Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki Makes History in the 250 Class

CORONA, CA – September 12, 2011 – (Motor Sports Newswire) – Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki earned a spot in the record books after completing a an undefeated season in the 250 class of the AMA Motocross Championship series with Dean Wilson’s 1-1 victory at Pala Raceway. Along with claiming every overall win, the team also captured every second-place finish throughout the season. Newly crowned champion Dean Wilson was able to find his groove late in the season to capture three overall wins, Tyla Rattray claimed four overall wins, and Blake Baggett bagged the most wins with five overalls.

Wilson had already captured his championship, but he wasn’t ready to back down from the hot streak he started at Unadilla. He got a great jump off the start and was out front early in the first moto and was able to hold off Baggett for the moto win. In the second moto, Wilson worked his way up to the front and made the pass just after halfway to win Moto 2.

“I didn’t want to just take it easy because I already won the championship,” said Wilson. “I really wanted to go out with a win and celebrate with my family since they didn’t make it to Steel City. Overall the season went really well. I didn’t get a win until Round 8, but then I was able to come back and get a few more wins. The championship hasn’t really set in, but maybe at the banquet it will.”

Racing hard for his place on top of the podium, Baggett finished a close second to Wilson in the first moto. In the second moto, a tough start had him charging to the front, eventually finishing third for second overall.

“It’s not the result that I wanted, but I’m able to finish the year with the most wins,” said Baggett. “This was my first full motocross season and I learned a lot. There are a lot of things I would do differently, but overall I felt like I rode well. I couldn’t have done it without the backing of my team.”

Finishing second overall in points for the second consecutive year, Rattray was even closer to a championship this year with four wins and four additional podium finishes. At Pala, he finished on the podium in the first moto, but after getting pushed out on the start, he had to work his way up to finish fifth in Moto 2 and end the day fourth overall.

“I didn’t ride my best today, but I finished the season healthy and was able to hold onto second in the points,” said Rattray. “The track was really fast and with a bad start in the second moto, it was hard to make up any time on the guys in front of me. It would have been nice to end the season on the podium, but we made it out healthy and ready for Motocross of Nations.”

The final moto of the season showcased Tickle’s speed on his Pro Circuit-backed Kawasaki KX250F. After having to come back to 19th in the first moto, Tickle proved he was capable of running at the front with a sixth place finish in the second moto for 11th overall.

“The season had moments I definitely want to remember, but a lot that I want to forget,” said Tickle. “I felt like I rode really well in the second moto and it was a much better way to end the season.”

The AMA Motocross Championship ended with Wilson capturing Pro Circuit’s 28th championship. Rattray finished second in the points, while Baggett finished the top-three sweep in third. With his ups and downs, Tickle was still able to finish seventh in the points.

About Pro Circuit
Based in Corona, Calif., Pro Circuit Inc. is a leader in off-road motorcycle and ATV exhausts and aftermarket performance parts. Started in 1978, Pro Circuit is the go to shop for recreational riders and professionals for everything from suspension work to complete engine packages, and everything in between.

Created by former desert racer Mitch Payton, Pro Circuit proves its products and services week-in and week-out through its tagline “We Race.” Every product that dons the Pro Circuit stamp stems from the legendary Pro Circuit race team. A staple in the professional paddock, Pro Circuit Racing has earned 26 AMA championships and more than 200 race wins in more than 30 years of competition.