American Motorcyclist Association adds AMA Big Sky Amateur National Off-Road Championship to 2013 schedule

Riders will qualify for Aug. 24-25 finale at Big Sky Resort in Big Sky, Mont.

PICKERINGTON, OH – January 22, 2013 – (Motor Sports Newswire) –  The American Motorcyclist Association is elevating one of its most-successful and popular off-road amateur racing events to national championship status. Starting in 2013, the AMA Kenda Big Sky Amateur National Off-Road Championship, presented by KLIM, will crown amateur national off-road racing champions in a wide range of classes on Aug. 24-25 at Montana’s Big Sky Resort.

“In much the same way the AMA Dirt Track Grand Championships and the AMA Amateur National Motocross Championship at Loretta Lynn’s Ranch award national titles in those disciplines, the AMA Kenda Big Sky Amateur National Off-Road Championship, presented by KLIM, will recognize the best amateur off-road riders in the country,” said AMA Off-Road Racing Manager Chuck Weir. “Riders will come from a range of backgrounds — enduro, hare scrambles, EnduroCross, cross country and desert racing — to battle for bragging rights on the national stage.”

The first-place finishers in every class will receive an AMA national No. 1 plate, and the top-three riders in each class will be invited to the annual AMA Championship Banquet. Classes will be run across a range of skill-, age- and motorcycle-based categories.

The AMA Kenda Big Sky Amateur National Off-Road Championship, presented by KLIM, will take place at the same venue that has hosted the AMA-sanctioned Big Sky XC the previous four years. The Big Sky XC has enjoyed steady growth since its inception in 2009, drawing ever-larger crowds to a far-north location that perfectly captures the adventurous spirit and showcases the national terrain challenges that embody the country’s best off-road racing.

“Off-road racing is what we do best, and Big Sky XC is ready to step up and provide a national-caliber experience to all riders in all classes at the AMA Kenda Big Sky Amateur National Off-Road Championship, presented by KLIM,” said event promoter Joe Miller. “One way we will do that is to continue to enhance our pro class, offering a $10,000 purse, and showcasing the amazing talents of these world-class riders as they demonstrate the hard work and dedication it takes to get to the top.”

Riders must earn a coveted spot on the starting line at the AMA Kenda Big Sky Amateur National Off-Road Championship, presented by KLIM. The most common route to qualifying is a top-10 finish at one of 12 regional Climb to Big Sky qualifiers. In addition, being in the top 10 in final 2012 points — or through the current season as of July 15, 2013 — in one of 13 popular off-road racing series in the United States and Canada will qualify a rider. The national event also will allow a very limited number of open positions, available starting on July 15. Details are at

The qualifier schedule and eligible series for qualifying through points are listed below. For more on AMA-sanctioned motorsports competition, see

2013 Climb to Big Sky Qualifiers

  • Feb. 16: AMA West Hare Scrambles Championship, Salinas, Calif.
  • Feb. 24: AMA East Hare Scrambles Championship, Perry, Ga.
  • March 2-3: AMA Big 6 Grand Prix, Glen Helen, Calif.
  • March 24: AMA National Enduro Championship, Blackwell, Texas
  • April 6-7: AMA Pipestone XC, Whitehall, Mont.
  • April 13-14: AMA MACC, Monster Mountain XC, Madison, Ind.
  • April 14: AMA East Hare Scrambles Championship, Arrington, Va.
  • April 20 (Youth), April 28 (Amateur): AMA SERA Enduro, Westpoint, Tenn.
  • May 5: AMA WNYOA Dream Riders, Van Etten, N.Y.
  • May 12: AMA D23, Millville, Minn.
  • July 6-7: AMA West Hare Scrambles Championship, Elkton, Ore.
  • July 6-7: Shale Shaker XC, Blairmore, AB, Canada

Qualifying Series
(Rider must have finished in the top 10 in 2012 or be in the top 10 in class championship points as of July 15, 2013)

  • AMA West Hare Scrambles Championship Series
  • AMA East Hare Scrambles Championship Series
  • AMA National Enduro Championship Series
  • AMA Mid-America Cross Country National Championship Series
  • AMA Hare & Hound National Championship Series
  • AMA Endurocross Series
  • AMA Western Checkpoint Enduro Championship Series
  • AMA D37 Big Six GP Series
  • AMA Virginia Championship Hare Scrambles Series
  • AMA Mid-South Winter Championship Cross Country Series
  • AMA NETRA (Northeast)
  • AMA SETRA (Southeast)
  • AMA WNYOA (New York)
  • Western Canada Cross Country Championship Series

About the American Motorcyclist Association

Since 1924, the AMA has protected the future of motorcycling and promoted the motorcycle lifestyle. AMA members come from all walks of life, and they navigate many different routes on their journey to the same destination: freedom on two wheels. As the world’s largest motorcycling rights organization, the AMA advocates for motorcyclists’ interests in the halls of local, state and federal government, the committees of international governing organizations, and the court of public opinion. Through member clubs, promoters and partners, the AMA sanctions more motorsports competition and motorcycle recreational events than any other organization in the world. AMA members receive money-saving discounts from dozens of well-known suppliers of motorcycle services, gear and apparel, bike rental, transport, hotel stays and more. Through the AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame, the AMA honors the heroes and the heritage of motorcycling for future generations. For more information, please visit