seely (Honda)
  3. Ken Roczen (Suzuki)
  4. Jason Anderson (Husqvarna)
  5. Trey Canard (Honda)
  6. Eli Tomac (Kawasaki)
  7. Marvin Musquin (KTM)
  8. Chad Reed (Yamaha)
  9. Weston Peick (Yamaha)
  10. Justin Brayton (KTM)

– – –
11. Davi Millsaps (KTM)
14. Andrew Short (KTM)
18. Phil Nicoletti (Yamaha)
20. Nick Schmidt (Suzuki)

450SX Class Championship Standings

  1. Ryan Dungey (KTM) – 144
  2. Ken Roczen (Suzuki) – 118
  3. Jason Anderson (Husqvarna) – 111
  4. Cole Seely (Honda) – 105
  5. Chad Reed (Yamaha) – 103
  6. Eli Tomac (Kawasaki) – 103
  7. Marvin Musquin (KTM) – 77
  8. Justin Brayton (KTM) – 72
  9. Davi Millsaps (KTM)  – 71
  10. Jake Weimer (Suzuki) – 62

Western Regional 250SX Class Results

  1. Joey Savatgy (Kawasaki)
  2. Cooper Webb (Yamaha)
  3. Christian Craig (Honda)
  4. Colt Nichols (Yamaha)
  5. Zach Osbourne (Husqvarna)
  6. Mitchell Oldenburg (KTM)
  7. Jimmy Decotis (Honda)
  8. Kyle Peters (Honda)
  9. Cole Thompson (KTM)
  10. Cole Martinez (Yamaha)
  11. Kyle Cunningham (Suzuki)

Western Regional 250SX Class Championship Standings

  1. Joey Savatgy (Kawasaki) – 123
  2. Cooper Webb (Yamaha) – 120
  3. Christian Craig (Honda) – 107
  4. Colt Nichols (Yamaha) – 99
  5. Zach Osbourne (Husqvarna) – 90
  6. Jimmy Decotis (Honda) – 85
  7. Mitchell Oldenburg (KTM) – 81
  8. Kyle Peters (Honda) – 75
  9. Kyle Cunningham (Suzuki) – 64
  10. Jordan Smith (Honda) – 63