Pirelli is Motocross World Campion with Harlings & Cairoli

In both off-road classes KTM have wrapped up titles with one round to sparegiving Pirelli their 58th championship in motocross

FAENZA, RAVANNA – September 10, 2012 – (Motor Sports Newswire) – Mission complete for Antonio Cairoli and Jeffrey Herlings, who locked up FIM World Championships in MX1 and MX2 respectively with one round to run and thanks to the Pirelli Scorpion MX.

Their success – with GP victory in Italy – crowned immense seasons for both in 2012 with the Sicilian and Dutchman ruling their classes more or less from the first round. Cairoli hit the mark with his fourth consecutive double moto triumph that allowed him to celebrate his sixth title and draw level with Belgian Joel Robert as the second most decorated rider in the history of the sport and trailing Stefan Everts who boasts ten crowns.

Racing with Scorpion MX MidSoft 32 front and rear – the choice of other Scorpion MX riders – Cairoli was able to beat Frenchman Christophe Pourcel in both motos across the rough Faenza soil and confirmed his overall success for 2012 as title rival Clement Desalle walked the third step of the podium.

Jeffrey Herlings also did the double in MX2 and was comfortably ahead of Tommy Searle and Jeremy Van Horebeek at both times of asking.

“The success of Cairoli and Herlings reaffirms the quality of the Scorpion MX,” commented Pirelli Racing Service Manager Giovanni Gatti. “Thanks to those combinations we were able to reach a total of  58 World Championships. This season they have dominated every kind of track from soft mud to sand to hard-pack and wet conditions and we’ve taken 27 of the 30 motos in MX1 and all 30 in MX2. This is better than we could have hoped for and proves the performance of our tyres.”

As if that wasn’t enough the Scorpion MX also placed Pirelli on the top step of the podium in the European 125cc two-stroke championship with Italian Simone Furlotti defeating Pauls Jonas and South African Nicholas Adams. Success was also evident across the Atlantic with the final round of the AMA Women’s championship falling into the hands of 2012 FIM World Championship number one Kiara Fontanesi.

The sixteenth and last event of the Grand Prix calendar will take place on September 23rd at Teutschenthal; a short distance from the city of Halle.

MX1 Overall Classification:

  1. Antonio Cairoli, KTM, Red Bull KTM Factory Racing
  2. Christophe Pourcel, Kawasaki, Team CP377
  3. Clement Desalle, Suzuki, Team Rockstar Energy
  4. Gautier Paulin, Kawasaki, Team KRT
  5. Ken De Dycker, KTM, Red Bull KTM Factory Racing

MX1 Championship standings:

  1. Antonio Cairoli, KTM, points 642
  2. Clement Desalle, Suzuki, points 554
  3. Gautier Paulin, Kawasaki, points 502
  4. Christophe Pourcel, Kawasaki, points 496
  5. Ken De Dycker, KTM, points 478

MX2 Overall Classification:

  1. Jeffrey Herlings, KTM, Red Bull KTM Factory Racing
  2. Tommy Searle, Kawasaki, Team Floride
  3. Jeremy Van Horebeek, KTM, Red Bull KTM Factory Racing
  4. Jordi Tixier, KTM, Red Bull KTM Factory Racing
  5. Arnaud Tonus, Yamaha, Monster Energy

MX2 Championship standings:

  1. Jeffrey Herlings, KTM, points 622
  2. Tommy Searle, Kawasaki, points 557
  3. Jeremy V. Horebeek, KTM, points 519
  4. Jake Nicholls, KTM, points 387
  5. Joel Roelants, Kawasaki, points 367

For further information:
Matteo Giusti +39 338 616 9251 matteo.giusti@pirelli.com
Francescopaolo Tarallo +39 334 684 4307 francescopaolo.tarallo@pirelli.com