Motorcycle Safety Foundation Announces 2013 Board of Trustees

Kawasaki’s Russ Brenan Elected Chair, KTM’s Robert Pearce Voted Vice Chair

IRVINE, CA – April 5, 2013 – (Motor Sports Newswire) – The Motorcycle Safety Foundation’s 2013 Board of Trustees elected new officers in its recent annual elections. Kawasaki Motors Corporation Senior Advisor of Government Relations and Public Affairs Russ Brenan is the newly elected chair, while KTM North America Vice President of Operations Robert Pearce takes over the role of vice chair. For the upcoming term, Brenan and Pearce are joined by Secretary/Treasurer Gary Higgins, representing American Honda Motor Corporation, and MSF President Tim Buche.

Brenan_Russ“I am honored to be elected and excited to serve as chair of MSF,” said Brenan. “It is a pleasure to work with my fellow board members and the fine MSF staff, all of whom are committed to the goal of promoting rider safety. Along with the highly dedicated RiderCoaches all across the country, MSF will continue as the premier motorcycle rider training source with 400,000 motorcyclists trained annually. The coming year will bring exciting new offerings through the use of the latest technology to make MSF training and education programs even more accessible to the growing population of motorcyclists.”

Added newly elected MSF Vice Chair Pearce: “I’m very grateful for this opportunity to serve as MSF vice chair. I have been a trustee since 2007 and, like all of the trustees and board members, I’m committed to helping support MSF’s mission of making motorcycling safer and more enjoyable by offering current and prospective riders the highest-quality education and training available. Going into 2013, I look forward to working closely with everyone on the board and the MSF staff in this new capacity.”

In addition to Brenan, Pearce, Higgins and Buche, MSF’s 2013 Board of Trustees includes Bob Alsip (American Suzuki Motor Corp.), Gary Gray (Victory Motorcycles), Joe Dagley (Yamaha Motor Corporation) and Steve Piehl (Harley-Davidson Motor Company), as well as Board Members Sergio Carvajal (BMW Motorcycles USA), Isabelle Bouchard (BRP USA), Melissa MacCaull (Piaggio Group Americas) and Matt Sheahan (Triumph Motorcycles North America).

The Motorcycle Safety Foundation® promotes safety through rider training and education, operator licensing tests and public information programs. The MSF works with the federal government, state agencies, the military and others to offer training for all skill levels so riders can enjoy a lifetime of safe, responsible motorcycling. Standards established by the MSF® have been recognized worldwide since 1973.

The MSF is a not-for-profit organization sponsored by BMW, BRP, Harley-Davidson, Honda, Kawasaki, KTM, Piaggio, Suzuki, Triumph, Victory and Yamaha. For safety information or to enroll in the RiderCourseSM nearest you, visit or call (800) 446-9227.