Pirelli Equipped BTO Sports Duo Capture Season Best Finishes in Glendale

Glendale, AZ – February 7, 2016 – (Motor Sports Newswire) –  The fifth round of the 2016 Monster Energy AMA Supercross, an FIM World Championship, was held Saturday night inside University of Phoenix Stadium for the very first time. This weekend’s stop in the “Grand Canyon State” was the first of the season held outside of California. Sitting just outside of Phoenix, the expansive footprint of the stadium allowed for a longer track, increased lap times and the longest start straight of the season.


BTO Sports/WPS/KTM rider Davi Millsaps benefited from the performance advantage of his Pirelli tires as he jumped to the early lead in 450SX Heat 1. He would put in a brilliant ride, leading all six laps en route to his second heat race win of the season. Justin Brayton muscled his way into the lead on lap one of 450SX Semi 2, which helped him capture the semi win and a transfer position to the Main Event.

Autotrader/Monster Energy/Yamaha’s Weston Peick started just outside of the top five in 450SX Heat 2, but was determined to battle his way towards the front. He rode strong to claim fourth place and a direct transfer to the Main Event.  JGRMX Teammate Phil Nicoletti had some intense battles during 450SX Semi 2, eventually finishing in fifth position to qualify for the Main Event.


TPJ Racing’s Nick Schmidt had his work cut out for him after starting just inside the top-10 of 450SX Semi 1. Schmidt made some aggressive moves to finish in fifth place, transferring to the Main Event. Privateer Alex Ray led the first two laps of the 450SX LCQ, eventually crossing the line in second place and securing a spot in his first Main Event of the 2016 season.

In 250SX qualifying action, Kyle Cunningham powered his Motorcycle Superstore Suzuki to the front of the field on lap two in the 250SX LCQ. Once into the lead, he rode effortlessly to victory and earned a transfer spot into the Main Event.


Millsaps claimed the 450SX Class Main Event holeshot, which marked the fourth time in five races by a Pirelli-supported rider has led the pack through turn one. The BTO Sports rider spent the first several laps fighting for position inside of the top three. On lap nine, he would settle into fifth position and ultimately stay there for the remainder of the race to record his first top five finish of the season.

Brayton got off to a rather uncharacteristic start, circulating the first lap in eleventh position. As a rider known for consistency, he once again fought hard for the entire 20-lap Main Event to finish a season-high seventh place. This result marks Brayton’s fifth consecutive top-10 finish.


After overcoming carnage on the opening lap, Peick narrowly missed out on a top-10 finish as he crossed the line in eleventh place. Despite struggling throughout the day, Nicoletti was able to improve on last week’s result and salvage a 17th place finish. Schmidt finished in 19th position, just ahead of fellow privateer Ray who was credited with 21st position in his first Main Event of 2016.

Cunningham completed the opening lap of the 250SX Class Main Event well outside of the top-10 due to an early race mistake. As the race wore on, he would put his head down and move forward through the talented field to finish in eighth position. He has finished inside of the top-10 in the past four races and currently sits 10th in the point standings.

The series will return to Southern California for the sixth round of Monster Energy Supercross at Petco Park in San Diego on Saturday, February 13, 2016.

450SX Class Results

1. Ken Roczen (Suzuki)
2. Ryan Dungey (KTM)
3. Eli Tomac (Kawasaki)
4. Jason Anderson (Husqvarna)
5. Davi Millsaps (KTM)
6. Chad Reed (Yamaha)
7. Justin Brayton (KTM)
8. Cole Seely (Honda)
9. Marvin Musquin (KTM)
10.  Wil Hahn (Kawasaki)
– – –
11. Weston Peick (Yamaha)
17. Phil Nicoletti (Yamaha)
19. Nick Schmidt (Suzuki)
21. Alex Ray (Honda)

450SX Class Championship Standings

1. Ryan Dungey (KTM) – 119
2. Ken Roczen (Suzuki) – 98
3. Jason Anderson (Husqvarna) – 93
4. Chad Reed (Yamaha) – 90
5. Eli Tomac (Kawasaki)– 88
6. Cole Seely (Honda) – 83
7. Marvin Musquin (KTM) – 63
8. Davi Millsaps (KTM) – 61
9. Justin Brayton (KTM)  – 61
10.  Jake Weimer (Suzuki) – 53

Western Regional 250SX Class Results

1. Christian Craig (Honda)
2. Cooper Webb (Yamaha)
3. Joey Savatgy (Kawasaki)
4. Mitchell Oldenburg (KTM)
5. Colt Nichols (Yamaha)
6. Chris Alldredge (Kawasaki)
7. Alex Martin (Yamaha)
8. Kyle Cunningham (Suzuki)
9. Jimmy Decotis (Honda)
10.  Kyle Peters (Honda)

Western Regional 250SX Class Championship Standings

1. Cooper Webb (Yamaha) – 98
2. Joey Savatgy (Kawasaki) – 98
3. Christian Craig (Honda) – 87
4. Colt Nichols (Yamaha) – 81
5. Zach Osbourne (Husqvarna) – 74
6. Jimmy Decotis (Honda) – 71
7. Mitchell Oldenburg (KTM) – 66
8. Kyle Peters (Honda) – 62
9. Jordan Smith (Honda) – 61
10.  Kyle Cunningham (Suzuki) – 54