Pirelli Riders Weather the Storm in Oakland

OAKLAND, CA – February 1, 2016 – (Motor Sports Newswire) –  The fourth round of the 2016 Monster Energy AMA Supercross, an FIM World Championship, was held Saturday night inside O.co Coliseum. Earlier in the week, rain showers threatened the forecast, but sunny skies prevailed and provided excellent racing conditions for the series’ first stop in Northern California. Pirelli’s wide-range lineup of SCORPION™MX tires proved to be no problem for the soft-rutty track conditions.


Autotrader/Monster Energy/Yamaha’s Weston Peick started 450SX Heat 1 just outside of the top five, however he did not stay there for long before plotting his next move. He charged the entire race, which allowed him to secure third place and a direct transfer to the Main Event. JGRMX’s Phil Nicoletti joined his teammate in the Main Event with a fourth place finish in 450SX Semi 2.

BTO Sports/WPS/KTM’s Justin Brayton launched off of the starting line to capture the holeshot in 450SX Semi 1. He quickly set the pace at the front, leading all the way until the checkered flag to claim the win. Multi-time 450SX winner, Davi Millsaps qualified for the Main Event by finishing second place in 450SX Semi 2.


Motorcycle Superstore Suzuki’s Kyle Cunningham had his work cut out for him as an early race bobble put him near the tail end of the field in 250SX Heat 1. He would put in a hard fought ride through traffic to finish in sixth place, transferring directly to the Main Event. TPJ Racing rider Killian Auberson rode brilliantly to finish second place in the 250SX LCQ and qualify for his first Main Event of the season.

The 450SX Main Event would watch another inspiring ride from the veteran rider Brayton, who battled for position throughout the entire race. He finished an impressive ninth place, which is his fourth consecutive top-10 finish of the season. Due to a last lap crash while battling inside the top-10, Peick crossed the checkers in 11th position.


Following Peick across the finish, Millsaps overcame an early race mistake and salvaged a respectable 12th place finish. Leading the charge for 450SX privateers, Schmidt continues to impress as he once again went bar-to-bar with multiple factory riders. He would be credited with 18th position, just ahead of Pirelli teammate Nicoletti who finished in 19th place.

In the 250SX main event, Cunningham started outside of the top-15 at the completion of lap one, which marked the beginning of his charge through the talented field of riders. Lap by lap, he worked his way forward, eventually finishing in eighth place. It was his third straight top-10 finish. Privateer Killian Auberson rode well throughout the entire twenty laps and was credited with 18th place.


The series will move east to Arizona for the fifth round of Monster Energy Supercross at University of Phoenix Stadium in Glendale, Arizona on Saturday February 6, 2016.

450SX Class Results

1. Ryan Dungey (KTM)
2. Ken Roczen (Suzuki)
3. Marvin Musquin (KTM)
4. Jason Anderson (Husqvarna)
5. Chad Reed (Yamaha)
6. Cole Seely  (Honda)
7. Eli Tomac (Kawasaki)
8. Jake Weimer (Suzuki)
9. Justin Brayton (KTM)
10.  Wil Hahn (Kawasaki)
– – –
11. Weston Peick (Yamaha)
12. Davi Millsaps (KTM)
18. Nick Schmidt (Suzuki)
19. Phil Nicoletti (Yamaha)

450SX Class Championship Standings

1. Ryan Dungey (KTM) – 97
2. Jason Anderson (Husqvarna) – 75
3. Chad Reed (Yamaha) – 75
4. Ken Roczen (Suzuki) – 73
5. Cole Seely (Honda) – 70
6. Eli Tomac (Kawasaki) – 68
7. Marvin Musquin (KTM) – 51
8. Justin Brayton (KTM) – 47
9. Jake Weimer (Kawasaki) – 46
10.  Davi Millsaps (KTM) – 45

Western Regional 250SX Class Results

1. Joey Savatgy (Kawasaki)
2. Colt Nichols (Yamaha)
3. Christian Craig (Honda)
4. Mitchell Oldenburg (KTM)
5. Zach Osbourne (Husqvarna)
6. Kyle Peters (Honda)
7. Michael Leib (Yamaha)
8. Kyle Cunningham (Suzuki)
9. Jimmy Decotis (Honda)
10.  Cole Thompson (KTM)
– – –
18. Killian Auberson (Suzuki)

Western Regional 250SX Class Championship Standings

1. Joey Savatgy (Kawasaki) – 78
2. Cooper Webb (Yamaha) – 76
3. Zach Osborne (Husqvarna) – 73
4. Colt Nichols (Yamaha) – 65
5. Christian Craig (Honda) – 62
6. Jordan Smith (Honda) – 61
7. Jimmy Decotis (Honda) – 59
8. Kyle Peters (Honda) – 51
9. Mitchell Oldenburg (KTM) – 48
10.  Kyle Cunningham (Suzuki) – 41