Pirelli Racers and All-New MX32 PRO Tire Debut Inside Petco Park

SAN DIEGO, CA – January 18, 2016 – (Motor Sports Newswire) –  The second round of the 2016 Monster Energy Supercross series kicked off Saturday night inside Petco Park, marking the first of two stops scheduled at the stadium in 2016. Beautiful, sunny blue skies graced the heart of the city, leading to excellent track conditions for a night filled with action-packed racing. The event also coincided with the debut of Pirelli’s all-new SCORPION™ MX32™ PRO rear motocross tire.

160118 Pirelli San Diego SX-1

BTO Sports/WPS/KTM rider Justin Brayton pulled the holeshot in 450SX Heat 1, leading several laps before eventually crossing the line in second position as he transferred directly to the Main Event. Motorcycle Superstore Suzuki’s Kyle Cunningham came out swinging in 250SX Heat 1, collecting a respectable top- five finish and also transferring directly to the Main Event.

Autotrader/Monster Energy/Yamaha’s Justin Barcia rode well to take second in 450SX Semi 1, while BTO Sports/WPS/KTM’s Davi Millsaps charged to take the fourth qualifying spot. JGRMX fill-in, Phil Nicoletti claimed the final transfer spot in 450SX Semi 2 and Privateer Journey Racing’s Nick Schmidt was third in the 450SX LCQ. It would set both riders up for their first Main Event starts in 2016.

160118 Pirelli San Diego SX-2

In the 450SX Main Event, Brayton used his razor sharp reaction time and the recently debuted MX32 PRO rear tire to rocket out of the starting gate, collecting his first holeshot award of the young season and leading the first lap of racing in the process. The 20-lap Main Event proved to be no problem for the No. 10 machine, claiming his second top-10 finish of the season.

Following Brayton across the line was JGRMX’s Barcia, who put in a solid ride, narrowly missing the top-10. Millsaps collected a 12th-place finish after battling back from an early race bobble.

160118 Pirelli San Diego SX-3

Nicoletti was looking to carry the top-five momentum from his qualifying race into the 450SX Main Event. He would ride hard the entire race, ultimately finishing in 20th position, just ahead of Pirelli teammate Nick Schmidt who claimed 21st position.

Leading the way for Pirelli-mounted riders in the 250SX Class was Motorcycle Superstore Suzuki’s Kyle Cunningham. The Texan found himself just outside of the top-10 in the opening laps of the 250SX Main Event, but relied on his veteran experience to navigate traffic en route to a ninth-place finish at the checkered flag.

160118 Pirelli San Diego SX-4

The series will return for the third round of Monster Energy Supercross at Angel Stadium in Anaheim, California on Saturday January 23, 2016.

450SX Class Results

1. Ryan Dungey (KTM)
2. Chad Reed (Yamaha)
3. Cole Seely (Honda)
4. Eli Tomac (Kawasaki)
5. Jason Anderson (Husqvarna)
6. Ken Roczen (Suzuki)
7. Trey Canard (Honda)
8. Jake Weimer (Kawasaki)
9. Marvin Musquin (KTM)
10. Justin Brayton (KTM)
11. Justin Barcia (Yamaha)
12. Davi Millsaps (KTM)
– – –
20. Nick Schmidt (Suzuki)
21. Phil Nicoletti (Yamaha)

450SX Class Points

1. Ryan Dungey (KTM) 47
2. Jason Anderson (Husqvarna) 45
3. Cole Seely (Honda) 38
4. Chad Reed (Yamaha) 37
5. Eli Tomac (Honda) 34
6. Ken Roczen (Suzuki) 31
7. Trey Canard (Honda) 28
8. Jake Weimer (Kawasaki) 22
9. Davi Millsaps (KTM) 22
10. Justin Brayton (KTM) 22
– – –
14. Justin Barcia (Yamaha) 16
22. Nick Schmidt (Suzuki) 1
24. Phil Nicoletti (Yamaha) 1

Western Regional 250SX Class Results

1. Cooper Webb (Yamaha)
2. Joey Savatgy (Kawasaki)
3. Jordan Smith (Honda)
4. Christian Craig (Honda)
5. Colt Nichols (Yamaha)
6. Zach Osbourne (Husqvarna)
7. Kyle Peters (Honda)
8. Jimmy Decotis (Honda)
9. Kyle Cunningham (Suzuki)
10. Chris Alldredge (Kawasaki)

Western Regional 250SX Class Points

1. Cooper Webb (Yamaha) 50
2. Jordan Smith (Honda) 36
3. Joey Savatgy (Kawasaki) 35
4. Zach Osbourne (Husqvarna) 35
5. Jimmy Decotis (Honda) 31
6. Colt Nichols (Yamaha) 30
7. Alex Martin (Yamaha) 25
8. Kyle Peters (Honda) 25
9. Jesse Nelson (KTM) 22
10. Christian Craig (Honda) 22
– – –
12. Kyle Cunningham (Suzuki) 14


Founded in 1872, Pirelli is among the largest global tire makers, and focuses its business on the high end, premium product segment where it is a world leader. Present in over 160 countries, Pirelli has 22 manufacturing sites and employs approximately 38,000 people around the world. Successfully competing in motorsports since 1907, Pirelli is currently the exclusive supplier of the Formula 1 championship, the Superbike world championship, and many other championships around the world.

Pirelli Tire North America (PTNA) services NAFTA (North American Free Trade Agreement) member countries through its Modular Integrated Robotized System (MIRS) facility and research and development center at its Rome, Georgia headquarters, its state-of-the-art manufacturing plant in Silao, Mexico and its New York City, Montreal and Mexico City sales and marketing offices. The company manufactures, distributes and markets original equipment and replacement tires for export and domestic car/motorcycle applications (US, CA, MX) and Agro/Heavy Truck platforms (MX).