AMA Racing Hillclimb Grand Championships crown national champs

PICKERINGTON, OH – August 16, 2011 – (Motor Sports Newswire) – The American Motorcyclist Association (AMA) congratulates the national champions who ruled the Devil’s Staircase at the 2011 AMA Racing Hillclimb Grand Championships in Oregonia, Ohio, Aug. 13-14.

“It was a great time, with more than 400 entries on each day of the two-day event,” AMA Racing Track Racing Manager Ken Saillant. “We had great weather, lots of fun and the Dayton Motorcycle Club, as always, did a fine job running the event. They kept the hill challenging and well maintained all day.”

In addition to the 20 class champions determined at the event, three special awards were presented to standout riders. Luke Cipala, from Ellsworth, Wis., was the Youth Hillclimber of the Year. Zach Diercks, from Hager City, Wis., was the ATV Hillclimber of the Year. Luke Parmeter, from Wisconsin Rapids, Wis., was the Hillclimber of the Year.

“It was an awesome weekend,” said the 22-year-old Parmeter. “It’s going to be a hard one to beat. The hill was really tough compared to last year. The jumps were pretty big, and you had to be really smooth on the landing. I was able to keep my front end up through the jumps and landings and be smooth from all the rides. That was the key to the hill, just being smooth.”

Parmeter won the 250cc class, Four-Stroke class and 750cc class. He also competed in the 450cc class, where he got third. Parmeter’s fastest time of the weekend was 9.8840 seconds in the Four-Stroke class.

“I’ve been trying to win a national my whole life,” said Parmeter, who also competes in motocross and runs the website “Two years ago, I lost by six-hundredth of a second, and last year it was five-hundredths of a second. To finally win it was such a good feeling.”

To earn the AMA Racing ATV Hillclimber of the Year, Diercks was the champion in the ATV Two-Stroke class with a fast time of 10.5180 seconds. Youth award winner

Full event results will be available at and soon. Cipala won the 65cc and 85cc Mini Jr. classes and had a fast time of 12.6570 seconds.

SOURCE: American Motorcyclist Association