Dungey Bounces Back After Crash to Win Third Monster Energy Supercross

Tomac Clinches Western Regional Supercross Lites Class Championship

SALT LAKE CITY, UT – April 28, 2012) – Motor Sports Newswire) –  Red Bull KTM’s Ryan Dungey of Belle Plaine, Minn., captured the third Monster Energy AMA Supercross, an FIM World Championship, win of the season tonight at Rice-Eccles Stadium in front of 40,548 fans. En route to winning his fourth Main Event of the year, GEICO Honda’s Eli Tomac clinched the first Western Regional Supercross Lites Class Championship of his career.

Toyota/Yamaha/JGRMX’s Davi Millsaps started perfectly, winning the Nuclear Cowboyz® Holeshot Award with Dungey on his back wheel to start the Supercross Class Main Event. With the field sorting itself out through turn 1, Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Jake Weimer, of Rupert, Idaho, moved into second place.

Dungey settled into second place on Lap 8, passing Weimer, but on the same lap, Weimer answered back, knocking Dungey to the ground as he made the pass. Dungey regrouped and made a charge on Weimer before passing him with just a few laps to go. After capitalizing on a mistake made by Millsaps near the end of Lap 18, Dungey moved into the lead and rode to the win. Millsaps finished second and Weimer finished third.

“It was great racing out there tonight, and I really dug deep,” said Dungey. “I didn’t see [the pass] coming and that was my fault. My front wheel got a barrier in the corner and I went down. My focus was to run him down, and I did. I had a tough part of the middle of the season, and I knew I had the speed tonight. I just needed to be patient.”

Millsaps’ quest to hold down the number-two position in Supercross Class point standings started in his Heat Race when he posted the fastest time of 6:19 on his way to victory in the eight-lap race. He now has a seven-point lead over Team Honda Muscle Milk’s Justin Brayton.

Rockstar Energy Racing Suzuki’s Jason Anderson, of Edgewood, N.M., won the Nuclear Cowboyz Holeshot Award with his teammate Martin Davalos, of Cairo, Ga., to start the Western Regional Supercross Lites Class. On the opening lap, Red Bull KTM’s Marvin Musquin, of Murrieta, Calif., moved into second, while Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki’s Dean Wilson, of Menifee, Calif., secured third place.

Wilson quickly passed Musquin while Tomac moved into third place. Tomac stalked Wilson for several laps before making the pass for second on Lap 8. It didn’t take long for Tomac to cut into Anderson’s lead and make the race-winning pass on lap 10. A dramatic turn of events happened on Lap 12 when Wilson, who came into tonight’s race four points behind Wilson, suffered a huge crash that forced him to withdraw from the race. As a result, Tomac scored enough points to clinch the championship. Anderson and Davalos earned career-best results, finishing second and third, respectively.

“It was huge to close out the night with a race win and a championship,” said Tomac. “That was some good racing out there. Off the gate I got bumped around and was able to slowly pick guys off and try to pace. I did my best not to do anything stupid. That was the best way to do it.”

The final race of the 2012 Monster Energy Supercross Championship takes place next Saturday, May 5 at Sam Boyd Stadium in Las Vegas.

Supercross Class Results: Salt Lake City

  1. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., KTM
  2. Davi Millsaps, Murrieta, Calif., Yamaha
  3. Jake Weimer, Rupert, Idaho, Kawasaki
  4. Justin Brayton, Fort Dodge, Iowa, Honda
  5. Mike Alessi, Hilliard, Fla., Suzuki
  6. Broc Tickle, Holly, Mich., Kawasaki
  7. Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, Honda
  8. Joshua Grant, Smithville, Texas, Kawasaki
  9. Robert Kiniry, Holland Patent, N.Y., Yamaha
  10. Tyler Bowers, Danville, Ken., Kawasaki

