Adam Cianciarulo Earns RC Hard Charger Award at Lake Elsinore Finale

James Stewart Wins $25,000 Motorcycle Superstore Holeshot Championship

MORGANTOWN, WV – August 29, 2013 – (Motor Sports Newswire) – The 2013 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship, sanctioned by AMA Pro Racing, concluded its 12-race series last Saturday in Lake Elsinore, Calif. with the second running of the Red Bull Lake Elsinore National. Despite his absence at the season finale, Yoshimura Suzuki’s James Stewart wrapped up the $25,000 Holeshot Championship, while the Toyota/JGR/Yamaha team stepped up to sweep both 450 Class holeshots at Lake Elsinore Motorsports Park.

For the fourth consecutive round, GEICO Honda’s Eli Tomac laid down the fastest lap time of the 250 Class timed qualifying sessions with a time of 02:09.1, earning the final Oakley Bomb Award of the season. Toyota/JGR/Yamaha’s Josh Grant earned his second Oakley Bomb Award of the year with a fast lap of 02:09.6 in the 450 Class timed qualifying sessions.


Eli Tomac (17) laid down the fastest laptime of all timed
qualifying sessions at Lake Elsinore
Courtesy: Simon Cudby

Each rider was awarded the one-of-a-kind Oakley Bomb trophy and now has one point towards the season tally that determines an overall winner in the Fastest Lap Program at series end. Tomac claimed the honors in the 250 Class with nine Oakley Bomb Awards throughout the season, while Ryan Villopoto topped the 450 Class with seven.

The Ricky Carmichael Hard Charger Award is given each round to a racer who embodies a never-give-up mentality, despite any setbacks that may occur during the race. Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki’s Adam Cianciarulo has experienced many setbacks as a rookie competitor against a deep field of talent in the 250 Class, but the 16-year-old amateur motocross star has continued to improve throughout the season. At the Lake Elsinore National last Saturday, Cianciarulo got off to a bad start in Moto 1 of the 250 Class where he came through the opening lap in the 34th position. Cianciarulo immediately began pushing his way through the pack where he ultimately finished 14th in Moto 1, passing a total of 20 riders along the way. Cianciarulo experienced bad luck in the second moto, finishing 40th place to claim 18th overall for the day.


Rookie Adam Cianciarulo passed 20 riders
to earn the RC Hard Charger Award
Courtesy: Simon Cudby

The Motorcycle Superstore Holeshot Championship is brand new to Lucas Oil Pro Motocross this season, courtesy of Championship points are tallied over the course of 12 rounds in both the 450 and 250 Class, where each Moto 1 holeshot winner gets one point and the Moto 2 holeshot winner gets two points. If the same rider holeshots both motos of the day, that rider would get an additional bonus point for a total of four points, thus creating a mini-championship inside the series championship. The final payoff will be a $25,000 check for the 450 Class winner and $15,000 for the 250 Class winner.


Zach Osborne (338) finished second in the Holeshot Championship
Courtesy: Simon Cudby

GEICO Honda’s Wil Hahn wrapped up the $15,000 Holeshot Championship at Round 10 but it was his GEICO Honda teammate Zach Osborne who claimed both holeshots at the season finale. Osborne collected four points for the day and an ultimate finish of second place in the overall championship.

Heading into the final round, the 450 Class Motorcycle-Superstore Holeshot Championship was still up for grabs between James Stewart, who had nine points, Justin Barcia with eight points and Ryan Villopoto with six.


Josh Grant (pictured) grabbed the Holeshot Award and the Oakley Bomb Fastest Lap Award at Lake Elsinore
Courtesy: Simon Cudby

However, it was the Toyota/JGR/Yamaha team of Josh Grant and Justin Brayton who shared the honors at the season finale as Grant grabbed the Moto 1 holeshot and Brayton claimed the holeshot in Moto 2. As a result, the $25,000 bonus was awarded to the points leader Stewart, despite his absence at the final round.

For a complete listing of 2013 Specialty Awards through Round 12, please click HERE.

For additional information on the series, please visit and LIKE the Pro Motocross Facebook page and follow @ProMotocross on Twitter and Instagram for exclusive content and additional information on the latest Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship news.

MX Sports Pro Racing

MX Sports Pro Racing manages and produces the world’s most prestigious professional motocross series – the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship, sanctioned by AMA Pro Racing. The industry leader in off road power sport event production and management, its mission is to showcase the sport of professional motocross competition at events throughout the United States. Through its various racing properties, partnerships and affiliates, MX Sports Pro Racing organizes events for thousands of action sports athletes each year and attracts millions of motorsports spectators. Visit

Alli Sports

Alli Sports is a media, event and branded content company that specializes in action, adventure, and adrenaline based sports.  Alli Properties include the Dew Tour, Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship, the Red Bull Signature Series, GoPro World of Adventure Sports and Octane Academy; Alli Media, which creates original content, produces and presents content with partners and distributes content through a variety of channels; and Alli enterprises consisting of E-commerce, event merchandise and branded licensed product.  Alli Sports is a division of the NBC Sports Group.  More information can be found at

AMA Pro Racing    

AMA Pro Racing is the premier professional motorcycle racing organization in North America, operating a full schedule of events and championships for a variety of motorcycle disciplines.  Learn more about AMA Pro Racing at

NBC Sports Group

When the Comcast-NBCUniversal transaction was completed in January 2011, the sports assets of the two companies combined to form the NBC Sports Group, which serves sports fans 24/7 with premier live events, insightful studio shows, and compelling original programming. The sports media company consists of a unique array of broadcast television, cable television, radio and digital sports assets, including NBC Sports, NBC Olympics, NBC Sports Network, Golf Channel, 11 NBC Sports Regional Networks, NBC Sports Radio and all of their respective digital properties. The NBC Sports Group possesses an unparalleled collection of television rights agreements, partnering with some of the most prestigious sports properties in the world: the International Olympic Committee and United States Olympic Committee, the NFL, NHL, PGA TOUR, PGA of America, USGA, Churchill Downs, Premier League, MLS, Tour de France, French Open, Formula One, IndyCar and many more.

Lucas Oil Products 

Lucas Oil is a worldwide leader in the production of oils, lubricants and additives. Based in Corona, Calif., Lucas Oil Products is one of the fastest-growing additive lines in the consumer automotive industry, featuring a premium line of oils, lubricants and problem-solving performance additives. Through innovative product research and development, along with aggressive marketing programs, Lucas Oil Products has established itself as the top-selling additive line in the American truck-stop industry.  Lucas Oil is involved in an array of motorsports sponsorships, including the “Official Motor Oil of the Pro Motocross Championship.” Visit

Lucas Oil 2013 ProMX Logo