Supercross Class Season Standings

  1. Ryan Villopoto, Poulsbo, Wash., Kawasaki, 323
  2. Davi Millsaps, Murrieta, Calif., Yamaha, 244
  3. Justin Brayton, Fort Dodge, Iowa, Honda, 237
  4. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., KTM, 232
  5. Jake Weimer, Rupert, Idaho, Kawasaki, 211
  6. Mike Alessi, Hilliard, Fla., Suzuki, 192
  7. James Stewart, Haines City, Fla., Yamaha, 178
  8. Brett Metcalfe, Lake Elsinore, Calif., Suzuki, 174
  9. Kevin Windham, Centreville, Miss., Honda, 166
  10. Broc Tickle, Holly, Mich., Kawasaki, 161

Western Regional Supercross Lites Class Results: Salt Lake City

  1. Eli Tomac, Cortez, Colo., Honda
  2. Jason Anderson, Edgewood, N.M., Suzuki
  3. Martin Davalos, Cairo, Ga, Suzuki
  4. Wil Hahn, Decatur, Texas, Honda
  5. Marvin Musquin, Murrieta, Calif., KTM
  6. Matt Moss, Murrieta, Calif., KTM
  7. Billy Laninovich, Riverside, Calif., Honda
  8. Topher Ingalls, San Luis Obispo, Calif., Honda
  9. Vince Friese, Cape Girardeau, M.O., Honda
  10. Scott Champion, Sun City, Calif., Honda

Western Regional Supercross Lites Class Season Standings

  1. Eli Tomac, Cortez, Colo., Honda, 159
  2. Dean Wilson, Menifee, Calif., Kawasaki, 132
  3. Marvin Musquin, Murrieta, Calif., KTM, 127
  4. Cole Seely, Murrieta, Calif., Honda, 119
  5. Jason Anderson, Edgewood, N.M., Suzuki, 95
  6. Matt Moss, Murrieta, Calif., KTM, 92
  7. Billy Laninovich, Riverside, Calif., Honda, 84
  8. Ryan Sipes, Ekron, Kent., Yamaha, 83
  9. Nico Izzi, Menifee, Calif., Yamaha, 78
  10. Travis Baker, Temecula, Calif., Honda, 75

The first supercross race held at Rice-Eccles Stadium took place in 2011 where 42,135 packed the home of the 2002 Olympic Opening and Closing Ceremonies to watch Ricky Carmichael race to victory. Carmichael and Windham hold the all-time Supercross Class win record in Salt Lake City with two each. Steward holds the all-time Supercross Lites Class win record at Salt Lake City with two.

CBS will broadcast the Supercross Class race tomorrow at 12:00pm EST.

Tune into the enhanced exclusive weekly video content from Supercross LIVE! during the entire 2012 season on SupercrossOnline.com, the Official Website of Monster Energy Supercross.

Weekly Supercross LIVE! Video Content Schedule
The Official Supercross LIVE! Pre-Show – Race Days at 11 AM Local Race Time
Behind the Scenes with Supercross LIVE! – All Day on Race Days
2 Minutes on the Track – Race Days at 3:30 & 5:30 PM Local Race Time
And on the Podium Tonight – Following Each Round’s Main Events
The Official Supercross LIVE! Post-Show – Saturday Nights at Each Round
Toyota Tailgate Talk – Wednesdays at 5 PM ET
After The Checkered Flag – Thursdays at 5PM ET

For more information on the Monster Energy AMA Supercross, an FIM World Championship, please log on to www.SupercrossOnline.com, the official website of Monster Energy Supercross. For all media requests, please contact Denny Hartwig dhartwig@feldinc.com or 630-566-6305. To follow Monster Energy Supercross on Facebook and Twitter, log on to http://www.facebook.com/supercrosslive and http://twitter.com/supercrosslive.

About Feld Motor Sports®
Feld Motor Sports®, Inc. is the world leader in specialized arena and stadium-based motor sports entertainment.  Feld Motor Sports, Inc. productions include Advance Auto Parts Monster Jam®, Monster Energy Supercross, AMA Arenacross Series, Nuclear Cowboyz®, and IHRA® Nitro Jam®.  Feld Motor Sports, Inc. is a division of Feld Entertainment, the world’s largest producer of live family entertainment.  For more information on Feld Entertainment, visit www.feldentertainment.com.